We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of M-eating

M-eating
Kalogera 10, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
+30 2289 078550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 176 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $62
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Mediterranean & local kitchen
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unique food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ignore the negative comments- Mykonos is an expensive place to eat so you need to expect to be parting with 50 euros per person for a two course meal with wine, on average.
So, what you need to find is a restaurant that is doing something different, creative and working a bit harder for your cash. M-eating does that: really tasty, innovative dishes that are a talking point. The chef has passion, he clearly loves what he does.
Don't come here if you want "Greek taverna". Come here if you want food which is memorable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    831
    240
    61
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine in Mykonos town centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We took a short break with friends to Mykonos and visited this restaurant twice.
The food is a very high quality, the service good and attentive and friendly, the atmosphere really pleasant and the prices very reasonable.
Both times we went we had to reserve as the restaurant seems to be busy from opening to closing time.
If you are in Mykonos, it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“No wonders it is n1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Staff was very friendly.
The food was incredible. It's Greek food with a modern twist. I had fish and it was fresh and perfectly cooked. Very tasty.
I would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I have to agree with the previous 2 reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

After reading such good reviews you have high expectations but unfortunately M-eating did not live upto it's reputation. It wasn't so much that it was bad it wasn't good either. I have marinated ku rooms to start and my boyfriend had a Greek salad. The salad was fine as was my mushrooms but the just tasted like fired mushrooms that I would make at home with a smear of tomato ketchup. I then had the chicken leg stuffed with sun dried tomato and my boyfriend had the sea bass. After ordering the chicken i was told that there was a 30 min wait for this which we said was fine because this would mean that it would be cooked slower and therefore more tender. However it was pretty chewy and very bland. I should also mention that both mine and my boyfriends dishes were served with exactly the same accompaniments.... Where is the thought or imagination? One good thing that came out of our visit at Meating was the that we spotted a very busy Guros (Greek kebab) take away across from Meating which inspired us to go their the following night which for €2.70 each was excellent VFM. Overall it was an ok experience, the service was good but the chef really needs to step up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M-eating M, Owner at M-eating, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Madam,

First of all we thank you for your review, but Sakis (the opposite grill house, you mentioned) thanks you more i guess...
Fortunately for us we don't have common plates, we try to serve something different to our customers and we don't base on safe choices as it is a 'souvlaki', a plain stake and chicken oriental. We can not satisfy all our customers with our choices, but till now we've managed to have the 93% of our clients delightfull.

Thank you,
Menardos Panayiotis, chef&owner of m-eating restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“dissapointing after last year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Couldn't wait to eat here again after loving it so much last year.
To say we were dissapointed is an understatement.My wife had the ravioli with prawns and a crawfish and lemon sauce and i had the sea bass. We shared a starter which was the dips with pitta bread which was beetroot ,mushy peas and something else which was not a good choice. Last year the menu was so much better and better ingrediants.
The chef came round the tables after the meal and didn't like our comments at all. (Pasta sauce bland and better menu last year. We had two fantastic meals last year which was chicken breats stuffed with sun dried tomatoes and cheese,this year its chicken leg and my wife hasd swordfish steak last year and the chef said they dont do this dish anymore as people dont know how to eat it!
We actually eat swordfis steaks twice on the beach in Ornos and was much better value than m-eating.
There are much better restaurants in mykonos now so dont waste your money here.this restaurant does not deserve its no1 status anymore.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M-eating M, Owner at M-eating, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for coming again in our restaurant.
First of all, you mentioned our last year plate, the swordfish. If we stick to a menu wihtout changes, then our customers will get bored with it. I told you that the swordfish is a dry fish and if you don't know that, it's not going to like you. That's because i changed this plate. You took the seabass which i think by my professional opinion it's more tasty and moisty .
The ingredients have the same quality like last year, because we're not a tourist trap and we want to become better and better every year.
Also, you wrote that i was not happy with your opinion. You expected to be happy when one of my dishes didn' t like to a customer? Of course i'm not happy and that's why i always go out to the tables to greet my customers and ask if there is any problem with their dinner.

Thank you,
Menardos Panayiotis,chef&owner of m-eating restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M-eating also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Platys Gialos, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos, Cyclades
 

Been to M-eating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M-eating, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.