We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vienoula's Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vienoula's Garden to your Saves list
Vienoula's Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vrissi, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently got back from a 7 day trip to Mykonos where we stayed at Vienoula's Garden Hotel. For a 3* hotel, the amenities and service which is offered at this hotel are above and beyond what we had expected. All the positive comments about the owner which we had read about are spot-on. Dimitrius and his staff are excellent! Extremely friendly, perfect English and brilliant sense of humour! Nothing is too much trouble for them. Dimitrius' home-made cocktails were, from our experience, the best on the island (in terms of taste and value for money). We arranged our airport transfer to the hotel with them in advance and they were prompt in picking us up from the airport.

WiFi is available in the communal areas of the hotel (lounge, bar and poolside), but does not extend to the rooms.

Breakfast was a buffet with plenty on offer - fruit, Greek yogurt, cereals, toast, bread, hams, cheese and homemade cake. More than enough to fill up on to last you well into the afternoon. We chose to eat our breakfast in the garden by the pool and were joined for breakfast each morning by a couple of cats. They were quite harmless and would just sit by your table for a bit before going wondering off to say hi to someone else. There are lots of stray cats on the island so if you're not particularly feline friendly, you have been warned!

The room we had was a good size. We had a balcony with a sea view. The hotel is set back from a main road, so at night time there is a little bit of traffic noise from the (many) quad bikes and scooters which zip around the island. This didn't bother me as I live in a suburban area and am used to traffic noise and sirens and can sleep through most things! However if you are a light sleeper, the noisy 50cc engines zooming past may become tiresome. We had asked for the bed to be made up as a double/king ahead of our arrival and our request had been fulfilled - they had put the two singles together with a topper which made for one HUGE bed - my boyfriend and I had oodles of space between us, which was quite nice on the more hot and muggy nights. The rooms are air conditioned and we had a good sized fridge/freezer in our room which came in very handy for keeping our bottles of water ice cold.

The main road into town is less than a 10 minute walk away, down hill on the way there but up hill on the way back! (You can easily burn off the calories from the Haagen Dazs shop on the walk back to the hotel!) There is no footpath and sadly we found that all-over the island there is a lot of broken glass on the side of the roads so take care when walking, particularly at night.

Aside from shopping and lounging on beaches all day, there isn't really much to do on the island. We took a day trip to Delos which was very interesting and then hired quad bikes (ATVs) for 2 days and went exploring the island. Busses only travel to a handful of locations on the south / south-west of the island so if you want to see more of Mykonos you do have to arrange your own transport. There are some beautiful beaches to be found, Fokos, Elia and Panormos were particularly beautiful. For a sunset dinner, we went to Niko's Taverna as suggested by Dimitrius and were not disappointed. This is a short walk from the hotel and the views across the bay as the sun-set were jaw dropping.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to any friends or family who wanted to sample what Mykonos has to offer. And I would also recommend the home-made 'Sex on the Beach' and 'Long Island Ice Tea' cocktails! They pack a punch!!

Thank you for a wonderful stay,
Lucy & Matt x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    61
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
77
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The best part of the stay was the service. The host (likely the owner) was extraordinarily helpful. Always warm and friendly, he checked in with us about our trip every time we walked by the front desk, and made helpful suggestions about everything from restaurant choices to beach choices to bus schedule. He and his staff certainly went out of their way to provide help on your trip.

For us, the location was the main drawback. The location of the hotel is about 7-10 minute walk from the south end of the old town. It is good in the sense that it is a bit out of the hustle and bustle in the old town. However, it also means a fair hike from activities/sights/restaurants. The walk between the hotel and the old town is a bit treacherous (despite being a “main road”, it has no side walk and is pretty narrow by big city standard, so you are constantly in dangerously close proximity of anything from large buses to taxi to small scooters, which is unsettling given drinking and driving seems to be a common occurrence on this island…) and seems long (the feeling heightened by the few hotels you walk by each trip) especially when it is late at night and you are a bit tipsy. Most of the town’s actions are also in the northern half of the old town, which is yet another 7-10 minute walk from the south end.

