We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“by far the best in town !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rochari Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rochari Hotel to your Saves list
Rochari Hotel
PO Box 32, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“by far the best in town !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Rochari is really an excellent choice of a hotel for somebody who’s looking for accessible professionalism and lodgings that will accentuate the natural beauty of the island and sweeten the aftertaste that will linger deep inside after your departure, undoubtedly adding to your pleasure, regardless your reason for being on the island of Mykonos!
By nature intelligent, a constantly updated hotelier (probably due to her being a traveler herself) and a manager, effective in problem solving and anticipating your needs as a guest, always smiling and a naturally positive thinker, Stavroula Kousathana will be glad to attend to your any needs and will run her inconceivably well located hotel (‘the Rochari’) in such a discrete way that you will be aware of the personnel’s presence only if you ask for it.
With the hotel itself wittily built in an amphitheatrical way making the most of the land it is built on, and with the hotel rooms (in the back) looking on to the Old Chora (the capital of the island) slightly sideways, most of the rooms on offer have a stunning view of the old Myconian port and will easily feature one of the best sun sets in town but even those which do not, they have at least an inviting veranda and are well cared for and spotlessly cleaned. The rooms themselves are spacious enough (just right – if you ask me), they have A/C, they are evenly allocated on different levels/floors, with a mini fridge to cater for your refrigeration needs when on the premises as a guest (not the kind of pre filled mini bar fridge that will not even give you room enough to keep a bottle of water cold) and thoroughly cleaned on a regular basis (I was happy to notice that the sheets are changed on a daily basis).
The staff is extremely polite, most accessible, should you need anything, thorough and well trained, and undoubtedly there to solve problems rather than apologize for not being able to do anything! That being said, it would be useful to note that home-made food for a wide range of palates is readily available for those not wishing to bother to make for the sea and have decided to laze about the crystal clear waters of an excellent pool offered by the hotel to their guests as an option. Being a repeater myself (one of several others), I have noticed that as a response to the overall positive, inviting and friendly atmosphere, the hotel guests themselves will tend to mingle and meet each other, adding to the friendliness of the place. Dusk is profoundly & stylishly celebrated at the Rochari and is always all the more reason for guests to chat it through or away. We come every year because we are Greek and have lots of friends on the island of Myconos but when it comes to actually staying somewhere, indeed there is no other place that combines it all (including a most accessible price) and as we do not like to impose on friends and we cherish our privacy, we always make a point of coming to the Rochari.
In a nutshell, most centrally located, just a stone’s throw away from pretty much anything within the Chora, WITH A GARAGE (included in the price), a good almost sumptuous breakfast, clean, chic when is needed, casual when and where is appropriate, the Rochari will win you over.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    56
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
80
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA & Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nine years in a row I have been going to Mykonos and nine years in a row I have stayed at Rochari Hotel. I simply would not consider staying anywhere else. Best value for money on the island. Best pool in the city. Every year the staff welcome me back like part of their family. Stavroula the manager is charming and so efficient and helpful. Darren and Kelly at the bars make killer drinks and create a great atmosphere in their respective bars so most days we start off the evening with a sunrise drink and then end up back at the hotel after dinner for "just one more". Alexy as car valet/luggage porter is invaluable! How he manages the parking lot is amazing. And all with a smile and a joke and never an impatient or tired attitude. Hotel offers complimentary pick-up and drop-off at airport or port. I see many of the same faces every year and I have made and kept many friends there. And we always say "See you next year at Rochari!"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hotel Rochari is very well located on the edge of Mykonos town, next to the Belvedere Hotel. It's close enough for easy access to everything but not too close to all the noise (Mykonos is noisy all night).
The pool area is great, and the view from the hotel is magnificent. It's a lovely place to be at sunset.
The rooms are quite dated and need updating, and the bathrooms are small, but if you don't intend to spend much time in them they're adequate and there is plenty of room for all your things.
Although it is a cheap addition to the room price, breakfast could be improved, with more hot as well as healthy options, and needs to be replenished more regularly. We didn't eat at the hotel after the first day - there are nicer options close by in the town.

Room Tip: I'd suggest booking the cheapest rooms, we found the standard rooms fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

From the friendly staff that pick you up from the airport, to the swimming pool and its beautiful view of the sunset the Rochari is a lovely hotel. Most guests told us that they have returned to the hotel annually and I can see why. Five minutes from town the rooms are basic, but comfortable. Little touches like free internet access, nice beach towels and seating areas throughout the hotel make a difference. Overall it is the staff that make the hotel, they are friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Service and staff here are fantastic, they are more than 10 out of 10.
Location is brilliant, far enough up the hill to have a view but still in town. Rare combination.

Very gay friendly, actually it's hetro friendly.

Pool is lovely, with a nice bar. Very social area.

Inclusive airport pick up and drop off; there is parking available too.

Only negatives are the rooms can be a little dated, this is not an ultra modern hotel; WiFi is available free but given the geography of the hotel room access can be hit and miss - just go sit by the pool; breakfast can be improved with some healthier options, even though it is generous and available until late.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view but ask just in case when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I had been to Mykonos several times before a friend recommended the Rochari and I haven't looked back since that first stay. I tell every first time visitor I know to stay at this wonderful family owned hotel. The staff is ready to provide for everything you could ever want or need while on this magical island paradise. The on-site restaurant and bars are beyond comparison to other hotels on the island and the nightly sunset celebration is a must!!! It is ideally located & well within walking distance to all the shopping, culture & restaurants in the town center. If you go, please, give my regards to Stavroula, Darren, Lubo and to all the rest of the family & staff!!!!

Room Tip: anything high up facing the harbor will be fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We booked the suite and 10 days before arrival the hotel advised that they had a major problem as a celebrity was staying longer as a last minute amendment and it affected our stay in the room booked. This was the most professional and apologetic down grade I have ever experienced. After 3 days we moved into the bigger room booked but management deserves a medal for how they managed the situation, we got champagne and flowers and all round sorry's. Nice hotel, clean, good staff and casual guests. The breakfast gets a bit monotonous but nothing to complain about

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rochari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochari Hotel

Address: PO Box 32, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rochari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochari Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rochari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.