We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jason

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jason to your Saves list
Hotel Jason
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Glastros PO BOX 323, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful family run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I first went to the Hotel Jason with my husband in 2012 and fell in love with it immediately, returning in June 2013. Run by Mr Jason and his family, this wonderful little hotel is situated mid way between Mykonos town and Platios Gialos, with approx a 20 min walk or 5 min bus ride to either. The location is ideal for anyone wanting somewhere quieter than those right in the town or beach resort but is still easily accessible to both.
The hotel is immaculately kept, with smart, fresh and modern decor throughout. Rooms are studios or apartments, all well furnished with air-con and the apartments with power shower and kitchenette. There is a lovely, good sized swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers for the hotel capacity and adjacent reception where the family serve food snacks and drinks.
Both years we have been here we have made good friends with other residents, who we are still in touch with-the hotel has in excess of a 50% repeat customer base of mainly couples (gay and straight) of ages from mid 20's to retired and the atmosphere is always friendly amongst guests
The family themselves are absolutely charming and pander to guests every needs, picking you up personally from the airport if you travel independently and making your stay feel homely and special
I love this hotel and would strongly recommend it to anyone wanting a peaceful, friendly hotel just out of town, at a very good price for the quality of the property. Whilst rated only 1* officially, this is an old rating and far from reflective of that deserved-it was rated a 3* by Thomson holidays when they went there as part of their "Small & Friendly" program, which is a much more accurate reflection
We will most certainly be returning again
Ian Rumsey & Michael Hall

Room Tip: Go for the apartments... larger with power shower and kitchenette. Also please note from the review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    30
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
54
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Jason is clean, good honest accommodation, family run, convenient for the local bus service and plush for Greece !

Rooms are well equipped, modern and private, each benefitting from personal outside space and a small veranda or balcony, linen and towels are changed daily even on a Sunday and the family atmosphere is present but in no way overbearing, it is certainly up there in the rating stakes and is amazing value for money, the family offer transport too and from the airport, will find you anything you need with a "no big deal" attitude and provide a chilled atmosphere in which to soak up the sun, location wise you do have a 20 minute walk to the beach - easy going down, a little bit of a slog coming back - but the bus will pick you up providing its not full, a top tip would be to flag a taxi - but this is only possible if you wait outside a taverna or restaurant on the main road, a little scary at times as the road is somewhat crazy and not particularly walker friendly.

On the whole a good base, perfect if you want to escape the mania of Mykonos town and sit perfectly in the middle of the island, my only criticism's would be that breakfast could be a little more comprehensive - however as it is self catering this is easily fixed with a box of cereals in your room, and that the poolside bar should be opened up in the evenings, if you just fancy a drink whilst your wife or partner is getting dolled up - there really isnt anywhere to go and catch up with your neighbours/other guests !

Thanks for everything, recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Not far walk into town they say 3 km I think it's less , beautiful people & service has everything you want pool , value for money , yesssss it has a hair dryer , they have bfast & snacks yummmmm enjoy thanks Carla.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We only stayed here for one night as we had travelled from Santorini. I had only booked this hotel because it ranked well on bookings.com and was inexpensive compared to what else I could fined. From the get go I was extremely pleased with the service I was provided. I firstly emailed the hotel to see the easiest way to get to the port and they did a complimentary pick up service, so they were waiting for us when we arrived. While driving into the hotel, Maria pointed out the main points in which would be useful for us. On arrival, we noted the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the great pool area. Our room was very spacious and extremely clean.

