We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Petinaros Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Petinaros Hotel to your Saves list
Petinaros Hotel
2.0 of 5 Villa   |   Petinaros, Mykonos Town 84600 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

When we arrived we were placed in a room that had 3 bedrooms and it was only me and a friend staying in one room. The next morning we were awoken and told that we had to switch rooms since they needed the one we were in. I found this to be annoying and unorganized. This hotel is far from the town and it requires you to take a cab everywhere. The problem is getting a cab can be difficult since they are always busy. The owner closes the door at midnight and leaves for the night. I've never been to a hotel where someone wasn't at the front desk all night, so we had to call a cab on our own which can get pricey especially without an international plan. The owner lives on the property and at 2am while waiting for a cab to go out for the night, she comes out to tell us to be quite because other people are sleeping. This was Mykonos AKA the party island so to be told to be quite was appalling to us. The owner did not seem thrilled to help us call for cabs, hence, the title RUDE! Besides for the pool being really nice, overall this hotel is not worth it. Rude services and out of the way from everything.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    15
    16
    4
See reviews for
8
25
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We enjoyed staying here. The common pool area is very pretty, but the rooms are quite small. Only an 8 minute to city center as opposed to what other reviews here say. The reason for this is that there are steps that we did not know about until after initially taking the 30 minute walk into the center. These steps provide for an enormous short cut. The price here is on par with similar hotels. My only real complaint is that the reception area almost never had anyone attending to it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Avoid this place. Its got nothing good about it. And its freezing!! Theres no heater, just ac. And being here mid april, it was freezing in the room. I had to use the hairdryer to keep myself warm.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paros
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

a clean hotel.quiet this time of year,but without a car it is a long walk into town, and you will need a taxi back, and taxis are not always available.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights here at the start of a recent island hopping trip. Our first impressions were that the hotel itself presents well - the pool area is very attractive and there is a pleasant verandah area, it is around this area the hotel rooms are located. We stayed in one of the studio apartments which are located away from the pool area. The apartment was spacious and could accommodate 3 people and fairly typical of the type of studio accommodation found in Greece. The kitchen area was adequate, however on arrival we discovered there were no pots and pans and barely any means to make a meal so immediately informed reception who to their credit were polite and helpful and rectified the situation. The hotel is not in a great location if you don't have 'wheels' and its a bit of a trek down to the town - and up again - not much fun in the heat. We booked this accommodation through Travel Republic and like most accommodation on Mykonos is expensive for what it is, which is surprising really because the island has very little to offer other than a boat trip to the remarkable Delos island. One feels Mykonos is really cashing in on the passing Cruise Ship trade big time and prices are at least 50% more than on other islands (apart from Santorini which is even more expensive for the same reason).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

I spent 3 nights at hotel Petinaros and we were very happy with the decision.
It wasn't easy to book it and neither to find it. It is on top of Mikonos Town mountain so if you have a suitcase do not attempt to go walking, just ask for a taxi as soon as you arrive to the island.
It had a beautiful swimming pool and spacious and clean studios, it even smelled like just painted. Everything was new and the staff was correct. The breakfast was in line with hotels of the same category in Greece. There was a path to go to Mikonos Town, it took less than 20 min, although it was hard to go up in the midday.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Pity....and pity
Hotel is simple and clean.The attitude of the manager and the staff are really not friendly and nearly rude. It is becoming anoying as all answers are NO.
Breakfast is less than minimum even for 2 stars hotel. My friends and mine really felt that the priority is to save a maximum of cents.....Pity

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petinaros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petinaros Hotel

Address: Petinaros, Mykonos Town 84600 , Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Petinaros Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Petinaros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petinaros Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petinaros Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.