We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing holiday...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elysium Hotel to your Saves list
Elysium Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Area, School of Fine Arts | PO Box 84600, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another amazing holiday...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from the Elysium after my second stay. Amazing. This year we took two friends and we are all going again next year. Check in was efficient and helpful. The basic rooms are clean and adequate with the majority having superb views across Mykonos town, harbour and bay. You can pay extra for larger rooms/suites if you wish. Rooms are cleaned and tidied every morning so much so that rooms look almost 'check in' standard each day!
The staff are super friendly! Any guest who says otherwise are probably pretty difficult guests!
Each night after the amazing sunset, the hotel hosts a small cabaret that people from other hotels attend. From there people walk down 'the hill' to town for dinner and then partying at the various bars.
The breakfast is very good with a huge selection of hot/cold, sweet/savoury, juice, fruit, unlimited coffee. There is no restaurant but delicious freshly made light lunches are available in the afternoons.
Everywhere was clean and well maintained.
Mykonos in May is great. It's lively but not too busy. August and high season is too busy for us. The narrow streets are bustling with tourists from the hotels and the many cruise ships that stop over some of which have as many as 4000 passengers on board!
I thoroughly recommend the Elysium. I'll be there in May 2014!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    49
    32
    25
    35
See reviews for
1
78
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Elysium is one adorable hotel! Very classical and worth every penny. Everybody was very funny and the service was perfect. The maisonette is amazing and all hotel structure is good. The particular beach is spetacular. The water is very green and clean. It was one fantastic stay. I really wanna come back there. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

After 8 days hectic working schedule, I finally got a break and decided to go at this hotel for holidays. One of my friends recommended me this place due to its sandy beaches and diverse and intense nightlife. The property is exactly the same as he told us- very beautiful, very clean and appointed with all the modern amenities. From check in to check out, the way all the staff members pampered us- was amazing. They are very friendly and I really felt at home there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you are happy to be ripped off by rude obnoxious bar staff, be over charged to stay in tacky, small basic rooms then this place is for you!
Elysium demonstrates all that is cynical about Gay tourism. No quality service, the hotel design is something from a bad 80's soap opera. The only thing they want is you money and offer very little in return.
I would not come back even if they paid me to! If being a Gay Cliché is your thing, you will love this place!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mykonos Town hotels

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is my second stay at the Elysium, it was great coming back here. This hotel now dubs itself 'straight friendly' but is essentially a hotel that caters for gay men. Very comfortable, with beautiful views from most rooms and from the pool and bar area, really nice pool and jacuzzi (but slightly odd hot tub), really helpful & attentive service from friendly staff. I really can't fault the service at all. Food from the hotel restaurant is excellent, pity they stop serving at 5 pm. Rooms are a little on the small side and en suite bathrooms could do with some modernisation. I really enjoyed the camaraderie with other hotel guests and drinking at the Sunset Bar at sunset. Both times I stayed here were in September, I understand the hotel is quieter at this time of year, and maybe a little too busy and crazy in high season when they host party and club nights by the pool.

Room Tip: * Book directly at the hotel's website. More likely to get a better price or discount if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

What can say!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

wonderful location with panoramic view of mykonos downtown and the amazing sunset!
only 3 minutes walking distance from center.

Rooms clean and simply - the bathroom are a littel bit small.

Friendly and good services provided

During the sunset the most amaizing aperitif you can have on the island with a sonderful drag queen show and good cocktails.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Having had an enjoyable stay at Elysium four years ago, we decided to book it again on this trip to book-end some time in Santorini. This trip turned into a nightmare stay at Elysium.
Now maybe we booked the wrong weekends, but the venue is now more interested in making loads of making from the wider gay crowd on the island and gay cruises than it is looking after its own residents. Both weekends held a club event, which meant that for two days of our five nights at the hotel the pool area was closed to residents while they set up huge rigs and lighting structures. Our main point for staying there was to be able to relax around the pool and drink cocktails.
There had been no advance notice of these events even though we booked months ago (i'll go into that later). There was no offer of any kind of compensation or what would have been nice was a complimentary bus to get residents to the beach to make up for the inconvenience. Yes, as residents we were given entry to the events but we weren't interested and we also had to wear the silly armbands just to get back into the hotel and to our rooms.
With regard to price, we had booked direct with thie hotel many months ago. We then received an email from them cancelling our reservations claiming they had been under cyber atack. It transiped (as suspected) that this was not the case but was in factg due to them increasing their prices but not being willing to honour their existing bookings. We had to rebook with bookings.com.
While the reception staff were understanding of our complaints on these the underlying attitude was "it's not my problem" as they appeared powerless to act.
In general, the staff are great. Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and lunch menus are basic. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms adequate.
Next time we return to Mykonos, I think we'll be looking to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere cheaper and go for the sunset drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Area, School of Fine Arts | PO Box 84600, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elysium Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Hotel Mykonos Town
Elysium Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.