We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is an old times classic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rochari Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mykonos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rochari Hotel
PO Box 32, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 84 hotels in Mykonos Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“this is an old times classic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is probably one of the oldest hotels in Myconos.We remember Rochari Hotel from the 80ies when we used to visit the island every summer.
Mrs Stavroula Kousathana the manager & owner,is the 2nd generation of Rochari Hotel & she runs it inconceivably well!!!.She & her staff are doing a great job,so this hotel ensures you a delightful stay in Myconos Island.
Rochari is cute & small hotel,very well situated in a great location with a magnificent view of the old town & harbor, within walking distance to matoyiannia & yialo,to all kinds of shops,restaurants,cafes,bars & cultural events of the town.
It is also close to the windmills,waterfront & venetia.
The staff & the service is great!Very friendly young people always with a smile,in a good mood & always there ready to provide for everything you could ever want or need.
We loved been given a choice of rooms when we arrived.The rooms & bathrooms are a little bit small & simple but fully equipped with all the amenities needed.Our room 307 with a very comfortable bed!!! was great & spotless with a window overlooking the pool & a door leading you to a large balcony offering a magnificent view of the spreaded town,harbor & sea.An ideal vantage ground for the sunset.The hotel has also a big pool & a beautiful around area with stunning views of the sea.
My husband & I truly recommend this hotelI to all travellers from all over the world.
Do yourself a favour and do not loose time but choose Rochari.Great value for money in a really friendly,polite environment.It was a genuine pleasure to stay there.
Thanks to all in Rochari,they have done an excellent job all these years & this small hotel remains an old times classic!
We will definitely be coming back next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    45
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
65
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here this year and will always repeat. The hotel is pristine, has a magnificent view of harbor, delicious breakfasts and a most delightful staff. The guests are very international and add to the fun of this hotel

