We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Gorgeous Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos Theoxenia

Save Saved
You added Mykonos Theoxenia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mykonos Theoxenia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kato Mili, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 83 hotels in Mykonos Town
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Gorgeous Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I booked this hotel due to the great reviews on tripadvisor..they were certainly accurate! The staff are amazing and the most friendly I have known at a hotel, they could not do enough for you..The hotel itself is beautiful, we arrived and were given a welcome drink (a lush smoothie!) whilst we waited a short time to be taken to our room.
The room was amazing, we were greeted with a bottle of cava and a bowl of fresh fruit, and a balcony with a part sea view. The kingsize bed was very comfortable and a lovely bathroom with little touches such as small bottles of shampoo/moisturiser etc made it that much special.
There was also a smart little hifi which I used to dock my Iphone to play music and charge.

The poolside is also lovely, very comfortable sun loungers and double beds were very relaxing. The pool itself is big and refreshing, sometimes a little chilly but I wasn't complaining with the hot weather it helped to cool us down!

The breakfast was incredible, a massive variety, I stuck to my english type food bacon, mushrooms eggs etc whilst my partner enjoyed the continental range. Once we sat down we were offered tea and coffee throughout the duration of our breakfast which was lovely.

A couple of very MINOR points is that the bathroom door handle did not lock and we think the aircon stopped working two days before we left, these are not complaints as we only let the reception staff know this on our second to last day who offered to get these fixed at once but we only informed them for the next guests who stay.
The location of the hotel is perfect, right next to the lovely windmills and on outskirts of town but quiet and chilled. The views of the sunset are also amazing.

All in all this is honestly the best hotel I have ever stayed at and we will definitely be coming back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Mykonos Theoxenia as your holiday destination and for being so kind to put a lovely review on Tripadvisor.

It is a real pleasure to read your positive review, in particular that you liked our friendly and helpful staff, our beautiful hotel in general, the nice welcome drink as well as the bottle of cava and bowl of fresh fruits, which awaited you in your amazing room with its beautiful sea view. In addition, we are happy to hear that you found our poolside lovely, our food served incredible and our hotel's location absolutely perfect. It is nice to see that you very much enjoyed the stunning views. Thank you for pointing out the door handle as well as the air-conditioning; we will surely follow up both issues and make sure everything is perfect for our next customers.

We feel honored when reading that you consider our Mykonos Theoxenia the best hotel you have ever stayed at and we are so delighted to hear that you will definitely be coming back. We look forward to that day!

Kindly yours

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    40
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
124
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Let me start with the good:

The staff at this hotel was great, picked us up from the doc, room was ready with a complementary bottle of wine and fruit, super helpful with reservations and recommendations. Location can not be beat, close to the action, but far enough away to be relaxing. Great breakfast and beautiful pool.

Now for the bad:
Reserved an oceanfront deluxe room, wood floors in room were damaged and needed repair, shower had broken nozzles, great patio, not exactly oceanfront (a public trail with motorbikes buzzing by goes past room about 6ft below balcony, table on the balcony is unstable and is unusable. The concept of the hotel is great, what is lacking in execution and finish.

Room Tip: Great sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having decided to spend your holidays at the Mykonos Theoxenia and for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to hear that you were very pleased with our amazing staff, that you appreciated the complementary bottle of wine and fruit in your room, and that you admired the hotel's perfect location - close to the city center but far enough away to relax. Additionally, thank you for praising our great breakfast buffet as well as the beautiful pool. Nevertheless, we are sorry to hear about the damaged wooden floors in the room as well as the broken nozzles. Rest assured that immediate measures will be taken regarding this matter. We wish you had informed us of these maintenance issues during your stay so we could have fixed them right there and then, and made your stay more pleasurable.

It was our pleasure accommodating you here at the Mykonos Theoxenia and we hope that you will soon please us with a return visit.

Yours faithfully

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I am frequent traveller to Miconos. Probably the most fashionable island. This was my 14th time here. I have chose Theoxenia to explore something new. And was not disappointed. Great location in the heard of the city (and it is in reality, not like other hotel promise, but basically is 20-30 minutes from the main "party"area). Breakfast: food not bad for Miconos standard, but have marbles view to sea and area. Hotel is located nearby bus station (3 min) and convenient, if planning to go to beach by bus. If you prefer a car, parking lot is very large, but be prepared to drive 300m via very narrow and busy street. Hotel has very nice and friendly staff. All was great, BUT...
Unfortunately, I was very surpriesed and unhappy to see how disappeared very expensive buttle of special selection of perfume from my bathroom when arrived at evening from the beach. There were only formal "sorry" from the hotel management with silly explanation about situation.
So, may be this is due to crisis in Greece, but be prepare, that some good staff may disappear in your room with no much responsibilities from the senior hotel staff.
Pity, otherwise I would recommend this hotel to my friends and would come back again.

