We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Kitchen

Funky Kitchen
Ignatou Basoula | Lakka, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
+30 2289 027272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 169 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 190 Reviews
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Greek-Mediterrean restaurant, giving emphasis to freshness, seasonality and sourcing of ingredients. In a picturesque back street off the Lakka square.A destination restaurant for foodies.
teddington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our last night in Mykonos and we found this new resataurant a gem of a place,some of the best food I have eaten on the island Very attentive staff and it was lovely to talk to the owners,he is the chef and has some great ideas ( chocolate and chilli ice cream) and serves up some fine cooking.
Highly reccomended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    42
    23
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mykonos, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“SOMETHING IN MYKONOS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

New Restaurant in town! Located in Lakka, fantastic appetisers, freshly made bread on the premises, wonderful cocktails. Must try home made ravioli and dark chocolate ice cream with chilly! Will be back very soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Cowes
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“mediterranean on a plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Going to funky kitchen was a bit like putting it all on red – but red came up
Only six reviews on here (but all excellent) and not yet a working website made it a bit like a lucky dip – however it was Friday evening, everything else seemed booked so off we went – and how lucky we were as this will set the benchmark for our holiday
It turns out that we need not have worried as Andrea and Husband Pavlou ran Kouzina in Siros for a number of years which was a top three restaurant there for a number of years…
The essentials – nicely tucked away in a quiet corner in busy Mykonos Chora and decorated in a casual but tasteful way with top notch crockery, expectations go up when you see the menu
In essence Greek but a bit different, it sets you off on a virtual cruise of the Mediterranean – Egyptian, Greek, Cypriot and Italian influences come together to create a really interesting fusion of east and west…
Off we went with a mixed starter platter consisting of the signature feta spring rolls which appeared to me on a lighter, brighter and better version of the Turkish sigara bureki, some perfect falafel and some arancina which were delicious – all accompanied by home made dips where especially the chili one will set in my memory for a long time. A second starter consisted of a lovely salad with a personal take on Cretan apaki, which for me meant less fat –more flavor – we were happy already
The mains did not disappoint to – although the octopus balls were not available today we went for the closest match and had some grilddled squid which was near perfect as well as a risotto (on menu spelled as with saffron and fizz – which is as close to a perfect Milanese as you can get outside of Italy) – My personal favorites were a tagliata of veal – perfectly cooked with a take on pesto which was made with coriander rather than basil and really lovely and ravioli in chicken broth with mizithra cheese – for me normally the ultimate boring dish – however cooked to perfection and in a medley that makes me want to recreate it (a note to people who do not like there pasta al dente – don’t try them because they may appear underdone to you – for me they were perfect)
Deserts were excellent, too heavily themed around chocolate – their chili, whisky and dark chocolate gelato could be made by Heston and the chocolate tarte was heavenly, too. Home made masticha ice cream and same Cypriot pastry was great, too
As written by others what sets this place apart from excellent food is the personal, relaxed, knowledgeable, but never intrusive service lead by the owner but also incorporated by all her team
A wine list heavy on Greek producers for reasonable money adds spice too – I have a new favorite rose (from Tech estate in Drama – if this was French I would expect 50 instead of 24 Euros to pay)
So go, make sure you do not get lost in Mykonos town (as it’s a walk from the car park and whilst street names are used in Mykonos they are not written on all streets and locals don’t know them as they were only recently introduced) –also the area is full of restaurants and some of the ones close by have touts trying to pull you in – move on till you find funky kitchen..
This is some of the best honest food I ever had – not michelin star food but honest unpretentious and perfect – a rare find
Good luck to the owners with their new venture

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of our best meals in Mykonos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were looking for a place to eat and randomly came upon this place because they took American Express and we were intrigued by the name. The food was really good, bruschetta was really tasty, my chicken was yummy. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal with lovely hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a brilliant little find! The food here was exceptional, traditional Mediterranean with a modern & fresh twist (you have to try the feta 'spring rolls'!). Pair that with great service, from lovely hosts, (the chef even came out and had a chat with us) made for a wonderful evening. Would highly recommend!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funky Kitchen also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Funky Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.