Room Tip: Stay as long as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

So the rooms are a little basic & small & the beds and bathrooms ( or at least the shower rose ) could do with an update. But hey you are in Mykonos and you aren't going to spend to much time in the rooms anyway. The hotel is well located with great views over the town and through to the Aegean. Easy access to the restaurants and village but far enough away to be quiet. What the hotel lacks in glamorous fit out, it more than makes up for in Services. You wont get this service anywhere. Nothing was too much trouble, everything we asked was catered for. You can't help but smile everytime you walk in. Its like going home and every guest was treated in the same manner. All staff have great knowledge of the island, the beaches, restaurants, car hire, travel etc. Yes the hotel is very welcoming to gay clientele but everyone is made to feel welcome and enjoy a good time. the pool and hotel bars are great, its a very social place, you'll make lots of new friends. Stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Travelled with our two small children - We can't say enough amazing things about this hotel. We've stayed here twice, but are Mykonos 'veterans' - and by far, the best value for location (couldn't be more central), level of service (amazing and genuinely personal), pool (spectacular view) and overal aesthetic. Are there fancier 'design' hotels in Mykonos? for sure, but we'd stay here again over anywhere else again. Stavrula and her team go above and beyond: when our edlest daughter was sick, she had us at a pediatrician in 30 minutes - that says a lot.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms facing the sea are great. whether a renovated room or not, the balconies are HUGE a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Attiki, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Rochari is really an excellent choice of a hotel for somebody who’s looking for accessible professionalism and lodgings that will accentuate the natural beauty of the island and sweeten the aftertaste that will linger deep inside after your departure, undoubtedly adding to your pleasure, regardless your reason for being on the island of Mykonos!
By nature intelligent, a constantly updated hotelier (probably due to her being a traveler herself) and a manager, effective in problem solving and anticipating your needs as a guest, always smiling and a naturally positive thinker, Stavroula Kousathana will be glad to attend to your any needs and will run her inconceivably well located hotel (‘the Rochari’) in such a discrete way that you will be aware of the personnel’s presence only if you ask for it.
With the hotel itself wittily built in an amphitheatrical way making the most of the land it is built on, and with the hotel rooms (in the back) looking on to the Old Chora (the capital of the island) slightly sideways, most of the rooms on offer have a stunning view of the old Myconian port and will easily feature one of the best sun sets in town but even those which do not, they have at least an inviting veranda and are well cared for and spotlessly cleaned. The rooms themselves are spacious enough (just right – if you ask me), they have A/C, they are evenly allocated on different levels/floors, with a mini fridge to cater for your refrigeration needs when on the premises as a guest (not the kind of pre filled mini bar fridge that will not even give you room enough to keep a bottle of water cold) and thoroughly cleaned on a regular basis (I was happy to notice that the sheets are changed on a daily basis).
The staff is extremely polite, most accessible, should you need anything, thorough and well trained, and undoubtedly there to solve problems rather than apologize for not being able to do anything! That being said, it would be useful to note that home-made food for a wide range of palates is readily available for those not wishing to bother to make for the sea and have decided to laze about the crystal clear waters of an excellent pool offered by the hotel to their guests as an option. Being a repeater myself (one of several others), I have noticed that as a response to the overall positive, inviting and friendly atmosphere, the hotel guests themselves will tend to mingle and meet each other, adding to the friendliness of the place. Dusk is profoundly & stylishly celebrated at the Rochari and is always all the more reason for guests to chat it through or away. We come every year because we are Greek and have lots of friends on the island of Myconos but when it comes to actually staying somewhere, indeed there is no other place that combines it all (including a most accessible price) and as we do not like to impose on friends and we cherish our privacy, we always make a point of coming to the Rochari.
In a nutshell, most centrally located, just a stone’s throw away from pretty much anything within the Chora, WITH A GARAGE (included in the price), a good almost sumptuous breakfast, clean, chic when is needed, casual when and where is appropriate, the Rochari will win you over.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Rochari is really an excellent choice of a hotel for somebody who’s looking for accessible professionalism and lodgings that will accentuate the natural beauty of the island and sweeten the aftertaste that will linger deep inside after your departure, undoubtedly adding to your pleasure, regardless your reason for being on the island of Mykonos!
By nature intelligent, a constantly updated hotelier (probably due to her being a traveler herself) and a manager, effective in problem solving and anticipating your needs as a guest, always smiling and a naturally positive thinker, Stavroula Kousathana will be glad to attend to your any needs and will run her inconceivably well located hotel (‘the Rochari’) in such a discrete way that you will be aware of the personnel’s presence only if you ask for it.
With the hotel itself wittily built in an amphitheatrical way making the most of the land it is built on, and with the hotel rooms (in the back) looking on to the Old Chora (the capital of the island) slightly sideways, most of the rooms on offer have a stunning view of the old Myconian port and will easily feature one of the best sun sets in town but even those which do not, they have at least an inviting veranda and are well cared for and spotlessly cleaned. The rooms themselves are spacious enough (just right – if you ask me), they have A/C, they are evenly allocated on different levels/floors, with a mini fridge to cater for your refrigeration needs when on the premises as a guest (not the kind of pre filled mini bar fridge that will not even give you room enough to keep a bottle of water cold) and thoroughly cleaned on a regular basis (I was happy to notice that the sheets are changed on a daily basis).
The staff is extremely polite, most accessible, should you need anything, thorough and well trained, and undoubtedly there to solve problems rather than apologize for not being able to do anything! That being said, it would be useful to note that home-made food for a wide range of palates is readily available for those not wishing to bother to make for the sea and have decided to laze about the crystal clear waters of an excellent pool offered by the hotel to their guests as an option. Being a repeater myself (one of several others), I have noticed that as a response to the overall positive, inviting and friendly atmosphere, the hotel guests themselves will tend to mingle and meet each other, adding to the friendliness of the place. Dusk is profoundly & stylishly celebrated at the Rochari and is always all the more reason for guests to chat it through or away. We come every year because we are Greek and have lots of friends on the island of Myconos but when it comes to actually staying somewhere, indeed there is no other place that combines it all (including a most accessible price) and as we do not like to impose on friends and we cherish our privacy, we always make a point of coming to the Rochari.
In a nutshell, most centrally located, just a stone’s throw away from pretty much anything within the Chora, WITH A GARAGE (included in the price), a good almost sumptuous breakfast, clean, chic when is needed, casual when and where is appropriate, the Rochari will win you over.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA & Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nine years in a row I have been going to Mykonos and nine years in a row I have stayed at Rochari Hotel. I simply would not consider staying anywhere else. Best value for money on the island. Best pool in the city. Every year the staff welcome me back like part of their family. Stavroula the manager is charming and so efficient and helpful. Darren and Kelly at the bars make killer drinks and create a great atmosphere in their respective bars so most days we start off the evening with a sunrise drink and then end up back at the hotel after dinner for "just one more". Alexy as car valet/luggage porter is invaluable! How he manages the parking lot is amazing. And all with a smile and a joke and never an impatient or tired attitude. Hotel offers complimentary pick-up and drop-off at airport or port. I see many of the same faces every year and I have made and kept many friends there. And we always say "See you next year at Rochari!"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rochari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochari Hotel

Also Known As:
Rochari Hotel Mykonos
Rochari Hotel Mykonos, Greece
Address: PO Box 32, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rochari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rochari Hotel to your Saves list