We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You take the good with the bad.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rochari Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rochari Hotel to your Saves list
Rochari Hotel
PO Box 32, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You take the good with the bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Firstly the good:

The location is ideal. The hotel is perched on the outskirts of Mykonos town so you can enjoy a lovely view from the pool and breakfast terrace and getting to the hub of town is only a 2-3 minute walk. Staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast was plentiful.

Now the bad:

Our stay was started on a horrible note, when we missed our flight and therefore missed the first night that we had booked. After requesting only a partial refund as we did not use the room, hence not requiring house keeping, breakfast etc; we were denied any kind of refund or compensation and the manager who helped us seemed unresponsive and showed no empathy. Be aware, that the rooms our not modern in any means, this is quite typical for Mykonos however the price we paid (200 euro a night) we expected much more. The biggest concern was that the WIFI did not work for our room and we had to walk to the communal area's of the hotel to use it, and even then it dropped in and out. This was totally unacceptable.

All in all, maybe for a lower price or better service initially we would of been happy with our overall experience, however we felt their was certain things lacking.

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room then request a room close to reception as many as the rooms did not re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    56
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
80
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We are a few friends visiting Greece and the islands every year. This time we stayed at the Rochari hotel.
The location is the best - very close to town and with the best view of the famous Mykonos sunset.
The hotels pool is one of the best - amazing vibes, view, music and service.
The breakfast at the terrace is special - the terrace is facing town and the see - beautiful view of the old port and the amazing cruises ships in port.
At the first day of our stay - the breakfast was ok but with out vegetables and Fetta cheese.
We asked the management to add those to breakfast and next morning we had it all - all of the guests where veery happy.
The rooms are nice and basic but that's the islands décor. Toilets are very small.
The hotel manager mrs Stavroula was amazing - trying to assist in any way she could and gave the hotels guests a family personal touch - thank you for a great stay.
We already made reservation for next year - very recommended with love.
Ideal for friends and couples - not for families and kids

Rates are reasonable considering location and the special atmosphere in hotel.

Room Tip: Make reservation 6 mounts in advanced fans 1 year in high season Reserve rooms with sea view - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed at the Rochari from July 2-9, 2014. I cannot say enough about Stavroula and the rest of the staff. I wish I could remember their names. Everyone, was so helpful, nice and friendly. We stayed in a room with a beautiful terrace overlooking the sea and the view of the daily sunset was spectacular. The rooms are very basic. Nothing fancy, but so what. We spent so little time in the rooms. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable. The only drawback to the room was the shower. It was so incredibly small, with two glass doors opening outward that were only about 4 feet high. It was impossible to take a shower without getting the entire bathroom flooded. I don't get the designers of this type of bathroom, as they are so unpractical. (although read reviews of the showers in the Geranium Hotel, which is basically a hose over the toilet???....what gives with THAT??). Anyway, the pool area is nice, with comfortable lounges. The bar scene is lively, with everyone having cocktails before heading out to dinner, or when returning back from the beach. The breakfast each morning was very nice, although, being there for a week, I would have liked a bit more variety (same scrambled eggs, yogurts, fresh fruits and pastries every day). I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff make you feel very comfortable and they are all willing to help out with any question you have. Thank you Rochari. My partner and I hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Wifi in the rooms was spotty. Worked fine around the pool and common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was end of June 2014 at Rochari, it was my 3rd time in 12 years and it's still for me an excellent hotel in Mykonos.

- staff very welcoming and helpful
- ideal location to visit the town and to leave to the beaches
- great atmosphere around the pool
- Our room (10) was huge, with 2 balconies and amazing views.
- Breakfast is good (would have loved some cold meat and cheese though)

I highly recommend this place and will go back for sure.

Ludovic

Room Tip: room 10 was huge and modern, we would have preferred a terrace rather than 2 balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a 4 night stay (9-12 June) in this little boutique hotel in Mykonos town.

Location : The hotel is located on a hill, overseeing the town. This provides aerial views and tranquility - being away from the tourist hordes (especially the cruise liner day-tripper crowd). It's still a short walk from all the sites - the windmills, Little Venice etc. and close to the bus depot (for easy and regular connections to most beaches, villages, ports and other places of interest, so hiring a car isn’t super-critical). The hotel arranges a complimentary transfer to and from the port/airport.

Facilities : The property is painted in white and blue, with traditional Mykonian architecture. The superior double rooms are modern, bright and airy (extending the free wifi access to the rooms, beyond just the public areas would be helpful). We had a balcony with a panoramic view of the Hora and the ocean. Breakfast was a reasonable spread and served in the bar/balcony overseeing the pool, with spectacular views. The bathrooms felt small and the shower area sightly cramped. Rochari represents fair value, in an otherwise over-priced island.

Experience : We arrived earlier than the designated check-in time, and were graciously offered a visitor room with showers to freshen up and change with a complimentary coffee, which were both very welcome after a long international flight. Stavroula patiently explained all the sites on a map / what to do / how to go there and we always found her hotel staff to be friendly, attentive and very responsive. It was evident they have a very high % of repeat/returning guests, and its easy to see why. The hotel attracts a diverse crowd, from independent travelers seeking adventure to couples seeking privacy and calm - it is also gay-friendly, so expect the guest mix to be varied.

Overall, this is a solid, reliable choice for a stay in the beautiful island of Mykonos, and I would recommend it to visiting friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Yet again Stavroula and the team deliver it with bells on. This place rocks, If I don't get a cheeky week here every year I'm less of a man.

OK the sun shines but something shines brighter - their smiles. Stay here if you know what's good for you.

Rochari is good for the soul. My jaw still hurts from laughing and I've been home two weeks.

Jonny xxx

Room Tip: 406, great terrace and not to far to stagger up from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here initially 12 years ago. Then the bathrooms were frustrating and outdated. Just stayed here again for about 2 weeks, and 12 years later, wow....what a change. The hotel is reasonably priced and just a few minutes walk into Mykonos town. The updates are amazing, especially considering the price. We always get a terrace, view room of the town and the sea. Sunsets rock here! The pool is inviting and too has a great view of the town and the sea. There are pricer options in Mykonos, but for the money and the amenities, you can't beat this. The staff is amazing and well trained. There are really wonderful open public spaces and the bar and breakfast room have amazing views too (breakfast is complimentary and typically European in style). It's a nice way to begin the day. It's family owned and run and they really care about their guests. They treat you like family. I highly recommend this hotel. It's the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace or balcony room. The terraces are HUGE. The balconies are much smaller but the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rochari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochari Hotel

Address: PO Box 32, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rochari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochari Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rochari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.