We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Mykonos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tagoo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mykonos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tagoo
Save
You added Hotel Tagoo to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tagoo Area, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Mykonos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I am so thankful to the reviews on TripAdvisor due to which we chose Hotel Tagoo for our stay in Mykonos. We stopped over in Mykonos for a night while coming back from Santorini. We were picked up by Yanni from the port and driven to Hotel Tagoo which was just 5 mins away. We were met by Anna who ensured that everything was just right for us. Although hailed as a budget hotel, the entire hotel and its rooms are tastefully decorated, clean, cozy and very comfortable. Anna (or Mama Tagoo as she is affectionately called and rightly so), sat all the new arrivals down at the pool side in the evening with a welcome drink of Ouzo and gave us a run down of things to do in Mykonos. Her tips, notes on the map and a list of restaurants helped us a lot in planning our day in the town. Mama Tagoo provides her mobile number handy and you can reach her almost anytime if you face any trouble whatsoever. She makes sure that you get good deals on renting bikes, cars and just about takes care of everything to make your stay the best. The hotel is just 700 mtrs from the centre and although the climb down can be easy, it does take some effort to walk back up the slope. But it hardly matters once you are inside the beautiful and pristine atmosphere of Hotel Tagoo. The pool bar is simply the best place to chill out in the evening with a drink, while you watch the beautiful sunset across the sea that stretches out in front of you. The breakfast spread in the morning provides an adequate start to the day. We were so happy we chose Hotel Tagoo and would love to go back again and spend a few more days in Mykonos.

  • Liked — Location, hostess
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    66
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
109
514
52
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

From the moment we were picked up at the airport until we were dropped at the ferry 2 days later our time at Hotel Tagoo was wonderful. The property is lovely, very clean and the location couldn’t be better. (Trip Alert – the walk from the city center isn’t far but if walking at night it can be a bit scary because of the uneven surface, we always travel with a small flashlight and it made the walk a bit safer). Anna is warm, gracious and her family and staff add to the welcoming feeling. We very much appreciated the Greek orientation, the restaurant recommendations, the Greek Night with the opportunity to meet and mingle with other hotel guests (along with a little Greek dancing) and the general feeling of community Anna works hard to give to her guests. We enjoy meeting others in our travels but also feel that if we had chosen privacy it would have been respected. We are very happy we choose Hotel Tagoo.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

Close proximity to the nightlife. Beautiful views. Extremely clean and more space than we were expecting. Anna and the entire staff were amazing and made our 3 nights stay fantastic. Transfers were the easiest and most convenient I have encountered anywhere, and I would NEVER return to Mykanos and not stay at Hotel Tagoo.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Not a single thing we can complain about with Hotel Tagoo! The place is so clean, there are the most incredible views from the pool and pool bar. Anna, her husband, brother and the rest of the staff make you feel like family-- they're more helpful than some of our own family! You receive an orientation to the hotel and island upon arrival. They are located within walking distance to the town center but also provided us with pick-up/drop-off at the ferry port. We would, without hesitation, stay here again-- and plan to do so! We didn't want to leave-- our time at Hotel Tagoo was certainly the highlight of our trip in Greece!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Thanks to Tripadvisor, we found this gem! It is a little oasis, about a half a mile from overly-glitzy, all-too-touristy Mykonos. The view from our terrace over the sea was spectacular; the pool was beautiful; the warm welcome by the owners made us feel instantly at home. Anna, in particular, could not have been more helpful. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

I recently stayed at Hotel Tagoo for a total of four nights. While the hotel does have a very nice pool with a beautiful view and is close to the town of Mykonos, it isn't the view, the pool or its proximity to the town that I fondly remember. It is the warmth and hospitality of the innkeepers Anna and Yanni and the members of their staff.

Anna and Yanni go out of their way to make their guests feel comfortable. Anna welcomes them to the hotel like she was welcoming a guest into her own home. First, she remembers everyone by name. Then, she brings people together during her Greek nights, sharing with them homemade Greek appetizers and drinks. Then, she and her husband Yanni entertain the guests with some Greek dancing and lessons!

Anna and Yanni will also go out of their way to help their guests when in need; like arranging for rentals of vehicles, changing reservations for guests when the ferries are delayed or canceled, and making reservations at restaurants.

It is precisely this extra special touch that makes this place so worthwhile. I look forward to going back to Hotel Tagoo one day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

My husband and I spent a week at Hotel Tagoo at the beginning of the season 2009. Our expectations were somewhat high, as we had read other reviews on this website. We weren't disappointed, to say the least !

Service : flawless. Anna, the owner, has a ton of great tips regarding restaurants, good spots on the island, rentals, transportation... You name it ! The rest of the staff is caring, helpful and friendly. After a few days, they make you feel like you're a part of the family, without being pushy or nosy. A balance rarely achieved !

Rooms : clean and spacious, with simple decoration. If available, ask for a room with a balcony. The view is definitely worth the extra €.

Location : ideal. 10 minutes walk from downtown.

Plus(es) : gorgeous pool terrace with good, low key music selection, gifted bartender, human size of the hotel, general authentic feel of the place... All this at budget prices.

Minus(es) : breakfast is simple and good, but could be improved.

We would definitely recommend Hotel Tagoo to anyone thinking about staying in beautiful Mykonos !

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tagoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tagoo

Address: Tagoo Area, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#2 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#6 Best Value Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tagoo 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tagoo is a small family run complex of 20 rooms, of which some are standard or superior, with 2 single beds or double and queen size beds, some with common sea view terrace area, or private balconies, built on different level, in the cycladic architecture style. We have lovely swimming pool with one of the best views of the island, where you can enjoy great light lunches or great cocktails at our pool snack bar area, while enjoying the most breathtaking sunsets. Facilities include free parking, hairdryers, minifridges, kettles, adapters, irons, ironing boards, satelite tv channels, beach towels, free wifi, public pc for guests use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tagoo Hotel Mykonos
Hotel Tagoo Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tagoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.