We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay at the Elysium” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysium Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elysium Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Area, School of Fine Arts | PO Box 84600, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 83 hotels in Mykonos Town
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another good stay at the Elysium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is my second stay at the Elysium, it was great coming back here. This hotel now dubs itself 'straight friendly' but is essentially a hotel that caters for gay men. Very comfortable, with beautiful views from most rooms and from the pool and bar area, really nice pool and jacuzzi (but slightly odd hot tub), really helpful & attentive service from friendly staff. I really can't fault the service at all. Food from the hotel restaurant is excellent, pity they stop serving at 5 pm. Rooms are a little on the small side and en suite bathrooms could do with some modernisation. I really enjoyed the camaraderie with other hotel guests and drinking at the Sunset Bar at sunset. Both times I stayed here were in September, I understand the hotel is quieter at this time of year, and maybe a little too busy and crazy in high season when they host party and club nights by the pool.

Room Tip: * Book directly at the hotel's website. More likely to get a better price or discount if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    28
    20
    33
See reviews for
Families
0
68
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

What can say!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

wonderful location with panoramic view of mykonos downtown and the amazing sunset!
only 3 minutes walking distance from center.

Rooms clean and simply - the bathroom are a littel bit small.

Friendly and good services provided

During the sunset the most amaizing aperitif you can have on the island with a sonderful drag queen show and good cocktails.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Having had an enjoyable stay at Elysium four years ago, we decided to book it again on this trip to book-end some time in Santorini. This trip turned into a nightmare stay at Elysium.
Now maybe we booked the wrong weekends, but the venue is now more interested in making loads of making from the wider gay crowd on the island and gay cruises than it is looking after its own residents. Both weekends held a club event, which meant that for two days of our five nights at the hotel the pool area was closed to residents while they set up huge rigs and lighting structures. Our main point for staying there was to be able to relax around the pool and drink cocktails.
There had been no advance notice of these events even though we booked months ago (i'll go into that later). There was no offer of any kind of compensation or what would have been nice was a complimentary bus to get residents to the beach to make up for the inconvenience. Yes, as residents we were given entry to the events but we weren't interested and we also had to wear the silly armbands just to get back into the hotel and to our rooms.
With regard to price, we had booked direct with thie hotel many months ago. We then received an email from them cancelling our reservations claiming they had been under cyber atack. It transiped (as suspected) that this was not the case but was in factg due to them increasing their prices but not being willing to honour their existing bookings. We had to rebook with bookings.com.
While the reception staff were understanding of our complaints on these the underlying attitude was "it's not my problem" as they appeared powerless to act.
In general, the staff are great. Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and lunch menus are basic. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms adequate.
Next time we return to Mykonos, I think we'll be looking to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere cheaper and go for the sunset drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just spent a very enjoyable and relaxing week at the Elysium Hotel. The outstanding features of the hotel include: (a) the superb staff who are without exception friendly and provide perfect service (including reception, bar staff, breakfast staff, maids); (b) the excellent facilities (rooms, pool, restaurant, bar); (c) the views over Mykonos, especially at sunset.
We had a standard superior room, which was large with a great bathroom and which contained a fridge, flat screen tv and computer.
The only negatives were: (a) the incredibly expensive bar prices which were higher than in any other bar or restaurant we found in Mykonos; (b) no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms; (c) really really slow internet access.
Overall, the hotel was excellent and we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Elysium Hotel is an incredible place for the views, the meals, the staff, and the accomodation sits at the highest point overlooking old town Mykonos. The rooms allow for natural sea air, so they are very modern in decoration, but practical in design.

Room Tip: The rooms furthest from the pool would be the quietest. In high season, at sunset the party begins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This was our second time at Elysium. We stayed there for 12 nights and when we get back next summer we will stay there again. The staff is great, always welcoming, a big smile and with the ambition to really take care of you. The atmosphere is relaxed and I love to stay at the pool in the late afternoon after the beach. The only thing that needs to be improved is the gym, it needs air condition.
Tobbe from Sweden

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Didn't stay at this hotel, and so glad we didn't. We'd heard about the Happy Hour 2 for 1 cocktails at the sunset bar so we decided to go into town and then take the big walk up the hill to the Elysium (or should we call it the ASYLUM). Great view of the harbour, but you can get this view for free elsewhere.The bar staff, rude and obnoxious knew how to work the punters. We asked if it was Happy hour and they wouldn't give us a straight answer, so we had to assume. After 3 lousy cocktails each, we were presented with a bill of 90 euro!!! 15 euro each for dreadful cocktails in plastic glasses. We complained to the manager who just shrugged his shoulders and couldn't care less. I would just like everyone who visits this place to BEWARE of the game playing from the bar staff, I would actually advise you to go elsewhere, you'd have a much better time than wasting your money on this tired old joint who heavily rely on and abuse the pink pound.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Area, School of Fine Arts | PO Box 84600, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 83 hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elysium Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Hotel Mykonos Town
Elysium Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.