We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos Theoxenia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mykonos Theoxenia to your Saves list
Mykonos Theoxenia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kato Mili, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Bolton, U.K.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Heaven On Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We've hardly ever been to the same place twice - but this was our third visit to the Theoxenia. The perfect combination of a superb hotel with impeccably trained and attentive staff; located so conveniently close to a vibrant and cosmopolitan town with an abundance of restaurants and bars - we have never found anywhere that so fulfills all our wishes before. The hotel is superbly designed, clean and modern; the pool and sun terrace are blissfully serene and never crowded.

On arriving, we were amazed to find the hotel manager outside, waiting to greet us, having remembered us from previous visits. He made us very welcome and arranged cocktails in the poolside bar whilst our luggage was taken to our room. This is a very well-run hotel with an emphasis on luxury and where the guest's comfort is the priority of every one of the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Each year we have been looked after by a new team of young but highly professional staff who seem genuinely to love their working environment. At the end of our holiday we have almost wanted to don their uniforms and join them for the rest of the summer! Happily, we have just made a further reservation for 2010. Just can't wait!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    43
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
140
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

If I could I would be returned back to this Mykonos Blue hotel soon !!!!

Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

This hotel is in the perfect spot. It's trendy without being pretentious, the property is beautiful and the views are terrific. It had a great 60's vibe with a modern twist. We chose this hotel because we wanted the excitement of Mykonos town without being right in the center where music would be blasting all night long. All of the shops and restaurants are a mere 3 minute walk away so it was easy to come and go without any hassle. You walk right past the windmills to get in the front gate so it was always a pleasure go back and forth anyway. It's also not far from the bus that takes you to all of the south shore beaches (paradise beach, etc.) which was extremely convenient. The rooms are not large but are very comfortable and stylish. We stayed in a deluxe sea view room which had a sunken lounge area and balcony. The bathroom was very modern and for those of you (like me) that like a shower-head above your head (unlike in many places throughout Greece that have hand-held sprayers) then you'll be very happy here. There is also a separate stand up shower in the deluxe sea view bathroom.
The breakfast is served in the restaurant, not on your balcony but definitely take advantage of it, it is absolutely delicious! There was a great selection of hot food and even champagne to make mimosas. To be honest, I paid for a sea view but barely sat on the balcony. Normally, I have my breakfast served there when I am away, but since the better food was only available in the restaurant we went there. In addition, you could "see" the ocean, but it wasn't a big deal (see photo). I tell you this because knowing what I know now, I would recommend that you book a bigger room with a garden view rather than wasting money on the "sea view". There are a few Sea "front" rooms, but unless you're guaranteed that, I wouldn't bother.
The pool area at this hotel is absolutely stunning. If you go in September you will especially love it because you will have all of the beautiful loungers and curtain draped beds to yourself. It is truly a tropical oasis.
It was fabulous to sit in the outdoor lounge and watch the sunset. I also recommend taking a dip in the tiny natural beach that sits right below the hotel. The water is crystal clear straight to the bottom and since it's just an inlet, it's totally untouched.
If you need advice while in Mykonos, be careful who you ask at the front desk, not everyone is as knowledgeable as you would expect, but once you find someone that knows what they’re doing, you'll be fine.
I definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again. It was well kept, a beautiful property and in the best location.
P.S. book through "tablethotels.com" and you'll get a good price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I can honestly say this was one of the best holidays I have ever had and the hotel and its staff have a lot to do with me forming this opinion. This was our second trip to Mykonos; the first being about 4/5 years ago and after staying at the Mykonos Theoxenia last week, I would more than likely return in the future. We have never returned to the same place twice but after the last week there are no regrets.

You are collected from the airport by private transfer courtesy of the hotel and deposited in reception without having to lift a bag as its all taken care of for you. The airport is a 10 minute drive away at the most and it’s important to point out you are not disturbed by plane noise at all. The front of house team led by Harrys is first rate and makes you feel welcome from the start. You are then invited to take a seat wherever you like to enjoy a welcome fruit cocktail whilst your bags are taken to your room. Once you have finished your drink, you are shown to your room and the air con and other amenities are explained to you.

We booked a ‘last minute’ holiday three days before departure and had a standard room but we were not disappointed in the slightest and thought that it was beautifully appointed. It would of course have been great to have a sea view but to be honest when you don’t spend much time in your room you can do with out this. The hotel room and bathroom were spotlessly maintained throughout the stay (as were all public areas) and the bathroom was very modern and contained plenty of towels, bath robes (in the wardrobe) and slippers! The only slightly odd thing was the lighting in the bathroom which had a pink tinge to it but you soon get used to it and it didn’t bother us at all. The hotel room contained a tv and a stereo system and you are also able to access the internet from your room – you just need to request a cable from reception. Simple things make this hotel stand out such as the first thing we noticed, a complimentary bottle of wine on your first night left in your room which we consumed outside watching the sun go down.

