We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the Theoxenia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos Theoxenia

Save Saved
You added Mykonos Theoxenia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mykonos Theoxenia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kato Mili, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 83 hotels in Mykonos Town
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the Theoxenia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

First time to the island of Mykonos. Took a day or two to get used to the place. My partner and l stayed for a week here in a sea view room ( some are obstructed so be clear that you want a full sea view) which allowed us watch the sun go down every evening from our balcony. Staff were professional, friendly and easy going. Room was funky, AC worked fine and we loved the Greek toiletries. Breakfast room had fab views and food was fresh and tasty. Constantly refreshed by Elena and Maggie who were working for the Summer from a Swiss Hotel school. The town is on your door step which is so handy after being out at night. The pool area with the lovely Maria was relaxing. Anna and her team on the front desk always had a smile! Grounds of hotel could be better kept as it had plastic bags and bottles about. Hotel is pricy but the entire island is. We hope to get back there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Mykonos Theoxenia we would like to thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays at our hotel and for sharing your comment online.

It gives us pleasure hearing that you really enjoyed your stay here and that you admired the sea view room that allowed you to watch the sun go down every evening from your balcony. We are happy you found our staff pleasant, professional and friendly, the food on offer fresh and tasty, the pool area relaxing, and the fact that the town was basically on your doorstep, truly welcoming. Thank you for your comment regarding the grounds, and we will be more attentive in the future. However do bear in mind that the constant winds in Mykonos keep bringing rubbish into the hotel from outside, and it seems that our picking these up 3-4 times a day is not enough!!

It was our pleasure accommodating you and we also hope to see you back at the Mykonos Theoxenia or one of our other beautiful Louis Hotels in the near future!

Yours faithfully

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    40
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
124
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

we stayed for 7 nights and it really is a wonderful place. made to feel welcome and the pool area is one of the best i have ever seen. The town is only 5 minutes away and that is an experience on its own in the evening.. I have stopped in many places in Europe and this is by far the best
credit where credit is due ............excellent

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Let us show you our appreciation by thanking you for having decided to spend your holidays at the Mykonos Theoxenia and for posting a review online. It makes us happy seeing that you found our hotel a wonderful place, that you felt welcome, the location perfect - only 5 min away from town - and that you enjoyed the pool area, calling it one of the best you have ever seen. We look forward to greeting you back for another excellent stay!

Yours truly

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We are staying here for 4 nights , the room is small but its view is good , air condition is not working perfect but its ok the breakfast is great and the pool area is also great , access to the town , beaches and restuarant is good and simple and totaly i suggest this hotel if u want to spend your time in mykonos ;)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for deciding to stay at the Mykonos Theoxenia and for taking the time to share your experience online. We are happy to hear that you were enjoying the stunning views, the great breakfast at our hotel, the nice pool and the fact that from here, you had easy access to the town, beaches and restaurants. Thank you for recommending us and we hope that we can see you again here, maybe next time even in sunny Cyprus!

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It is beyond amazing at this hotel. The rate was reasonable, the rooms are all great and large. The best part was the staff. They were all so nice, its hard to describe how welcome you feel. They all learn your name and room number, make everything easy, and are overly accommodating. I will only stay at this hotel moving forward. The found me scooters, brought me coffees, got me a private room to use for a conference call I had to do... It was above and beyond. I can't wait to be back! best, Matthew

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks to you for having chosen to stay at the Louis Mykonos Theoxenia and for leaving such a charming comment online. What better review could we receive! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you truly appreciated the great and large room, the fabulous service provided by our amazing staff, and the fact that you felt welcomed straightaway. We feel honored when reading that you will only stay at our hotel moving forward. We cannot wait to greet you back for another exceptional break!

Kindly yours

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel's location was perfect, just outside the town. i was stunned by the magnificent service. It was just fantastic. The minute we arrived by the sea ferry, the hotel manager himself picked us up from the port for free. Within minutes we were in the room. The service then just kept getting better. The staff were always helpful form the reception to the pool staff. With a very reasonable price, I did not expect such a wonderful experience. I definitely recommend anyone as it is so close to the town, yet you can escape all the noise and be in a wonderful tranquil place. The pool area and the food were as good as the service. Our flight was at 6:00pm the last day and we requested a late check out, and since our room was booked after, the hotel gave us another room to put our stuff and shower and change so we were able to swim even in our last day, which is another example of how accommodating they were. I would definitely go back and thank everyone involved for this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Louis Mykonos Theoxenia as your holiday destination and for being so kind to put a lovely review on Tripadvisor.

