We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elysium Nightmare” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elysium Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elysium Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Area, School of Fine Arts | PO Box 84600, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 86 hotels in Mykonos Town
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Elysium Nightmare”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Having had an enjoyable stay at Elysium four years ago, we decided to book it again on this trip to book-end some time in Santorini. This trip turned into a nightmare stay at Elysium.
Now maybe we booked the wrong weekends, but the venue is now more interested in making loads of making from the wider gay crowd on the island and gay cruises than it is looking after its own residents. Both weekends held a club event, which meant that for two days of our five nights at the hotel the pool area was closed to residents while they set up huge rigs and lighting structures. Our main point for staying there was to be able to relax around the pool and drink cocktails.
There had been no advance notice of these events even though we booked months ago (i'll go into that later). There was no offer of any kind of compensation or what would have been nice was a complimentary bus to get residents to the beach to make up for the inconvenience. Yes, as residents we were given entry to the events but we weren't interested and we also had to wear the silly armbands just to get back into the hotel and to our rooms.
With regard to price, we had booked direct with thie hotel many months ago. We then received an email from them cancelling our reservations claiming they had been under cyber atack. It transiped (as suspected) that this was not the case but was in factg due to them increasing their prices but not being willing to honour their existing bookings. We had to rebook with bookings.com.
While the reception staff were understanding of our complaints on these the underlying attitude was "it's not my problem" as they appeared powerless to act.
In general, the staff are great. Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and lunch menus are basic. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms adequate.
Next time we return to Mykonos, I think we'll be looking to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere cheaper and go for the sunset drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    27
    20
    32
See reviews for
Families
0
67
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just spent a very enjoyable and relaxing week at the Elysium Hotel. The outstanding features of the hotel include: (a) the superb staff who are without exception friendly and provide perfect service (including reception, bar staff, breakfast staff, maids); (b) the excellent facilities (rooms, pool, restaurant, bar); (c) the views over Mykonos, especially at sunset.
We had a standard superior room, which was large with a great bathroom and which contained a fridge, flat screen tv and computer.
The only negatives were: (a) the incredibly expensive bar prices which were higher than in any other bar or restaurant we found in Mykonos; (b) no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms; (c) really really slow internet access.
Overall, the hotel was excellent and we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Elysium Hotel is an incredible place for the views, the meals, the staff, and the accomodation sits at the highest point overlooking old town Mykonos. The rooms allow for natural sea air, so they are very modern in decoration, but practical in design.

Room Tip: The rooms furthest from the pool would be the quietest. In high season, at sunset the party begins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This was our second time at Elysium. We stayed there for 12 nights and when we get back next summer we will stay there again. The staff is great, always welcoming, a big smile and with the ambition to really take care of you. The atmosphere is relaxed and I love to stay at the pool in the late afternoon after the beach. The only thing that needs to be improved is the gym, it needs air condition.
Tobbe from Sweden

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Didn't stay at this hotel, and so glad we didn't. We'd heard about the Happy Hour 2 for 1 cocktails at the sunset bar so we decided to go into town and then take the big walk up the hill to the Elysium (or should we call it the ASYLUM). Great view of the harbour, but you can get this view for free elsewhere.The bar staff, rude and obnoxious knew how to work the punters. We asked if it was Happy hour and they wouldn't give us a straight answer, so we had to assume. After 3 lousy cocktails each, we were presented with a bill of 90 euro!!! 15 euro each for dreadful cocktails in plastic glasses. We complained to the manager who just shrugged his shoulders and couldn't care less. I would just like everyone who visits this place to BEWARE of the game playing from the bar staff, I would actually advise you to go elsewhere, you'd have a much better time than wasting your money on this tired old joint who heavily rely on and abuse the pink pound.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very welcoming staff and helpful, Good location with beautiful view, clean room with suitable amenities. Only had breakfast in the hotel and it was good. Pool area is nice and well attended with varieties of food and drinks to be served. Pool gathering (daily between 8pm to 10pm) was nice yet the music at the beginning should be a bit merrier. My friends and myself had a pleasent stay over a weekend and certainly will reccommond the hotel and will be back again in September

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It is very well dohe hotel!!!
Beutiful ambient with a amzing view of Mykonos Town...
Staff are very kind... From cleaning service until barmen...
Terrific Service!!!

Every Noon Time Around 19:30 is amazing to watch sunset and listen cool ambient music until the show start (show time: 20:00 - 22:30)...
Even during the day at the swimming pool are very cool chill-out music (suggest some synthpop or 90's)...

I will rate this hotel EXCELLENT even I had a few small complains...

1st Internet Connection should be better (not reaching all the rooms) and
2nd The Bathroom are too small... (especialy for bear guests)

It is very worth to stay...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Area, School of Fine Arts | PO Box 84600, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 86 hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elysium Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Hotel Mykonos Town
Elysium Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.