We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star service at budget prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tagoo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Tagoo to your Saves list
Hotel Tagoo
Tagoo Area, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“5-star service at budget prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

My wife and I had a great time at Hotel Tagoo. We stayed for 2 nights in Mykonos -- checking in on May 1 when the hotel opened up for the season. First of all, let me say that the service exceeded all expectations for a budget hotel (and they were high as I had read these reviews on TripAdvisor prior to booking).

Anna warned me a couple days beforehand that she expected a strike when we were coming in via the ferry on May 1. At the Rome Airport, I checked with the ferry company before leaving -- something I normally would not have done -- and found out that instead of 18:00, the ferry would not move until 0:01 the next day due to the strike. This allowed me to change to a flight at the last minute and avoid arrival in Mykonos at 4:30. Upon arrival, she also provided us with information about the island, restaurants favored by guests, and tips that saved us money in the long run. (By the way, Yannis did get out of bed and pick up the travelers who were stuck on the 4:30 arrival boat -- what service!)

The view from our room was nice. Don't expect 5-star linens -- this is a budget hotel --but the service and location (15 minute walk to town -- far enough away from the noise but close enough to walk) were fantastic.

I stay at hotels all the time for work -- and service is what sets this place apart. Anna treats you like family, and I will be sure to book here again when we decide to make the journey back to Mykonos. Thanks to the whole staff -- Anna, Yannis, Tony, Jimmy -- for making it a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    69
    21
    9
    1
See reviews for
113
530
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

I just got back from a 14 day trip to greece. The hotel Tagoo was the most wonderful place i stayed on my trip. The hotel has amazing views, extremely clean, spacious rooms, great breakfast, beautiful pool. I was so happy when I got to the hotel and saw how beautiful it was I was extremely happy. The hotel is more wonderful that ypou could ever imagine from the website or any reviews. Hands down I would stay there again in a second. The owner Anna and her husband are very nice and pick you up at the port and deliver you to the hotel in style. They also have a greek night for guests that was super fun

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
164 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

The hotel is just below average as the room is a bit worn down and there are many other good options in the island. Price itself is comparative but you get what you pay for. Owner is controlling and they like you to follow her agenda. I prefer a more relaxing stay and I won't choose this hotel again. Breakfast is not good either and the pool is just below average compare to Greek standard.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Anna, Yannis, and Jimmy who made the best drinks and the best talk. After being picked up at the Ferry by friendly Yannis we were greeted by Anna with some ouzo and information about everything you need to know about the Island. Beautiful pool and bar, rooms were immaculate with really nice views. We felt as if we could stay for ever, they were so friendly. Some day when we are lucky enough to return to Mykonos we will only stay at the Hotel Tagoo. Cheers, Mike and Heather Wilson, North Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

As i had the privilege to stay in Hotel Tagoo for one month while i was working on Mykonos as a representative and a guide for a well known slovenian travel agency, i can honestly say this is one of the top hotels i've ever been to in my long tourism career. The location, staff, atmosphere, service... everything is excellent! Read reviews from other people and you will know what i'm talking about! Big thanks to Anna: without her and her beautiful family it just wouldn't be the same! Believe me: Go for hotel Tagoo!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Great service from the second you step off the boat. They pick you up from the port and drop you off. Our first night they had a welcome celebration and gave eveyone Greek shots, and Ouzo, and Greek Appitizers....then they taught us all some Greek dances around the roof-top pool.
We were given lots of advise on where to go, how to get places, and where the best food was. They would help you out with anything and are constantly making sure you are having a good time.
The view was beautiful
Nice clean room
Clean pool
Very nice and unique property
Great bartender and service - He'll even meet up with ya later at the bars if you ask him to take you around to the best spots.
The rooms are pretty private bacause there's only about 3 rooms in each section...and the resort is built up a cliff so it has different levels.
The breakfast each morning was so nice...it was a good way to meet people and find out what everyone was going to do for the day....and then at night everyone would meet up at the pool bar for drinks, and then walk down the hill to the clubs for some more fun.
I'd recommend the resort to people of all ages. There were young couples, old couples, singles, teenagers, famlies, honeymooners....and everyone seemed to be having an amazing time.
We loved it so much that we stayed an extra night...and they were so accomodating....our room was booked up, but they made a few changes and were able to keep us in our original room.

Anyone that loves the sun, friendly people, endless adventures, new experiences, comfort and cleanliness would love this resort.

  • Liked — The set up of the resort and the pool area - the service was perfect
  • Disliked — Going home
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Staying at Hotel Tagoo was as if staying with your most favorite extended family members and friends. From Yanni (John, owners husband) picking you up at the airport to the most detailed overview of the island from Anna (owner) to "somewhere in the world it is 5 PM" cocktails with James (owners brother)...it was a relaxing and pleasant stay. The property is sparkling clean, the views spectacular, morning breakfast wonderful and all the information provided by Anna makes it a must stay location for anyone visiting Mykonos. Anna and her family makes you feel like family...giving you the best recommendations and an overview of the island upon your arrival. Perfect location - an easy walk into the centre of town - far enough away to have privacy and relax. If you need anything, Anna would make sure you would have it immediately. Picturesque setting on the island!! The most relaxing holiday in a long time!!

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Tagoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tagoo

Address: Tagoo Area, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mykonos Town
#5 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tagoo is a small family run complex of 20 rooms, of which some are standard or superior, with 2 single beds or double and queen size beds, some with common sea view terrace area, or private balconies, built on different level, in the cycladic architecture style. We have lovely swimming pool with one of the best views of the island, where you can enjoy great light lunches or great cocktails at our pool snack bar area, while enjoying the most breathtaking sunsets. Facilities include free parking, hairdryers, minifridges, kettles, adapters, irons, ironing boards, satelite tv channels, beach towels, free wifi, public pc for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tagoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tagoo Hotel Mykonos
Hotel Tagoo Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tagoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.