It is a real pleasure to read your positive review, in particular that you liked the location of the hotel, the magnificent service by our helpful staff including the management, as well as the great pool area. Further, we are glad you admired the tasty food and that the hotel's facilities truly exceeded your expectations.

Many thanks to you for highly praising our hotel and we are looking forward to your next arrival for another wonderful experience!

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Have just returned from our 6th consecutive year staying at this hotel and it continues to exceed all expectations. The fact that the hotel has such a high volume of repeat visitors speaks volumes about its quality.

The Theoxenia simply has so many positives: great central location; staff who willing are proactive and go that extra mile to make your stay special; cool decor and well maintained rooms / services; ample parking (which is pretty much unique in Mykonos Town, as any visitor will tell you that parking is virtually impossible).

For me, the staff make the hotel. All the individuals you meet at the Theoxenia - be they on Reception, lifeguards, breakfast staff, poolside assistants, etc - are high quality individals. Always friendly; keen to give you suggestions/ respond with recommendations. Essentially have all the advantages of a personalised services that you'd expect in a small boutique hotel. Also worth noting the the management at the hotel are highly visible and approachable. We've never yet, in the six years of staying, had a concern to raise but I have the feeling that should an issue arise, it would be resolved swiftly following prompt management intervention.

In summary: I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Choosing a premium hotel to stay in during a holiday in Mykonos is not easy and not cheap - but with the Theoxenia, it would be hard to be disappointed by the consistent high quality of service you'll receive from a hotel that simply ticks all the boxes!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear loyal guest,

Let us show you our gratitude by thanking you for staying at the Louis Mykonos Theoxenia and for taking the time to write a charming comment on Tripadvisor.

For us, reading that you once again had a great holiday experience in the hotel is a great reward and we are thankful to you for appreciating our friendly service and the hotel's facilities, as well as the nicely decorated and well-maintained rooms. Also, thank you for highly praising our wonderful and courteous staff including the management, who are always making sure that everything is perfect for our guests! Rest assured that your warm words will be shared with those concerned.

Thank you once again for recommending our hotel and for your gorgeous review. We are already looking forward to having you as a valued guest at our hotel once again, soon!

Kindly yours

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was our 4th or 5th visit to this hotel, so we clearly have enjoyed it in the past. This year was pretty much the same as previous years, the service was ok, facilities are generally good and rooms are nicely decorated and kept clean.
However, saing all of this, I do not think we will be back. I just do not think the price they charge is quite matched with the product any more. For this price I would expect a perfect service, and this was unfortunately not that. Often had to wait a very long time for service and then orders were regularly taken incorrectly. Felt a bit like luck of the draw depending on which member of staff you got on the day. Wifi is now available everywhere, but it is still not really easy to use and certainly not fast. Quality of the food was also pretty variable, breakfast still good, but lunches really not. And the pool is still not heated, which makes is unpleasant to swim, especially when it is windy (which it often is on the island).
This is still probably the best option in Mykonos if you want to be close to town, but may be worth looking a bit further out if you want consistently good service you would expect when you pay these sort of prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Mykonos Theoxenia, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear loyal guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Louis Mykonos Theoxenia once again and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to read that you liked the hotel's facilities, the nicely decorated rooms and the overall cleanliness. Also, thank you for considering our hotel best location in Mykonos. However, we highly regret the fact that the service provided to you did not go beyond your expectations and that sometimes, your orders were taken incorrectly. We will definitely address your remarks to everyone to make sure that our high-standards will be maintained. Also, we would like to assure you that, following your comment about lunch; our Executive Chef has been to the hotel for a follow -up on our standards. We expect an improvement on that matter instantly.

Thank you once again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel or to one of our other beautiful Louis Hotels!

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mykonos Theoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Theoxenia

Address: Kato Mili, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mykonos Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mykonos Theoxenia 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mykonos Theoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Theoxenia Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Town Theoxenia
Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos Theoxenia Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos Theoxenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.