We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crisis in Greece?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos Theoxenia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mykonos Theoxenia to your Saves list
Mykonos Theoxenia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kato Mili, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Crisis in Greece?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I am frequent traveller to Miconos. Probably the most fashionable island. This was my 14th time here. I have chose Theoxenia to explore something new. And was not disappointed. Great location in the heard of the city (and it is in reality, not like other hotel promise, but basically is 20-30 minutes from the main "party"area). Breakfast: food not bad for Miconos standard, but have marbles view to sea and area. Hotel is located nearby bus station (3 min) and convenient, if planning to go to beach by bus. If you prefer a car, parking lot is very large, but be prepared to drive 300m via very narrow and busy street. Hotel has very nice and friendly staff. All was great, BUT...
Unfortunately, I was very surpriesed and unhappy to see how disappeared very expensive buttle of special selection of perfume from my bathroom when arrived at evening from the beach. There were only formal "sorry" from the hotel management with silly explanation about situation.
So, may be this is due to crisis in Greece, but be prepare, that some good staff may disappear in your room with no much responsibilities from the senior hotel staff.
Pity, otherwise I would recommend this hotel to my friends and would come back again.

Room Tip: See view rooms are sort of pricy. If you choose garden view, it is preferable to chose the room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Let us show you our appreciation by thanking you for having decided to spend your holidays at the Mykonos Theoxenia and for posting a review online.

It makes us happy seeing that you found our hotel a wonderful place and that you were not disappointed in your decision to stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you admired our great location, the good food served, as well as the stunning views overlooking the sea. Furthermore, thank you for your compliments to our very nice staff and our hotel in general. However, we would like to apologize for your bottle of perfume and would like to inform you the following: We remember that you had left the bottle on the pedestal in front of your bathroom window. Unfortunately you had not closed the window properly and the wind must have forced the window to stay open and at some point unhappily, the objects that were placed on the window shelve eventually fell to the ground, too, due to the wind. The afternoon turn down service found the bottle broken and collected it and threw it into the trash while placing all other objects back in their place. If you remember, we informed you accordingly when you mentioned the loss but sadly you did not accept our explanation from the start, even though perfume odor was evident in your room upon investigation. The afternoon chambermaid has been with us for four years and no other complaint of loss or theft has been mentioned in the past. We truly hope for your understanding and trust in our hotel staff members.

It is a shame that this incident made you feel the way you feel now and hopefully you will give us another chance to prove to you that we do not tolerate any of the actions you have mentioned. It would be our pleasure to greet you back to the Mykonos Theoxenia for another relaxing and luxurious holiday!

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    43
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
140
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Superb service. Great rooms and breakfasts. Far enough from centre to get good nights sleep and calmness and near enough for the 5 minute walk to the centre! Relaxing pool - still retro and fabulous !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks to you for deciding to spend your holidays at the Mykonos Theoxenia and for sharing your gorgeous note on Tripadvisor. We are grateful to you for highly praising the superb service at our hotel, the relaxing pool, the great rooms, our tasty food on offer and the fact that we are perfectly situated. Hopefully you will soon gratify us with a return visit for another fabulous break!

Yours truly

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

First time to the island of Mykonos. Took a day or two to get used to the place. My partner and l stayed for a week here in a sea view room ( some are obstructed so be clear that you want a full sea view) which allowed us watch the sun go down every evening from our balcony. Staff were professional, friendly and easy going. Room was funky, AC worked fine and we loved the Greek toiletries. Breakfast room had fab views and food was fresh and tasty. Constantly refreshed by Elena and Maggie who were working for the Summer from a Swiss Hotel school. The town is on your door step which is so handy after being out at night. The pool area with the lovely Maria was relaxing. Anna and her team on the front desk always had a smile! Grounds of hotel could be better kept as it had plastic bags and bottles about. Hotel is pricy but the entire island is. We hope to get back there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Mykonos Theoxenia we would like to thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays at our hotel and for sharing your comment online.

