We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galini Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Galini Hotel to your Saves list
Galini Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laka Square, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
sardinia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We were there last september...the hotel has a great location near by the bus station but also the center of town. The lady MARIA is very friendly, the room is clean thay also give you sea towel if you do not have one...the owner takes you to the port for free at arrival and departure. great price for what you get. The room and bathroom is not very big that was no problem for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
17
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

My two teen aged daughters and I arrived in Mykonos on a flight from Athens on June 21 at about 7:30 in the evening. The owner of the Galini Hotel, Maria, was waiting for us just outside the airport. We were traveling with some large suitcases and she joked that we did not need so much for our trip, but being 3 girls, we had a bit of luggage- enough for our 2 1//2 weeks in Greece. She graciously helped us put our bags in her van and off we went. When we arrived near the hotel, we had to park near the bus stop in town and walk the rest of way to our room. Maria just grabbed the biggest suitcase amongst protests and started off towards the hotel, which was just a short walk around the corner. The hotel was set in the Laaka area of town which is a small neighborhood with homes. You really feel like you are staying in a house more than a hotel. The neighborhood was lovely, and the hotel just quaint and beautiful. White with blue trim and shutters- just what you picture when visiting the Greek islands. After helping us up the stairs with our bags, she explained that the triple room we had reserved was not very large and with our bags, there really would not be much space for the 3 of us, so would it be OK to have two rooms instead? At first I was unsure, because I did not want any of us to be seperated- the girls being 11 and 15, I wanted them to be close to me, but after seeing the set up of the rooms, we were literally one door away, and the way the hotel is set up- rooms on the 2nd floor, you feel as if you are upstairs in a house. So my oldest daughter (15), ended up with a room to herself, and her own private bathroom( she was in heaven!- she had a beautiful room with embroidered sheets, an iron bed and blue shutters that opened up to look down on the street below), and my younger daughter and I were right next door with a bathroom across the hall( We had a little balcony which was great!), and both rooms came with hair dryers, coffee, alarm clocks. We actually occupied 1/2 of the floor- only two other rooms on the other end of the hall. There was also a door that could be locked leading to the outdoor stairway . Very safe, very quaint, very affordable, the location ideal, and twice the space for the same price as one room.
We were able to take the bus all over the island from right around the corner, and restaurants, and shops were steps away as well. Maria also was available when we needed to get back to the airport, and again helped us with all of our bags. Since we had to check out hours before our flight, she held our luggage in her office until it was time to go- this gave us the opportunity to wander around and enjoy our last day before flying out. All in all I would absolutely reccomend this hotel. I can't say enough about the owner, and if you want a quiet night's sleep in a traditional neighborhood, yet be close to all of the nightlife, restaurants, etc., in Mykonos Town, The Galini can't be beat!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We had a great time staying at this hotel the owners Maria and her husband were very helpful offered us lift from the airport and drop us off at the port all for free and gave us tips on where to go eat things to see etc. The location of the hotel is very good, very centre, it's very clean very spacious with comfortable beds and a lovely balcony. We didn't experience any problems with showers etc. We really recommend this hotel as it was a great place for a good price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

In A Nutshell, Food, Disguisting. Rooms, Dirty. No Hot Water. Many Thing Unincluded In The All-Inclusive Package. Running Out Of Essentials. Staff, Not Very Helpful. Olympic Rep Even Worse. If Your Thinking Of Checking This Place Out, You May Aswell Stay At Home. Please!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Galini Hotel for 2 nights. This hotel is center and quiet. There is service for pick up. Maria is friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

The hotel is humble, so don't expect too much from the rooms, but the prices are very good (keep into due account that Mykonos tends to be far more expensive than the other islands in the area).
The location is very convenient, very close to the bus station (main link to the beaches) as well as to the town center.
The owner Maria is a very friendly, kind lady, she will try to accomodate any requests of yours and will provide any kind of information on the island. No need to ask, she'll come and pick you up at the airport at any time.
We did enjoy our time at the Galini, I would definitely recommend it!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

I booked this and although very cheap was surprised to find that it was in a good location in the town, by the Bus stations and in a quiet street.
Rooms were clean and basic but above average for 1* hotel, It was more like some of the paris 3* that I have stayed in.
Only problem was that the owner and cleaner were awake early and chat in the mornings while you are in bed, this started about 8am every morning and there was a dog that barked from the opp flats every time someone went passed and drove me insane.
Overall, a good place for people on a budget.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — been woken up every morning
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galini Hotel

Address: Laka Square, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Galini Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Galini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galini Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.