We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elysium Hotel to your Saves list
Elysium Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Area, School of Fine Arts | PO Box 84600, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It is very well dohe hotel!!!
Beutiful ambient with a amzing view of Mykonos Town...
Staff are very kind... From cleaning service until barmen...
Terrific Service!!!

Every Noon Time Around 19:30 is amazing to watch sunset and listen cool ambient music until the show start (show time: 20:00 - 22:30)...
Even during the day at the swimming pool are very cool chill-out music (suggest some synthpop or 90's)...

I will rate this hotel EXCELLENT even I had a few small complains...

1st Internet Connection should be better (not reaching all the rooms) and
2nd The Bathroom are too small... (especialy for bear guests)

It is very worth to stay...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    49
    32
    25
    35
See reviews for
1
78
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hersonissos, Greece
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a shame that TA does not let you rate a property as 'Below Average', because that is how I would like to rate it in comparison to gay hotels in general!

The reception area is what you would expect to find in a boutique hotel and makes a wonderful first impression , but then, my room at any rate, completely let the place down. The room is a good size but the furniture is very basic (Mykonian Rustic style!) and not at all stylish, and I would expect a lot better furnishings and decorations at this price and in a gay boutique hotel. A decent comfortable chair would be nice and a coffee table to sit at to go with it, there is plenty of room for it.

There is a fridge but no kettle so you cannot even make a cup of tea in the morning!

I was booked into a ‘standard single’, which appeared to have a double bed but which was actually two singles pushed together (not unusual in Greece!). But what is this? The mattress is as hard as rock, which for me, meant that I got the BEST NIGHT'S sleep (for three nights in a row) that I have had in any hotel in years!

The American breakfast is what you would expect, fresh fruits, yogurt, cereals, cakes and sweet pastries, as well as bacon, scrambled eggs, and little Frankfurter sausages (all of these last three could and should have been kept hotter than they were), plus a selection of cold meats and cheeses.

What a shame then that the fruit juices were not fresh.

The coffee is passable, but as a plus the bread is some of the freshest and crustiest that I have ever had in Greece and you had to cut it yourself. It would have been a crime to toast it!

Only trouble is I have had just as good breakfasts in tourist hotels in Peru and Athens that cost a third of the price!

The location is great for the view and the Elysium appears to be not far from Mykonos Town except that is at the top of a steep hill (the climb up to the School of Fine Arts is not too bad), and if you have dodgy knees then you will have a problem (at a guess I would say that the main age groups that can afford the prices here will also be those that are beginning to show such signs of age!), just like I did. As others have pointed out taxis are as common as hen’s teeth in Mykonos, although when you do get one they are not expensive, but look forward to a wait of over an hour to get a taxi at 1am.

The pool and bar area are nicely laid out, but do allow for the fact, as is usual with Greek web sites, that some of the photos have been ‘Photoshop’d’ to death.

The bar prices are even more expensive than down in Mykonos Town, which bearing in mind the price of the rooms is a bit unfair, a 330ml bottle of beer is 7 euros, a campari and soda is 10 euros. The pool area is crowded at 'Sunset Hour', but most of them are not guests at the hotel.

Up until now I though the worst drag show I had ever seen was in Santiago de Chile, I can now say that the worst drag show ever is at the Elysium. On the first night the main drag artist used the same line twice, and it wasn't funny the first time, and was an old joke when I was young, On the second night she made a very tasteless comment about Kylie Minogue and breast cancer. The main drag artist is apparently in great demand, presumably from people who have never seen a decent drag show in their lives, and is hoping to start getting dates in the UK. I think she shouldn’t get her hopes too high. (Yes Mr. Moderator I spotted the bit you did not like in the first review!).

The Go-go dancers should do just that.....

Avoid rooms on the road side of the hotel, when the sun gets up you will be too, and on a Sunday morning the road is a busy thoroughfare for people on quad bikes and scooters at 6am, although rooms 116 and 117 do have ‘Juliet’ balconies where you act as concierge and watch everyone arriving for the ‘sunset hour’.

