We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I Wanted and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alkyon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alkyon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 84 hotels in Mykonos Town
paris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything I Wanted and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked Alkyon Hotel last May and it was the best decision.

The Room
The room was clean and very spacious for the 3 of us. It had a balcony/sitting area which allowed us to enjoy the unobstructed sea breeze and view. Wifi was also accessible from the rooms. I am usually very particular about hotel bathrooms - the bathroom was clean and simply but beautifully designed. I particular enjoyed having a tub to soak in after a long day.

The Service
Service was impeccable - from the pickup at the port to our check out, everything went smoothly. We were given great advice and help throughout our stay with regards to food/drinks/directions. The people there made it a very pleasant and comfortable vacation.

The Amenities
The amenities available are basic. But the view from the pool is to die for. The hotel is located above the town area so it offers totally unobstructed view of the sunset. It was so beautiful! I would stay there for the view alone. Breakfast was hearty and yummy! Thumbs up for not neglecting the spread!

The Location
Takes about 10-20 mins walk to the main town and we got lost quite a bit - I enjoyed the walk though!

Room Tip: Find one facing the pool/town for a great view of the town and sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    73
    15
    5
    11
See reviews for
43
204
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Briercliffe
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

So this was our fourth trip back to the Alkyon and it just keeps on getting better.

Following a refurb last year this hotel now feels and looks much swisher. For us, this hotel has one of the best views across Mykonos for sunsets, yet is positioned beside a (steep!) footpath so you are in the centre of town within 5/10mins.

Add to this comfy beds, lovely staff and reasonable prices I would recommend the Alkyon to anyone wanting to visit Mykonos. The only negative is the walk/climb back up from town, but this is the price you pay for a stunning view.

And now they're serving cocktails this place just got a whole lot better! The mojito is superb!!

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Request a room on the front, underneath the pool facing over the Mykonos town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with wonderful views....they come at a cost of a slog up hill! great pool and super clean room. breakfast dull....but think this is common to many hotels here. try to get a riom with a view. october surprisingly warm with many places still open.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Whoever assumes Mykonos is only all about partying, needs to stay at Mykonos Town.

Mykonos town is kinda the central place to stay. The island is very small and no beach is further than around a 30 min -40min drive. Mykonos town is like a welcome change from the party beaches of Paradise etc. However, the town itself is a quaint lil town, overrun by tourists and a pain to find parking or even peaceful silence.

Alkyon Hotel was perfectly located. Sophia was a pleasure to be with. Always smiling and cheerful and ready to go out of her way to make sure you are comfortable.

The sunset here was spectacular. The pool is more like for a namesake but it does its job. The place has a serene calm around it which is perfect after a long night of partying.

As people have complained about the 15min hike from the town to the place, which is justified but its worth it. Also, due to it being located kinda on the outskirts of the town, you dont face any traffic when you decide to head out towards the other beaches.

Pros: Sunset & a Peaceful setting
Cons: The hike gets irritating

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivalta di Torino, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We selected Alkyon hotel because of all the excellent reviews and they were all right on the mark. This is a terrific place to stay in Mykonos town, with perfect hosts. Sophia and her team are wonderful at making you feel at home straight away and they provide a nice atmosphere to relax and enjoy Mykonos.The room was spotless, the price was excellent, and the location was great. Thanks for a super stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our experience was excellent from start to finish. Pick up and return to the port was seamless. The property is beautifully and in excellent condition. Family owned and operated. Wonderful view and easy walk to the old town. A note of clarification that although the hotel description says coffee in the lobby, it is not clear that there is a charge for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urdorf, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Alkyon for a week in October and I can't wait to go back. The hotel itself is very good value for money.The rooms are clean, spacious and modern. The breakfast is delightful and the swimming pool is a good size. The location in my opinion is really good. It is very close to Mykonos town where you can go on foot or hire a quad bike.It is on the top pf the hill where you have the opportunity of the stunning views that you see in their online web site.The staff there is beyond professional - they made us feel like we were at home. They looked after us so well.Thanks Sophia & family!I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering a holiday in Mykonos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Mykonos, Greece
Address: Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#16 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#19 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alkyon Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alkyon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.