We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shower in Greece!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sourmeli Garden

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sourmeli Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sourmeli Garden
Vrissi, Mykonos Town 846 00 , Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Shower in Greece!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for two nights either side of 8 nights elsewhere and we were made to feel really welcome by Giannis from the moment we stepped off the plane. In fact the whole family made us feel really welcome and at home, and as everyone else has said it's a great base from where to explore Mykonos or for setting off or returning from the Islands when flying in and out of Mykonos. The rooms are spotless and the gardens very relaxing, and thanks to Giannis's plumbing skills definitely the best shower you'll have on your holiday!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    27
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed Sourmeli Garden Hotel while we were in Mykonos. It was a wonderful experience, we were made to feel like a part of the family. During a stay we were able to sample the olive oil and olives that the owner grows in the back yard, in addition to be given some to take with us. They were the best olives we have ever eaten. Any questions we had on restaurants, things to do or how to rent an ATV, we received great feedback (try Kounelas Fish Tavern, and go to Fokos beach in northern Mykonos Island).

The room was clean and spacious with a large balcony, comfortable bed, tv, and a mini fridge that you could put your own supplies in. We were able to park our ATV in the parking lot, and it was an short walk into town. We will stay at the Sourmeli Garden Hotel again the next time we are in Mykonos.

There are some things to note about this hotel, it is a small family run business so if you are looking for a resort style experience this is not it (small bathroom, no safe, simple but satisfying breakfast). Also, although pretty easy, the walk into town can be a little intimidating as there is no real sidewalk and there can be heavy traffic. And in all hotels in Greece, due to the sewer system you cannot put toilet paper in the toilet, it is placed in the garbage can.

But, with these issues aside, one of the greatest experiences of the Greek Islands is becoming immersed in the island culture, this family hotel enables you to have this great experience even in a very tourist oriented place like Mykonos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here just 1 night, a stopover on way home from Mykonos Airport. Family run hotels have a different feeling to more comerical hotels with a manager. We had just island hopped round 6 islands and Sourmeli Garden was one of the best. The other reviews are spot on, so I won't cover the same ground. 10mins. outside town, so it's there if you want but on the local bus route to explore without hiring transport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The charming Sourmeli Garden Hotel was a pleasant surprise at the beginning of our travels around Greece. The Owners Yiannis and his wife Emmi couldn't have been more kind and were able to give us great advice about restaurants and places to visit.We felt like we were visiting friends instead of staying in a hotel. The hotel itself is simple, comfortable and spotlessly maintained. It is situated very well in that you can easily walk into the main part of Mykonos town yet be far away enough to have a quiet place to relax. I would definitely stay here again the next time I visit Mykonos.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the second floor which had a small private balcony. It was very quiet and wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were delighted with our stay at Sourmeli. The room was very clean and spacious. The hotel was well located, only 10 minutes walk to mykonos town, although there is no footpath so you need to be a little careful. The owners were lovely, very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Giannis and his wife are such kind, honest and hospitable people. You don't feel like your in a hotel. You feel like you're staying at a family member's home. Honestly, when I was reading TripAdvisor comments before booking, I thought that some of these reviews were so biased and that how can hotel owners be THAT kind. Well its true. Book here and you won't regret it. 5 mins walk from Town. Just enough distance to be away from all the noise but to enjoy it when you want it. Best experience staying in a hotel my wife and I have had anywhere. Thank you Giannis and family, we will be back again soon!

Regards from Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The owners are really welcoming and helpful, the whole place is spotless, rooms are a good size, have air con, and a nice patio area outside each room. It's also far enough away from the noise of the town to sleep at night but close enough to walk to, and fairly priced for Mykonos in high season. All in all, this is a very nice hotel - we enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sourmeli Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sourmeli Garden

Address: Vrissi, Mykonos Town 846 00 , Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mykonos Town
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#19 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sourmeli Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sourmeli Garden Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sourmeli Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.