We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice fresh fish” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salparo

Salparo
Kaminaki | Old Port of Mykonos, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
2289078950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 170 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice fresh fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The fish was very fresh but served without any accompaniments. The terrace is on a corner with nice views but it can be quite draughty.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    19
    10
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Location is nice and the staff at the restaurant door was so welcoming that we decided to have dinner there. It finished ruining the great night we were having in mykonos.
The person who was our waiter (he seemed to be the restaurant manager) was forcing us all the time to order what he wanted and whenever we said no, he insulted us in greek. He was very rude all the time since we did not order what he wanted. Of course, he brought us bread without saying we had to pay extra for it and when we said no again, he insult us again.
Once we finished, we gave him our credit card to pay. He lied to us saying they did not have credit card, Unforunately for him, we double check that before sitting on the table with another waiter who said yes, so we told him that and he had no option than to charge us the bill there.
Terrible experience, we felt bad all the time instead of enjoying our dinner. Avoid it!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Completely ripped off.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I travel a lot and have long been aware of how important it is to know the weight and price per kilo of fish in Greece. It's normal practice in most places to weight the fish in front of you. Here we were told not to worry it was very reasonable. I did worry but didn't want to upset my friends. I asked the waiter again how much it would cost but he just kept saying no worry.
The bill came and this little fellow was 150 Euros. On top of that for his other recommendations there was another 84 euros. Total 234 euros for 4 people including nasty house wine. No starters or desert. We had eaten on the island all week for between 20 and 25 Euros for good Greek food with wine. We knew fish would be a bit more but 3 times more! Then the waiter says he doesn't take credit cards. Big surprise and we hadnt budgeted for 60 euroes a head so had to go in search of a cash machine. The waiter went from being friendly and jovial to pretty rude to be honest. I will return to Mykonos as I have done for the past 12 years but avoid this place like the plague and suggest you do too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“my worst dining experience in mykonos so far.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

we went there for dinner, the so called freshly today caught fish was not so fresh, the chef does not know how to cook a fish, or did not bother to do it well, some parts of the seabass was over cooked and dry, and some was almost raw. my dinner companion ordered a diet coke 5 times and never received it.
wine wise: it is a disaster... we sent 3 bottles back, all corked, they must be storing their wine poorly.
after dinner, i felt a bit sick and nauseous .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stubled upon this place while ashore from a cruise ship. It's a family run restaurant that specializes in fish dishes. The fish carpaccio I for lunch had was superb, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is fantastic!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salparo also viewed

 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Salparo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salparo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.