Room Tip: See view rooms are sort of pricy. If you choose garden view, it is preferable to chose the room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Let us show you our appreciation by thanking you for having decided to spend your holidays at the Mykonos Theoxenia and for posting a review online.

It makes us happy seeing that you found our hotel a wonderful place and that you were not disappointed in your decision to stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you admired our great location, the good food served, as well as the stunning views overlooking the sea. Furthermore, thank you for your compliments to our very nice staff and our hotel in general. However, we would like to apologize for your bottle of perfume and would like to inform you the following: We remember that you had left the bottle on the pedestal in front of your bathroom window. Unfortunately you had not closed the window properly and the wind must have forced the window to stay open and at some point unhappily, the objects that were placed on the window shelve eventually fell to the ground, too, due to the wind. The afternoon turn down service found the bottle broken and collected it and threw it into the trash while placing all other objects back in their place. If you remember, we informed you accordingly when you mentioned the loss but sadly you did not accept our explanation from the start, even though perfume odor was evident in your room upon investigation. The afternoon chambermaid has been with us for four years and no other complaint of loss or theft has been mentioned in the past. We truly hope for your understanding and trust in our hotel staff members.

It is a shame that this incident made you feel the way you feel now and hopefully you will give us another chance to prove to you that we do not tolerate any of the actions you have mentioned. It would be our pleasure to greet you back to the Mykonos Theoxenia for another relaxing and luxurious holiday!

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Superb service. Great rooms and breakfasts. Far enough from centre to get good nights sleep and calmness and near enough for the 5 minute walk to the centre! Relaxing pool - still retro and fabulous !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks to you for deciding to spend your holidays at the Mykonos Theoxenia and for sharing your gorgeous note on Tripadvisor. We are grateful to you for highly praising the superb service at our hotel, the relaxing pool, the great rooms, our tasty food on offer and the fact that we are perfectly situated. Hopefully you will soon gratify us with a return visit for another fabulous break!

Yours truly

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

First time to the island of Mykonos. Took a day or two to get used to the place. My partner and l stayed for a week here in a sea view room ( some are obstructed so be clear that you want a full sea view) which allowed us watch the sun go down every evening from our balcony. Staff were professional, friendly and easy going. Room was funky, AC worked fine and we loved the Greek toiletries. Breakfast room had fab views and food was fresh and tasty. Constantly refreshed by Elena and Maggie who were working for the Summer from a Swiss Hotel school. The town is on your door step which is so handy after being out at night. The pool area with the lovely Maria was relaxing. Anna and her team on the front desk always had a smile! Grounds of hotel could be better kept as it had plastic bags and bottles about. Hotel is pricy but the entire island is. We hope to get back there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Mykonos Theoxenia we would like to thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays at our hotel and for sharing your comment online.

It gives us pleasure hearing that you really enjoyed your stay here and that you admired the sea view room that allowed you to watch the sun go down every evening from your balcony. We are happy you found our staff pleasant, professional and friendly, the food on offer fresh and tasty, the pool area relaxing, and the fact that the town was basically on your doorstep, truly welcoming. Thank you for your comment regarding the grounds, and we will be more attentive in the future. However do bear in mind that the constant winds in Mykonos keep bringing rubbish into the hotel from outside, and it seems that our picking these up 3-4 times a day is not enough!!

It was our pleasure accommodating you and we also hope to see you back at the Mykonos Theoxenia or one of our other beautiful Louis Hotels in the near future!

Yours faithfully

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

we stayed for 7 nights and it really is a wonderful place. made to feel welcome and the pool area is one of the best i have ever seen. The town is only 5 minutes away and that is an experience on its own in the evening.. I have stopped in many places in Europe and this is by far the best
credit where credit is due ............excellent

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Let us show you our appreciation by thanking you for having decided to spend your holidays at the Mykonos Theoxenia and for posting a review online. It makes us happy seeing that you found our hotel a wonderful place, that you felt welcome, the location perfect - only 5 min away from town - and that you enjoyed the pool area, calling it one of the best you have ever seen. We look forward to greeting you back for another excellent stay!

Yours truly

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We are staying here for 4 nights , the room is small but its view is good , air condition is not working perfect but its ok the breakfast is great and the pool area is also great , access to the town , beaches and restuarant is good and simple and totaly i suggest this hotel if u want to spend your time in mykonos ;)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for deciding to stay at the Mykonos Theoxenia and for taking the time to share your experience online. We are happy to hear that you were enjoying the stunning views, the great breakfast at our hotel, the nice pool and the fact that from here, you had easy access to the town, beaches and restaurants. Thank you for recommending us and we hope that we can see you again here, maybe next time even in sunny Cyprus!

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mykonos Theoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Theoxenia

Address: Kato Mili, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mykonos Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mykonos Theoxenia 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mykonos Theoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Theoxenia Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Town Theoxenia
Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Theoxenia Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos Theoxenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.