We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the walk to see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Windmills (Kato Milli)

The Windmills (Kato Milli)
Between Alefkandra and Neochori, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Improve this listing
Wolfville, Canada
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a fantastic spot in Mykonos, and just stellar for photographs. Get up close and you get a great view of the windmills and the water - we enjoyed reading about the history of the windmills in our guidebook, and were just disappointed that we weren't able to get inside to see one.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    110
    72
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting Windmills & more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our cruise ship stopped at Mykonos on a beautiful warm sunny Nov day & showed the island at its best. We could see the Greek Windmills in the distance on the other side of the port from where we docked.
The centre of the island is small & most attractions can be walked to quite easily with minimum effort.
Loved how clean it was, the lovely cubed white painted houses & churches, with many winding cobbled streets with shops on them.
Yes, it is a holiday destination but it also felt lived in & home to the locals, all happy side by side.
It was one of our favourite places to visit and we can highly recommend visiting.
There is free wifi at most of the harbour front cafes where one can wile away time watching the coloured boats, resident pelicans & locals selling fruit & veg from vans.
Such a lovely island that has managed to stay original looking but still accommodate all the tourists without being spoilt.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio USA
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for Pictures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's amazing to see these up close. Only one is really open and is a shop but you can't go in them but great place to take pictures and perfect place to watch the sunset as well. You have to stop and see the windmills in you go to Mykonos. Very easy to get to and people are so friendly they will point you right there which is great.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING GREECE SHOULD BE AND MORE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visiting Mykonos and seeing the famous windmills was a highlight of our cruise. Mykonos offers beautiful views, lovely tourist shops and delightful restaurants to please any palate. Though we were only on Mykonos for a few hours before returning to our ship, we had a marvelous time exploring the winding walking paths and mingling with the locals. The famous windmills are incredible. Mykonos is a "can't miss" location for any journey to Greece.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice view of sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

You can't stay in Mykonos without visiting one of the island's main attractions, it's windmills. And it's also a good place to watch the sunset. It's near little venice so head over there for dinner and drinks afterwards.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmills (Kato Milli) also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to The Windmills (Kato Milli)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windmills (Kato Milli), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.