We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salparo: what a surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salparo

Salparo
Kaminaki | Old Port of Mykonos, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
2289078950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 161 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Salparo: what a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

It seemed the usual turistic restaurant, but nothing could be more wrong.
The fresh fish was as excellent as the meat, the waiters were very kindly and the view on the old port was great too!
It worth a meal, definitevely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    19
    10
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food, location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The location of this restaurant on the shore is perfect with the most amazing view.

We ordered the calamari and shrimp and they were exceptional. Fresh and cooked perfectly. We also had on their recommendation a salad that had pear in it and we have never tasted anything quite like it. We were told it was something they had made up and perfected and they were spot on.

The only thing that let them down was that we ordered breads to start and they never showed and it took awhile for our wine to come out. But very minor overall.

Service is personalised by very good looking men (especially Julian) who also have the best knowledge on where to party.

Highly recommend this restaurant!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Delicious and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a really lazy Saturday afternoon at Salparo eating some very fresh and delicious food. The staff in the restaurant were extremely helpful and friendly. The Mykonos wine recommendation was spot on and the fish was very fresh. It was simply grilled and served with olive oil. Everything we had from the bread to the olive oil to the dessert was burtsing with flavour.

I thought that it was a little pricey but actually the prices stand up to other restaurants and the quality is as good as naywhere else you may choose to eat. It's location and service do set it apart though..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury, suffolk, uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“not really worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We paid 113 euros for a pretty average piece if fish, the cheapest wine was 29 euros, and it’s a bit gimmicky and cheesy with the staff dressed as sailors. Mykonos is very expensive and this is not a particularly expensive place for the town, but for the price I felt slightly ripped off. Service was friendly though and the location is interesting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Homemade and Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Salparo is a family owned tavern on one of the prime locations in Mykonos City - You have the best view to the Old harbor. You will just enjoy the amazing hospitality, service and the excellent homemade dishes. Ask for the daily recommendation! Fish is fresh and excellent prepared.

We had an excellent dinner before we dived into the nightlife of Mykonos.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salparo also viewed

 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Salparo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salparo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.