We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in mykonos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gorgona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gorgona to your Saves list
Hotel Gorgona
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tagoo, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
1 review
“The best hotel in mykonos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with a wonderful family to look after you. Stunning views and great rooms, all with a balcony to watch the sunset from. Had a great time will go back again soon. Would recommend to anyone looking for a laid back peaceful place to stay. Thank you.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    35
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This review comes a couple of years late - but a friend of mine just visited Gorgona on my recommendation and returned as happy as us during our 2009 trip! The views from this family run hotel are amazing but then most of the hotels in Mykonos since they are all on a slope would be ideal as well. For the price of this hotel ( which in 2009 was still a lot more than it is right now) was still excellent for the conditions of the room, the space and the view.

If you are use to walking, especially in excellent weather then the quick 8-10 minute walk down to Mykonos town will not be a problem. Since the town is at the bottom/sea level - any hotel would be a walk away and a little uphill/downhill due to its topography. It hardly caused any problems for us during our six day stay and on the contrary we quite enjoyed the walk winding down mykonos streets.

The family who ran the hotel were lovely and always accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

Location is ok. Takes about 10 minutes to walk from the edge of town and the walk is uphill on a road with no sidewalk and very little light, but it's pretty quiet. Anyway, nothing is really nearby until you get into town, so we had to plan our trips accordingly because the walk gets annoying real fast. The pool is amazing and offers great views. We never saw another person at the pool in all five days we were there, which was strange considering how nice the pool is. Needless to say, this is a very quiet hotel. Breakfast is served until 10:30am which I found a bit early, as there are no early nights in Mykonos, thus we had to choose between sleeping in and having breakfast every day. The food at breakfast was ok, very simple, but nice variety. My room had a good view from the terrace. Storage was ok, the closet had some old hangars in it and some of those were broken. The safe didn't work, but the air conditioner was good. Beds were ok, and the flat screen tv included a couple of English-speaking channels. Bathroom could use some improvements. I don't like these types of showers where you have to hold the shower head because it is not a relaxing shower at all. And the light was just not bright enough which made shaving kind of difficult. It's a family-run hotel, and they are basically friendly, though my partner didn't always feel so comfortable there, kind of like we were intruding. I guess I prefer bigger hotels too, but this was ok. Wifi costs like 1€/hour or maybe less if you buy more time, but I couldn't get a connection in my room. Overall, it's a pretty nice place, but it's just not for me, as it's too quiet and family oriented and a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as part of our Honeymoon trip from New Zealand. We couldn't have been happier with our stay.
We loved the fact that the whole family plays a part in running the place, and go out of their way to help.
The rooms are modern and have everything you need. The sea views are simply stunning!
The pool area is probably one of the highlights of the place. It has an amazing 180 degree sea view from high up on the hill, and drinks or snacks are always on hand from the pool bar.
We would fully recommend Hotel Gorgona and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

what can i say about the gorgona....the rooms are very clean, great view! and the breakfast was great, gotta love that greek yogurt! But my favorite was the family atmosphere, it was like coming home to long lost family! Yanna, owner and operator of the hotel, LOVE HER! She is so much fun and such a beautiful soul! And Fani her friend and help.....oh boy put the 3 of us together and lots of fun starts happening! highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: rooms small, clean, comfortable, great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The hotel is family owned and run, and were super friendly. The wife gave my boyfriend and I the option of choosing rooms. We ended up choosing the one with the bigger balcony. Every hotel has a view of the ocean, facing west, so you can experience the sunset every night. Breakfast was served every morning, which was the typical Greek breakfast. Eggs, sausages, croissants, pastries and fruit.

The location is pretty central to attractions, 5 minute drive from the port and a 10 minute walk into town. When we arrived at the hotel the wife suggested we get an atv to explore the island, which was sound advice. We rented the atv for a day and which made the trip into town that much quicker and we went to the famous beaches on the other side of the island with ease.

The rooms were a little small, but that's the case for Europe, and the bathroom was a little tight as well. The room also comes with a safe and refrigerator. Bed is firmer than what I'm used to, but again, that's all of Europe.

Overall, a great hotel, prime location, and great service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Travelled back to the Gorgona after 4 years and was not disappointed.
Joanna and her family have fully renovated the hotel and it has really paid off.
Crisp, clean whites in the rooms. Beautiful new bathrooms and fittings. None of the charm has been lost though.
Firstly, our plane into Mykonos was very late, but her son was still there waiting to pick us up. I had requested a specific room and Joanna had accomodated for this!
The new breakfast room is great and has a wonderful selection for the buffet breakfast - cereal, yoghurt, cheese, meats, eggs, breads, sausages - amazing!
The pool and the view are still fantastic and in great condition and they still make great drinks at the pool bar.
Friends who met up with us in Mykonos were very jealous they weren't staying with us.

Yes - its up a slight hill about 800m out of town, but that makes it quiet enough to be out of the hustle and bustle, but close enough to be there when you want to (and besides - it's only 2 mins on a quadbike!). It's also away from the Bus Station where the young, rowdy kids all hang out (and the most over-priced shops are).

Rooms are bright and spacious and cleaned every day. Security is good - new security shutters and windows in all rooms so you can still get a breeze through and have the windows locked!

When I think of Mykonos - the only place i want to stay is the Gorgona!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gorgona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gorgona

Address: Tagoo, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gorgona 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gorgona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorgona Hotel Mykonos
Hotel Gorgona Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gorgona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.