As you walk round the hotel you see that bold splashes of colour are everywhere and it has a retro feel which feels modern and contemporary. You can also access the internet from the main bar area as there is a PC set up for general use. The beauty of the hotel is that it is situated right on the coast line so even though you are only 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Mykonos Town, you feel like you’re a world away as the hotel is set over the brow of a hill over looking Little Venice and the landmark windmills in its own private gardens. I understand that the building is actually listed so it will never be spoilt. You get to eat your breakfast over looking the sea and if it’s nice you can choose to sit outside which we did for 5 of the 7 mornings we were there. The events team is managed by Giorgos and they were all extremely efficient, friendly and helpful and made us feel like part of the family. They were able to recommend good restaurants, Greek wine and where to go of an evening if you wanted to experience the nightlife. The outside terrace at the hotel is the perfect place to sit and drink a glass of wine as the sun goes down as you have unspoilt views across the sea and the outside furniture is first rate (take your pick from sun loungers, comfy chairs, beds or sofas). You really couldn’t ask for a more relaxing time as the hotel staff are discreet enough not to be noticed but are on hand when you need them. Special thanks also to Giorgos (bar) for also marking on a map for us how to get to particular restaurants to save us from being lost in the maze of streets that make up Mykonos town and for serving us each night and keeping what seemed to be an endless supply of bar snacks coming!

The pool area was quiet whilst we were there but that probably has a lot to do with the fact that the end of the summer season was near. Guests also like to leave the hotel for a few days of their stay to either experience one of the many boat trips from the nearby harbour or to visit one of the beaches on the island. There are plenty of sunbeds round the pool so you never felt you had to get out first thing in the morning to reserve a spot and the hotel provides you with towels which you can use. A nice touch is that you are also treated to free ice cream everyday between 4-5pm which seemed to us a good enough reason to return to the hotel each day! On the one day we thought we’d missed it, Albert went to the kitchen and got some for us – thanks!

If there was one very small thing I could say that I think would improve this hotel, it would be that the restaurant needs some work as it feels too clinical and lacks ambience. This is probably not helped by the fact that the tables are laid out in a long line and it is a shame as it really has a lovely outlook. During our stay, I don’t think we saw anyone eating there in the evening but then again it could be argued that when you’re that close to the main town anyway it really doesn’t matter. It doesn’t matter so much for breakfast but for an evening meal we always went elsewhere.

One last thing to point out, there are a lot of cats around the hotel (and actually all over the island – we even saw two in the airport departures lounge waiting to get our flight). They are friendly and will sit at your feet waiting to be fed so if you don’t like cats you will have to ignore or shoo them away.

Overall I couldn’t recommend this hotel highly enough. The location, staff and amenities were all first rate during out stay and thanks to everyone at the Theoxenia who made the week feel special. The only problem was that the week went by far too fast…

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I was worried when we had to choose a Hotel in Mykonos town in august, the city is so loud, expecially at nght....then we tried the Theoxenia, and i tell you, it is a green oasis in the heart of the city ! the junior suite was clean and very comfortable, the food at the pool great, compliments to the manager and all the staff, we felt so comfortable with anything !! hope to be back soon

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

The hotel is in the perfect location. In the edge of town center but adjacent to the nice part of the town. Although it is located in the center, the area is very quiet like an oasis in the desert. The hotel is designed to look like 60's with intense colors and art deco. The hotel had its own parking which is very important for mykonos town. I really liked it although it was a bit expensive. The only negative thing I found was the Spa which should't be called a Spa at all. So if your purpose is to use the Spa choose another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Stayed at this resort for 5 nights in mid-August, 2009. What a superb stay we had.

From the initial welcome transfer from the airport, to the check-in and escorted to your room, it was clear that the staff shine at this hotel. All staff we happy, friendly, hospitable, and more than happy to help in any possible way.

The rooms are great. I’ve stayed in Mykonos 3 times and these are the best I’ve stayed in – comfortable beds & pillows, excellent bathrooms with great amenities, a fridge, closet space, additional seating area…we were upgraded to a ‘sea view’ room, away from the pool. Noise was never a problem. Rooms were cleaned thoroughly each day.

The real strengths of this hotel are the common areas throughout – the TV / lounge area, restaurant and pool area. All are comfortable places to spend your time when you aren’t racing off to Mykonos’ great beaches or trying to find your way around delightful Mykonos Town. You can easily spend 5 nights at this hotel and never leave it.

The pool (see photos) is large, clean, with plenty of comfortable sun chairs as well as outdoor double beds and other seating. There’s full bar and food service around the pool which we took full advantage of: Great cocktails, fresh salads, great wine selection, etc. The prices aren’t unreasonable either, particularly in this beautiful setting. The staff around the pool during the day are attentive yet most of the time you wouldn’t even know they were there: just the way it should be when you want to relax. There’s fun music playing, nothing too loud, and it ranges between chill out to European dance. You probably don’t even have to bring your own iPod. Despite the hotel having many rooms, the pool area seems surprisingly quiet and private – we spent a couple of days hanging out all day and it was very relaxing.

Location: this hotel is literally right behind the famous windmills of Mykonos. I read other reviews that said this, but until I actually saw it I didn’t quite believe it. It is PERFECTLY situated for walking into town for dinner, or wandering home from the famous nightlife of Mykonos. We did not have to rent a car / scooter at all. The hotel has great views of the sea and a couple of beaches behind – as well as the sunsets. You can’t see Mykonos Town, but we felt we could visit other hotels at sunset or for dinner and get that experience as well.

Finally, we must acknowledge the staff one more time: Particularly Giorgos (1), Patricia, and Giorgos (2) – you not only made our stay memorable & comfortable, you became our friends too. Thank you to the entire team for a brilliant stay – we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mykonos Theoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Theoxenia

Address: Kato Mili, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mykonos Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#21 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mykonos Theoxenia 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mykonos Theoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Theoxenia Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Town Theoxenia
Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Theoxenia Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos Theoxenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.