We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and very dedicated employees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Damianos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Damianos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Damianos Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drossopezoula, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 86 hotels in Mykonos Town
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely hotel and very dedicated employees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel in August and everything was very good. First, the owner came to pick us at the Ferry and led us to the hotel. Then, Athena, the receptionist, took about 10 to 15 minutes to give us advices about Mykonos. She told us where we should go, what we should see, where we should eat (and the restaurants she suggested we're really good), etc. She was very helpful. We had booked the room in the basement and it was exactly was we expected (for the price we were paying)...we didn't spent much time in the room anyway! Breakfast was good and the view from the terrace was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    81
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
144
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

booked this hotel through bookings.com 36 hous prior to departure from uk received emaile
saying hotel had cancelled due to overbooking - yet hotel had taken our payment over week ago.
how did they not see this problem then? suspect we have been 'bumped' due to more lucrative
booking coming along despite hotel, refunding tomorrow we have been warned by booking.com
could take 5-7 days ...and this was only after i demanded to know if money had been refunded
shabby treatment to say the least suspect they accepted our booking as insurance to avoid emp
ty but cancelled us due to longer booking coming along very bad practice

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just stayed at this hotel initially for 4 nights, then went to another island and then returned to this hotel again for another 2 nights. Lovely hotel, friendly family and staff. our rooms were lovely and very up to date and clean. It was out first time in Mykonos and will definitley be back again. Yes the hotel is about 10 minutes away from the main village but a lovely walk in the evening down steps. Being of the older generation 40 + we did not try to walk back up at night time, only between 4 and 5 Euros for taxi back. The service and friendly staff made this hotel a cut above the rest. Free collection and drop off at airport and port I am a seasoned traveller for may years on Greece, had never visited Mykonos before, but this hotel only added to my experience which was all good. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 14 has own small balcony and is away from swimming pool. Room 28 was also lovely but no balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

hotel impressed us with a beautiful swimming pool and jacuzzi, receptionist is very helpful and warm, gave us a brief introduction incl. restaurants, place to go, beach and bus schedule. we feel pretty much welcomed. However when she showed us the room, the strong gasoline smell made me want to vomit, she explained maybe because they used the strong cleanser for the floor, asked us to open the window and air condition. But after whole night, me and my husband still feel the smell can't go away. they are fully booked, can't give us any room, if the alternative room is the one in basement, never mind. The island is quite windy and humid, the ventilation in our badroom was not working, so this makes our room, especially the bathroom like a gas station. That's the only concern I made, the 3rd night I woke up early and can't sleep anymore. This is only complaint about this ROOM. not hotel itself. rest about the room just fine, clean bed sheets, spacious room. quite ok. That's why I was saying maybe I am not lucky this time.

About the shortcut that hotel indicated, honestly on day is absolutely not a problem, but at night, if forgot to mark the turn, you will be lost for finding your way home. It was partly dark on the way at night, it makes your 500m way up bit challenging.

Room Tip: get a room with window, the receptionist will show room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our first impression of Damianos hotel was extremely positive. The pick up at the port was very convenient, and everyone who worked at the hotel went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. A bright young girl at the front desk gave a very clear and thorough introduction to the island with recommendations of what to see, where to eat, and she noted down what time the bus leaves for the different beaches.

The only really negative thing about our experience here was that our room was located in the basement, so it was damp and had a funky smell to it. The staff was helpful with turning on the air conditioning, giving us some fragrant spray for the room etc., but of course we were still disappointed, because it did not look anything like the pictures we had seen when we booked the room. We were later told by the owner of the hotel, an elegant woman in her 50s, that the "normal" rooms cost 160 Euros. We "only" paid 95 Euros, so the standard of our room was lower. Understandable, but I wish we had known this when we made the reservation. We stayed in room number 8.

It takes about 15 minutes to walk from the hotel to the center of town, down the hill, which is not bad. Also, the bus stop is very close by, and there is a grocery store and moped rental within easy walking distance. The pool area looks very inviting at first glance, but if you look closer, there is hair and other small particles floating around in the water. But for lying on a sunbed, it does the trick!

Mykonos is a very charming island with its famous windmills, nice beaches, lively city centre, cute boutiques hidden in the alleyways, and some great restaurants. We were afraid it would be only a party island like Ios. Thankfully, it has a lot more to offer and a more mature crowd. However, it is one of the more expensive Greek islands, and this hotel is probably a testament to that.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a "normal" and not a cheaper, substandard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Husband and I stayed 2 nights at Damianos in May and wish we'd stayed longer! The owner Thanos and his mum were lovely and the free transfers to and from the port were a lifesaver. Thanos even brought our bags from the hotel and picked us up in town so we could have a quick look around before our ferry left.

The hotel is well located - 5-8 min walk downhill into town, about a 15 min walk uphill (take your time!) back. Our room was great - huge bed and huge bathroom, lovely and clean. You also get nice views down to the harbour from the breakfast room. Ask for recommendations - Thanos recommended Nikos Tavern which was delicious. Also try renting a car to see all the beaches, get lost in the town and visit Delos which was awesome. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are higher and there's a slight view to the harbour if you need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have to say that all the reviews we read before, were absolutely right. We had booked a budget room for 6 nights and we got an free up-grade after 1 night. We had a nice room overlooking the pool and sea. A lot of young people staying in the hotel which is great.

The breakfast area was very noce too, we always had a nice table outside with great views. The cook always made us a nice omelette! All the staff is very friendly.

It is great that you are in the center in 5 minutes, the way up is a bit harder, but we did not mind as we were eating a lot so we did some excercise at least!

Would definitely stay here again!

Thanks again..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Damianos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damianos Hotel

Address: Drossopezoula, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Damianos Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Damianos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damianos Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damianos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.