We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent modern hotel with great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zannis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Zannis to your Saves list
Hotel Zannis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100m from town center, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent modern hotel with great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Excellent location only a 5 minute walk from the bus station to the beaches. I was quite surprised how modern the hotel is for a 2 star hotel. The room is very modern with aircon, tv, fridge, in room safe, shower. The hotel owners are very friendly. Breakfast is simple but I don't understand why people complain its better than nothing and I quite like the breakfast especially the fresh bread. Our towels were changed every day which I think is quite unusual for a 2 star hotel and our room is also made up every day. The only negative part is the WIFI signal is not very good unless you have a room close to reception where the modem is so if you want to use the WIFI you will need to come and sit in the dining room. I would 100% stay here again!! hotel gets 10/10 from me.

Room Tip: Try and get a room close to reception for better WIFI access, that way you don't need to come in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights in july,
Hosts are lovely people and quite funny too!!
The rooms are very clean, with great balcony views. The pool area is excellent and the hotel is close to the town. A really nice place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

A nice hotel in the best location. Away from the tourist area but only a short walk down to the happening:) Perfect service and a very friendly family who owns the place.

The pool area is great when you are to lazy to go to the beach. Will choose the same hotel next time when we will visit Mykonos.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

The hotel is close to the action, but a bit of a steep walk - good to tighten up that behind. The hotel receptionist was accommodating of me checking in late due to a delayed flight. The hotel has a swimming pool and sunbeds. The rooms were accessible by swipe card. The door had an alarm and thus the room felt safe. My room was clean and spacious. There was a bar fridge, remote controlled television, free WIFI access, and air conditioning. The room was cleaned well and fresh towels provided. Breakfast on the terrace was a lovely experience with the amazing view. The only issue I had was that the shower head wall mount was broken and I had to hold it up myself, but in the grand scheme of things this was nothing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

i stayed at hotel zannis for 6 nights.on being showed my room i was impressed.although basic had a nice airy feel.the next day the owner told me he had to move me as he had overbooked.i was moved to a dungeon style room athe back of the building with no windows and just dark and dingy.i was later changed for another 2 days to another room which was good.although i stayed in mykonos i felt not relaxed as i was constantly packing and moving.on checking out the owner told me that he has to charge me 220 euro for sheets stained by my fake tattoo.sheets that price you would think i was staying at the ritz in paris!i would also like to mention that the breakfast was poor.you get two boiled eggs a piece of dry barcake and jam and butter.i am only writing this as i am returning to mykonos and i would definitly not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

We had the best time at this Hotel. The staff were fantasic. I will definently stay here the next time we go.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

Hotel Zannis is our favourite hotel on Mykonos and we would feel disloyal were we even to consider staying anywhere else. Roula and her family make you feel so welcome, it is almost like staying with your own family/friends. We have stayed three times now and have already booked next summer's stay. While the hotel is not exclusively
gay, we spotted an advert for the hotel in an old copy of Spartacus. There were another 4 or 5 gay couples staying there when we were there. We prefer the mixed atmosphere to a totally gay establishment and are bringing our straight friends next year. A French tour company makes up the other clientele.

Positives:
1) Location: is only 10-15 mins walk into the main part of Mykonos town and its multitude of restaurants and bars. It's also only about 10 mins walk to the bus station for buses to Platy Yialos. The walk is particularly steep (down into town and up on the way back) so if you are not used to strenuous climbs then you'll have to take it slowly. Roula's husband will collect you free of charge from the airport or port in his blue minibus as long as you notify them your arrival time.

2) Pool area - the tear-drop shaped pool is fabulous to dive into on hot days. It's really deep at one end and very shallow at the other. There have always been enough sun loungers. There is a limited poolside menu for lunch snacks including salad, omelettes, beer etc. A lunch for two including water or beer probably costs about €14.

3) Roula's breakfast - served in the lounge area each morning consists of creamy Greek yogurt & honey, eggs, cheese. ham, bread, coffee/tea, juice. It's a basic breakfast but always served with a friendly smile with a few questions about the day ahead etc.

Negatives (hard to think of any, but...)

1) Bedrooms - are basic, but no worse than any other Greek tourist hotel. And anyway you don't come to Mykonos to stay in your room!

2) Website - although their website says you can book online, they always ask that you fax them to confirm the booking and including your credit card details to confirm.

3) Cash only - when settling the bill on your departure, Roula does not have a credit card machine and hasn't had one for the last 4 years. It's a small thing, but a bit annoying that one has to keep back a load of Euros to pay in cash.

All in all a good value hotel offering a friendly mixed gay/straight atmosphere in which both straight and gay people can feel comfortable.

  • Liked — Roula's welcome and the pool
  • Disliked — The steep climb up the hill after a night drinking cocktails in town!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zannis

Address: 100m from town center, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Zannis 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zannis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zannis Hotel Mykonos
Hotel Zannis Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zannis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.