It gives us pleasure hearing that you really enjoyed your stay here and that you admired the sea view room that allowed you to watch the sun go down every evening from your balcony. We are happy you found our staff pleasant, professional and friendly, the food on offer fresh and tasty, the pool area relaxing, and the fact that the town was basically on your doorstep, truly welcoming. Thank you for your comment regarding the grounds, and we will be more attentive in the future. However do bear in mind that the constant winds in Mykonos keep bringing rubbish into the hotel from outside, and it seems that our picking these up 3-4 times a day is not enough!!

It was our pleasure accommodating you and we also hope to see you back at the Mykonos Theoxenia or one of our other beautiful Louis Hotels in the near future!

Yours faithfully

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

we stayed for 7 nights and it really is a wonderful place. made to feel welcome and the pool area is one of the best i have ever seen. The town is only 5 minutes away and that is an experience on its own in the evening.. I have stopped in many places in Europe and this is by far the best
credit where credit is due ............excellent

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Let us show you our appreciation by thanking you for having decided to spend your holidays at the Mykonos Theoxenia and for posting a review online. It makes us happy seeing that you found our hotel a wonderful place, that you felt welcome, the location perfect - only 5 min away from town - and that you enjoyed the pool area, calling it one of the best you have ever seen. We look forward to greeting you back for another excellent stay!

Yours truly

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We are staying here for 4 nights , the room is small but its view is good , air condition is not working perfect but its ok the breakfast is great and the pool area is also great , access to the town , beaches and restuarant is good and simple and totaly i suggest this hotel if u want to spend your time in mykonos ;)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for deciding to stay at the Mykonos Theoxenia and for taking the time to share your experience online. We are happy to hear that you were enjoying the stunning views, the great breakfast at our hotel, the nice pool and the fact that from here, you had easy access to the town, beaches and restaurants. Thank you for recommending us and we hope that we can see you again here, maybe next time even in sunny Cyprus!

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It is beyond amazing at this hotel. The rate was reasonable, the rooms are all great and large. The best part was the staff. They were all so nice, its hard to describe how welcome you feel. They all learn your name and room number, make everything easy, and are overly accommodating. I will only stay at this hotel moving forward. The found me scooters, brought me coffees, got me a private room to use for a conference call I had to do... It was above and beyond. I can't wait to be back! best, Matthew

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks to you for having chosen to stay at the Louis Mykonos Theoxenia and for leaving such a charming comment online. What better review could we receive! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you truly appreciated the great and large room, the fabulous service provided by our amazing staff, and the fact that you felt welcomed straightaway. We feel honored when reading that you will only stay at our hotel moving forward. We cannot wait to greet you back for another exceptional break!

Kindly yours

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel's location was perfect, just outside the town. i was stunned by the magnificent service. It was just fantastic. The minute we arrived by the sea ferry, the hotel manager himself picked us up from the port for free. Within minutes we were in the room. The service then just kept getting better. The staff were always helpful form the reception to the pool staff. With a very reasonable price, I did not expect such a wonderful experience. I definitely recommend anyone as it is so close to the town, yet you can escape all the noise and be in a wonderful tranquil place. The pool area and the food were as good as the service. Our flight was at 6:00pm the last day and we requested a late check out, and since our room was booked after, the hotel gave us another room to put our stuff and shower and change so we were able to swim even in our last day, which is another example of how accommodating they were. I would definitely go back and thank everyone involved for this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Louis Mykonos Theoxenia as your holiday destination and for being so kind to put a lovely review on Tripadvisor.

It is a real pleasure to read your positive review, in particular that you liked the location of the hotel, the magnificent service by our helpful staff including the management, as well as the great pool area. Further, we are glad you admired the tasty food and that the hotel's facilities truly exceeded your expectations.

Many thanks to you for highly praising our hotel and we are looking forward to your next arrival for another wonderful experience!

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mykonos Theoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Theoxenia

Address: Kato Mili, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mykonos Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mykonos Theoxenia 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mykonos Theoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Theoxenia Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Town Theoxenia
Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Theoxenia Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos Theoxenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.