Staff are generally young and friendly, reception staff are helpful and informative, I like the idea of staff uniforms but at these prices I would expect them to be wearing proper shorts not sloppy creased up ‘cut off’ track suit bottoms.

A final tip, if you arrive by ferry there is no taxi rank and you will need to call a cab to get one to come for you, the taxi office number is 22890 23700. The hotels Nazos and Zannis are across the road from the Elysium, if you happen to see their courtesy buses at the port, ask them nicely and they might give you a lift! On departure the reception staff could not even get through to the taxi office to call me a cab so they got one of the staff to take me down to the port. At 210 euro a night i would have expected them to offer to pick me up on arrival too!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview and on the first floor, that way you do not get the sun waking you up, and you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I didn't stay at the hotel as it was double the price of equivalent properties. The sunset parties are great, however a beer costs €9 when at the bars in Town is half the price. Stevie at the bar is a real gem and Vanessa the show queen is superb. Worth the extra costs of the drinks. The sunsets are stunning. On viewing the property and rooms friends were staying in I must say for half the price I was getting the same quality and closer to Mykonos Town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Location. Stunning views but too far from the town to walk back. Taxi in Mykonos not easy to come by.

Prices. Exorbitant. This is taking advantage of the pink pound. A beer at bar is €9. Outrageous. Room prices are pricy for what you get. Next time stay at hotel and go to sunset poolside parties which are fun. Vanessa the drag queen is a delight.

Staff. Very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mykonos Town hotels

Rome
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

I was here back in 2008 for one week and came back this year. Superior room very quiet with a breathtaking view over Mykonos Bay. Incredible sunsets. The price for the room is too high for what you get (we're not talking 5 stars but maybe not even 4). But you go to the Elysium to be right in the middle of gay life in Mykonos and that's exactly what you'll get. Elysium sunset parties, every night, attract hundreds of gaymen who meet there before gong down for dinner in one of the many restaurants in town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week in June. What a beautiful hotel, it has everything you could ever wish for, spotlessly clean rooms ( which were cleaned every day ) a beautiful luxury relaxing area around the pool with the most comfortable loungers & chilled music playing throughout the day.( If you are not a beach person then you could not ask for a better pool area to spend your day) The staff were lovely & very friendly & really made our holiday complete as they made us feel so welcome. Buffet breakfast is served from 8am till 11am & it has enough of a a good choice to start your day. The bar serves food from 12 until 5pm & great choices on the menu too! Later on in the evening they host the sunset party which was our highlight of the evening as it's a great way to meet others. The sunset party is fun as it brings together a lot of the other guests & from other hotels & has a great party atmosphere & as the sun goes down the entertainment begins! The view of the Sunset from the hotel i can only describe as breathtaking! We would not wish to stay anywhere else when we visit again. Thank you to all at the Elysium for making our holiday so special. Harry & Christopher

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I spend a week in a standard room at the Elysium and I found my time very enjoyable. The rooms are small, the bathroom incredibly so, but, they do the job and although the bed is quite hard I never had any issues sleeping.
I think the hotel earns it's star value on the quality of the service provided, from the welcome when you arrive to the bar staff and exceptionally friendly and through cleaning staff. If anything I found the poolside bar staff a little overbearing, they are either too attentive or they have been told that someone without an overpriced drink is a missed opportunity.
Complimentary buffet breakfast is very nice. The pool area is lovely as is the communal lounge area.
Many have complained about the hill climb to reach the hotel and I have to say it's not so bad, Mykonos is an island of hills so if you aren't comfortable with working out your leg muscles this may not be the holiday for you.
Unlike some hotel's Elysium does not arrange to pick you up at the airport, but you can get a cab for 10 euro. The hotel did provide us with a lift back to the airport to their credit.
Don't hire your quads via the hotel, the company (if it can be called that) they use are pretty shabby and our quads were barely road worthy, two broke down.
Overall the Elysium is a fine place to stay, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Area, School of Fine Arts | PO Box 84600, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elysium Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Hotel Mykonos Town
Elysium Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.