We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a holiday in Mykonos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apanema Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apanema Resort to your Saves list
Apanema Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tagoo | P.O. Box 612, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect for a holiday in Mykonos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is our second trip to Mykonos and we won't stay anywhere else but here next time. If you want to relax, get a great night sleep and feel pampered then stay here. The rooms are really fun, modern, clean and classy. The bathrooms are wonderful with nice big showers and high end touches. The pool is lovely, the breakfast is perfect and the staff are warm and personable which is very rare on Mykonos in my experience. Breakfast is served near the pool, your room or terrace... we sat on our private terrace every morning and really enjoyed the fresh servings of fruit, eggs, pancakes etc... tick the boxes on the card and they bring it to you with a smile - wherever you want. The airconditioners work, the beds are really comfortable. For a party island, you get rest and fun staying here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    45
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
135
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Mykonos has a reputation for being a little wilder than some of the other Greek islands
and deservedly so. Whereas the island offers something for everyone there are a
great deal of 18-25 year olds. The town is packed with souvenir shops, restaurants and
clubs.

Apanema located just outside of town ( a ten minute) walk is a well situated boutique hotel
with a view of the bay. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean.

The staff including the front desk Tanya and Marcellus , Dora and Isabella at the pool
bar/restaurant and George were very friendly and accomodating.
The restaurant offers very good food for reasonable prices.

We would definitely come back and stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

After 12 years of visiting Mykonos staying in 5 star hotels such as the Santa Marina and the Mykonos Grand we decided to opt for something different this year by staying at the Apanema Resort (following a recommendation from a friend). We have to say what a great recommendation it was! The Apanema can only be described as a luxurious boutique hotel, with the friendliest staff we have ever come across. Special thanks go to Tanja (a true star and fountain of all knowledge), as well as the lovely Dora (serving breakfast with a smile each morning) and Izabella (happily looking after us at lunch & dinner time). These staff really are a true asset to the team! The rooms are spacious, clean and airy. The location is fantastic. The breakfast is phenomenal – compliments to the chef who makes the best poached and scrambled eggs we’ve ever eaten in any hotel in the world! The atmosphere is just what you want for a relaxing break. We were so happy with the whole experience we’ve already booked again for next year. It goes to show that little gems such as the Apanema outshine the big 5 star hotels time and time again. We can’t wait to see you again in 2012!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our stay in Mikonos and the Apanema Resort-great time! The staff including Tania, George and Dora were all excellent and available to do whatever you need them to! The rooms were large and all unique with balconies or patios. The location was great! It is within walking distance from the port or to downtown Mikonos, but far enough away so that it is completely quiet and relaxing. Breakfast was included and was terrific! The infinity pool, bar and sun deck were excellent! We would return to this resort again and recommend it!

Room Tip: Skip the in room jacuzzi. It is cold, on the older side and takes up a lot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stayed here June 29, 2011-July 3, 2011 and it was amazing. Only gripe I have is that the room was supposed to come with wine and fruit basket upon arrival and we never received it (though we did arrive very early, 7:30 a.m., and were allowed the breakfast that morning).

Booked a nonrefundable room (the best deal) that included daily continental breakfast. Beautiful room, clean, and has a nice roomy balcony. Bed was a little hard though...actually, it was very hard, not just firm. Breakfast is sooo much better than your traditional continental breakfast. I love traveling and learning about new cultures and eating is a great way to do that. If you book the hotel inclusive of the breakfast then you won't regret it. The cheese plate is yummy, eat it with honey, you won't regret it. Scrambled eggs are the best I've had and I usually like to order sunny side up. Not only is the food good but you can keep ordering and ordering if you want to. Plus, they offer fresh juices (peach, orange and pineapple I think)! In town at one of the restaurants the fresh juice was 5 euro. Booked the superior room with a full sea view and it was amazing.

Town is a nice, scenic 10 minute walk from the hotel, yes it's a windy road, but all the locals (and even the visitors who rent cars/bikes) are aware that many people walk the road and don't drive like maniacs. It is a safe road to walk, I never felt scared walking to town. Renting a vehicle is definitely a must-do, whether it's a scooter or a car or an atv, if you want to get around the island, you'll need one. The rates from the hotel were reasonable, rented an atv for 20euro for 24 hours, the rental company picks you up from the hotel and drops you off when you return the car.

The hotel managers/concierge are very nice and always answer all your questions, sometimes giving you the information before you need it. Everyone at the hotel was so nice, made our stay so much better. AC for some reason didn't work for 2 of the days during our stay but it was nice having the balcony door and 2 windows open and it wasn't unbearable hot.

Word of advice though, if you shower with a washcloth/face towel, this hotel doesn't have those. I think that's normal in Europe because a few hotels we stayed at in Europe didn't have them, but if you use one daily to shower, you might want to bring your own. Also, don't forget the sunscreen, it's sooo expensive on the island! 15-20 euro in town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

we stayed at apanema for 3 nights and loved it. the hotel is located about 10 mins walk from mykonos town and has a beautiful pool area and very friendly staff. our room (#2) was a very comfortable size with a large bathroom and little terrace overlooking the pool/ocean. we especially loved the delicious breakfast which is included in the room price, and served by the pool which is so relaxing and peaceful. from the moment we arrived in mykonos the great service began-- from getting picked up from the airport for free by george, to being welcomed with two glasses of wine and a large plate of fruit by the pool, to excellent restaurant recommendations from tanya (take her suggestions!) to the young owner himself coming to our room to help us work the air conditioning .. we were treated wonderfully by everyone.

one word of caution: the door to the room opens with a real key, and in order to lock the door you have to close it and use the key from the inside to turn the lock (there is no deadbolt you can turn by hand). somehow this fact was lost on us and we didn't lock the door when we came home at night... and at 2am when we were dead asleep, someone walked into our room and scared us to death. it was just another guest-- he had gotten confused/lost and was very apologetic.. but if someone on the staff could have pointed out the lock situation when we were shown our room, we definitely would have locked it!

overall it was a friendly, relaxing, comfortable place and we would definitely recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: lock your door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

This is so much more than just another resort, lets start with the basics. The resort is a short 10 min stroll from the old Port & Mykonos Town. We stayed in the standard double room with side seaview, the room was a great size, light, modern, comfortable & clean. It had french doors that lead out onto a little balcony that overlooked the pool & out to the sea. At dusk you can't beat sitting down by the pool with cocktail in hand & watch the amazing sunset. What really sets this resort apart from the rest is the fantastic staff, Tanja & Izabel you guys are amazing!! It's like hanging out at a friends place, kicking back relaxing & just having a great time. We will definitely be back, see you next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apanema Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apanema Resort

Address: Tagoo | P.O. Box 612, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apanema Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you prefer a more private, bijou location, Apanema Resort is a retreat from the island’s vibrant lifestyle. A very homely and casual place Apanema is a small hotel with just 17 rooms/suites offering an intimate, friendly and relaxed surrounding. It is located right on the waterfront with a dreaming sunset view, in the Tagoo area, which is right next to Mykonos town at barely 15 minutes’ walk from the centre of Mykonos Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Apanema Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apanema Hotel Mykonos
Apanema Resort Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apanema Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.