There is a bus stop just 100m down the road, so it is really easy to get into town. The drive is about 5-10 minutes, so you could always walk but we were feeling lazy.there is a couple of restaurants around, but only a couple, so you have the option of eating here or back in town. For what we needed in a room, the extremely helpful service, complimentary pickup/drop off, this hotel is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Jason was great. No complaints. The family that owns and operates Hotel Jason are wonderful. kind, helpful, accommodating and informative. Mykonos lodging is a little more expensive than many of the islands, but this applies to the entire island, not just one hotel. Our stay was about US$26-28 per person, in late September after the season, so still not a bad deal. Hotel Jason has an adequate sized pool, large poolside patio with chairs and umbrellas, and captures the ambiance of the Greek Islands with buildings of whitewashed finish and blue trim.
Our room was clean and spacious, with an outdoor shaded patio with table and chairs. The patio was surrounded by a garden of fig and other fruit trees and made for a quiet, relaxing place to hang out while back at the room. Hotel Jason is not right in the heart of Mykonos (so it is quiet, and the price doesn't break your heart), however it is easy to get to. Being up the hill a bit from town on a two lane curvy road, the bus might be a preference over walking. Their is bus stop located right outside of Hotel Jason, appropriately referred to by the same name. So leaving Mykonos downtown to return, you simply catch the bus to Hotel Jason, only a few minutes away.
Just a short walk down the hill from Hotel Jason – about the equivalent of ” a block” or less, is a little store which has fresh baked pastries filled with feta or spinach in the morning. Add some coffee or tea, figs off the tree, outside the room on the patio, and another great day in Mykonos is on the way.
Returning to Mykonos, it is very likely we would just simply look here first for our next stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms with the door opening right onto the pool area, and there are rooms behind those wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have visited The Jason Hotel many times before and each time it gets better and better. This year there have been more improvements to rooms, double glazing and new patio doors, and new beds around the pool. I loved the new enormous cushions in the poolside cabana. There is a Wifi connection available but at the moment it does not reach all rooms well. Hopefully by the next time I go it will be available throughout. The out of town location makes for a peaceful environment, waking up and lying around the pool listening to birdsong alongside the beautiful garden is my idea of heaven, there is some noise from scooters on the road but the double glazing has definately helped with this. With the bus stop right outside the front door, travel to Mykonos town or Platys Yialos is easy although it is possible to walk into town, Playts Yialos, Ornos and all the way to Paranga along the coastal path. The Hotel is not next to a beach but there are several not too far away and with transport pretty easy this is not a problem. In low season taxis are very easy to get and only €5 from town at night.
The rooms are comfortable,spotless and cleaned daily by the amazing cleaner for which nothing is too much trouble. All of the rooms are subtly different. Some have patios, some have balcony, some have shared patio onto the garden. In the bathrooms, some have full size baths and shower while others have sit in baths with shower and others have a shower cubicle. The family are very welcoming and pay excellent attention to every detail. Flat screen TVs and small fridge in all rooms and hairdryer in the bathroom. Not all rooms are adapted for self catering but a kettle can by supplied if you need one. No need to worry about airport transfer, that is all done by the family and staff at the hotel and also offer extensive advice and help about trips, where to go, where to eat, car hire etc. While we were there a member of our party had a birthday and the family and the lovely Fotini, a gorgeous new addition to the staff this year, went all out to make the poolside celebrations go with a bang and make it a very special day. Food at the hotel is simple but delicious. Breakfast is a continental spread of good choice and the Greek and fruit salads available during the day are very well done. There are no evening meals but there is an exceptional Italian restaurant just down the road who do delivery for free so if you don't fancy going out at night I would highly recommend ordering in. Many local restaurants offer this service.
I have been invited to stay at other hotels on Mykonos, but quite frankly I love the HotelJason and everyone there too much to even condiser that option!

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with the Hotel. They will find you a suitable room for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

It's a good place to stay for vacation. They even provided free transport when we arrive and send us to the airport for free. nice swimming pool and the room also nice. One thing not really good about this hotel it's the wifi connection. There no connection in our room. We did ask the staff ad the staff said it is still under repair.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jason

Address: Glastros PO BOX 323, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Jason 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jason is situated in Glastros area, 1.8km from the city of Mykonos and 1.2km from the beaches ''Psarou'' and ''Platis Gialos''. With a peaceful atmosphere, warm Greek welcome and all the comforts you need to make your stay relaxing; The Jason is the ideal choice for your summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jason Hotel Mykonos
Hotel Jason Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jason, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.