The room was pretty traditional and basic, but very clean and functional. Our balcony had a pretty nice open view, overlooking the swimming pool area and also the front of the hotel, though given the hotel’s inland location, you can see the barren land but no water. Natural light was limited but that is the case for most sugar cube buildings (i.e. all buildings on the island…). There is no WIFI signal in any of the rooms. To get WIFI, one has to go to the common area.

The hotel has a beautiful pool/terrace area that seems to be underused (understandably when then are so many nice beaches around). The breakfast was somewhat limited (lack any hot food) but adequate and typical of European hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 8 days at the end of August in this hotel, and I could confirm every positive comments I have read in Tripadvisor. The best side is for sure the management of this hotel, in fact the owner is very polite, kind and helpful. You could have free towels for swimming pool or beaches, and if you ask for something they are always available to meet you requirements. The swimming pool is very clean and nice, and the sunbeds are very comfortable. We rented a motorbike, but the last day we reached the town in only 10 minutes walk, so the position is perfect. The room is very clean and confortable, we had a small balcony in which we can roll towels. The bathroom is a bit small, so when you take a shower the water comes out o nthe floor, but every day they clean perfectly all the room and so it's just a little discomfort. The breakfast is not so various, but is quite good. You have wi-fi in all the common areas. Finally we surely come back again in this hotel for enjoy Mykonos and we recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Having never been to Mykonos before I can safely say I shall be returning and to this hotel in particular. The manager was extremely helpful and incredibly pleasant to be around. All the staff was so friendly and really made my friend and I feel welcome. The rooms were very clean and pleasant however the beds were slightly hard and more plugs would have been useful. Other than that I had an amazing time in this tranquil and beautiful hotel and it was in the perfect location to get to Mykonos town and the bus stations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This little hotel is amazing. We really feel like part of the family here.
We had organized a lift from the port to the hotel. When we arrived we could find them however we found another couple in the same situation. We called the hotel and they said they were on the way. Our ferry was late so that was the reason along with traffic. It turned out the other couple didn't have the transfer that they thought they had organized. However for the hotel rep this wasn't a problem he was happy to help even again on return to the port 3 days later with no charge.
The room was basic and the bathroom was on the small side, however we didn't care as the service was just that good. We were put in a room with two single beds, we asked if they had a double bed, but due to being high season they said they had no other rooms. However when we left the room the next day to explore the town they managed to change our bed into a double.
The hotel is located an easy 10min walk from the town just down one road (up a bit of a hill though).
I had accidentally left a white top on the bed one day and it ended up in their wash. They managed to find it for me andwere so apologetic even though it was my fault or leaving a white top on white linen!
Cocktails there are amazing especially drinking them by the pool at night. The staff here are masters of all trades. Cooking, bar tenders, drivers, etc.
it was really a perfect stay and can't thank the staff enoug for all there help and kindness during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Fantastic relaxing week in extremely friendly, comfortable and homely hotel. Dimitri and staff so friendly and welcoming going the extra mile to ensure our stay was just what we needed.
Very clean and beautiful pool areas if this is where you choose to relax. Ideally located for bus services and ten minute walk from Mykonnos town.
Thank you and hope to see you again in the future. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone visiting the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

From before we even arrived at the hotel, service was amazing. Our travel agent didn't book any transfers for us but we bumped into another couple staying at the same hotel and we were able to jump in with them - the hotel manager was more than ok with it!
They gave us maps, gave advice on good beaches, restaurants, bars, shopping...
The pool area was fantastic and you could order basic food and a wide range of cocktails.
Rooms were fine, we had a double bed, a big bathroom, air conditioner and a little balcony. It was perfect.
I couldn't fault anything. The walk home at night was only around 5-10 minutes but the main road gets a little sketchy but that's about all.
We could not believe the service at this hotel. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vienoula's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienoula's Garden

Address: Vrissi, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vienoula's Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Vienoula's Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienoula`s Garden Hotel Mykonos
Vienoulas Garden Mykonos
Vienoulas Garden Hotel Mykonos
Vienoula's Garden Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vienoula's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.