We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quiet stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alkyon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alkyon Hotel to your Saves list
Alkyon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful quiet stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with wonderful views....they come at a cost of a slog up hill! great pool and super clean room. breakfast dull....but think this is common to many hotels here. try to get a riom with a view. october surprisingly warm with many places still open.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    105
    23
    6
    13
See reviews for
53
263
26
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Whoever assumes Mykonos is only all about partying, needs to stay at Mykonos Town.

Mykonos town is kinda the central place to stay. The island is very small and no beach is further than around a 30 min -40min drive. Mykonos town is like a welcome change from the party beaches of Paradise etc. However, the town itself is a quaint lil town, overrun by tourists and a pain to find parking or even peaceful silence.

Alkyon Hotel was perfectly located. Sophia was a pleasure to be with. Always smiling and cheerful and ready to go out of her way to make sure you are comfortable.

The sunset here was spectacular. The pool is more like for a namesake but it does its job. The place has a serene calm around it which is perfect after a long night of partying.

As people have complained about the 15min hike from the town to the place, which is justified but its worth it. Also, due to it being located kinda on the outskirts of the town, you dont face any traffic when you decide to head out towards the other beaches.

Pros: Sunset & a Peaceful setting
Cons: The hike gets irritating

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivalta di Torino, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We selected Alkyon hotel because of all the excellent reviews and they were all right on the mark. This is a terrific place to stay in Mykonos town, with perfect hosts. Sophia and her team are wonderful at making you feel at home straight away and they provide a nice atmosphere to relax and enjoy Mykonos.The room was spotless, the price was excellent, and the location was great. Thanks for a super stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our experience was excellent from start to finish. Pick up and return to the port was seamless. The property is beautifully and in excellent condition. Family owned and operated. Wonderful view and easy walk to the old town. A note of clarification that although the hotel description says coffee in the lobby, it is not clear that there is a charge for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urdorf, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Alkyon for a week in October and I can't wait to go back. The hotel itself is very good value for money.The rooms are clean, spacious and modern. The breakfast is delightful and the swimming pool is a good size. The location in my opinion is really good. It is very close to Mykonos town where you can go on foot or hire a quad bike.It is on the top pf the hill where you have the opportunity of the stunning views that you see in their online web site.The staff there is beyond professional - they made us feel like we were at home. They looked after us so well.Thanks Sophia & family!I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering a holiday in Mykonos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I went in this hotel on my own in the middle of August when it was packed of people and I enjoyed it, even the island was full.The hotel was really nice and refurbished with nice rooms and pool.I was picked up from the port coming from Paros and driven directly to the hotel by the hotel's bus.My room was beautiful and clean with a nice balcony where I could see the sunset and the port.Sofia the front desk lady was very polite and friendly to me.She helped me by giving me a local map, explain me how to get around and organising an ATV to drive and see all these that she advised me.I will be back in this hotel and I will recommend it to all my friends!I had the best time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The view is stunning and the people who run this place are honest, nice and kind. The rooms are simple so don't expect 5 star amenities but they have a really comfy double bed ( not two singles pushed together but a proper double bed) with side tables and lamps, a writing desk, television, AC ( runs well), safe and refrigerator in all rooms. Plus, the wardrobe space is huge. The bathroom had a tub and was very clean. The entire property was very clean and well maintained. The breakfast was good and rather extensive with mushrooms, bread, pastries, eggs, sausages, cold cuts, tea coffee, juice, cereal etc.
We were picked up from the airport and dropped back. The pool and the views from there are just breath-taking. The young lad at the pool was courteous and even made a nice fruit smoothie for me based on my preferences. We often chose to sit and sun bathe instead of strolling into Mykonos town. The walk into Mykonos town took about 15 minutes. The first time we went, we walked the wrong way. Then we took another path (2 minutes extra) and that way was beautiful, clean with nice cobbled streets. We took the bus to the beaches and to other places and Sophia was always so helpful with the information. We can't wait to head back next year. I was actually sorry that we were leaving so soon.

Room Tip: The sea view ones have stunning views. In case you don't get those, you can relax in the common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alkyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyon Hotel

Address: Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#17 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alkyon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Alkyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyon Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alkyon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.