We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel to your Saves list
Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Tagou, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece (Formerly Mykonos View Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I can't tell you how many Mykonos hotels we researched before finally selecting Mykonos View -- it was my first trip to Mykonos, and the sheer number of available hotels (not to mention the wide range of prices) made the whole process feel bewildering. But I'm so glad we picked Mykonos View. The room was great -- we had a balcony with a view of the ocean, a few steps up the pool (and it's a really nice pool -- if I didn't love the Mykonos beaches I would have been tempted to spend my vacation there!), and a few steps down to Reception and the restaurant where they serve a really great breakfast buffet. It was clean and well-maintained (including a fridge) and felt new. It's only a short walk to the center of town (I timed myself -- 4 minutes walk from the hotel to the Taxi Piazza). (Something I grew to appreciate every night when I'd see the long lines of people waiting for taxis to get back to their far away hotels.) The bus to local beaches stops about 50 meters down the road. The staff was great, especially the young woman who worked reception; she helped us book an inexpensive rental car through their connection (50 Euro/day SmartCar) (and yes it's the cheapest on the island - we checked). And then there's Dmitri the bartender at the pool--charming, nice, and absolutely sexy. One reason we know that we chose well was that we were told more than once by locals, "oh yes, Mykonos View, that's the best." And they'll even do your laundry for you. So anyway, if you're looking for a great place, I'd really recommend this one. (August 2012.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool -- that way you'll have access to the wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    63
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
96
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holon, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Wowww what an amazing vacation...!

First of all, the sevice. we got an amazing service during the seven night that we stayed in mykonos view hotel. the hotel manager, the reception staff, and the legendary bartender- dimitris. they gave us Recommendations about good resturantes, car rental, and even gave us hairdryer immidiatly when we found out that we have a problem with ours.

Second, the pool area and the bar. i read before the trip that the drinks are Ridiculously expensive and that the barmen is not nice. well its Completely nonsense. people has to know how to be friendly even with those who give them service. the view is outstanding even if you compare it to 5 stars hotels in the island.

Location, from one hand, is really colse to the city and the parties (5-7 min walking), On the other hand its a diffcult way back because The hotel is located on a hill. but dont worry, for 35 euro a day you get yourself atv ( 4 wheels).

The only Disadvantage is the room level. we took the cheapest room available so i dont really have any complaint, but, for my wife its was to basic. iam guessing that its all depands on what is the reason for your vacation and what kind of person you are. It is less suitable for honeymoon.

In general, I recommend everyone debating to take this hotel and be totally relaxed.

Recommendations on the island:

Beaches- paradise beach- if you like crazy parties from 16:30 afternoon.
super paradise- one of the Beautiful beaches i have ever seen.

Restaurants- pasta fresca in mykonos town if you like italian food.
kounelas- the best fish tavern in mykonos. you have to eat there.

Enjoy mykonos, a very special island..

Room Tip: choose the rooms with Balcony, not only for that reason, its much more modrated and Comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great location, great view, great breakfast, very cosy hotel overall (and with parking place)
The staff was great. They even helped us rent a car at a very reasoable price
I love Mykonos, this is where I met my wife also. Will definitely choose Mykonos View next time we come.
A big thank you! We shall see you next year.

Room Tip: Any room is fine. Depends if you want with a view or not (the difference is only the price). I peros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

The room was awful: dark and old. The bathroom was tiny and old. The girl working at the reception is not very helpful and does not have a great sense of service. Having said that, the manager is v nice, the breakfast buffet is generous and the hotel is well located (10mn walk from city center where all the bars are but it is 10min up on a very steep hill)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here for the last 2 weeks of June 2012 on a Thomson package. The hotel is in a great location just a few minutes walk up a short hill from the centre of Mykonos Town with great views of the town, the old port and the sunset. Julia and Christos in reception are both very friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. We stayed in room 31, which was a great room with it's own patio area and a good view of the town. It was always kept spotlessley clean by the amazingly cheerful cleaning ladies (good job girls!). The aircon was free and very quiet which always helps. The bed was a little hard, but not unusual for Greece in our experience. The pool was at the top of the hotel grounds and offered a wonderful view, had plenty of shade if you need it and protection from the wind, which at times was quite strong while we were there. The pool barman was not very attentive or cheerful, but ok when approached and service was prompt; we'd have used the service more if he actually came to us and offered. The breakfast was pretty much the same each day and offered a mix of cooked bacon, eggs, etc, plus croissants, a wide variety of local cakes, yoghurt, honey, cereals, etc, plus as much tea and coffee as you can drink. Overall a good experience and would return, so we recommend this hotel. The Thomson rep checked in with us regularly and with her colleague was a great help at the airport as there were issues at departure with faulty scanning equipment slowing the process down.

Room Tip: We would recommend room 31.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights (three mates). The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. The room was spacious with a nice view over Mykonos town and the water.

The pool was beautiful - great view and very refreshing in summer. The only criticism would be that there are plenty of places in Mykonos town itself. Having said this, it was I only a 5 min walk to town with a hill to climb on the way back.

Also worth noting that we used the gym at the hotels sister hotel for free.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The hotel was fantastic, not complete luxury but the extra friendly staff and amazing views more than make up for it. The breakfast was lovely if not a little repetitive after the first week. Don't worry about the 'hike' up the hill from the town, it isn't that bad. The Oniro bar is lovely, especially at sunset but the drinks are quite expensive.

The main problem is with Thomson. We booked our holiday under the Thomson freedom range and their website was worded in a way that makes it sound like it is an adults only hotel, but when we arrived and saw children running around it was obviously very disappointing. We contacted Thomson and they told us that although they do not allow booking from under 18's, the hotelier has the right to accept booking from anyone. When asked what benefits come from the Freedom range we were told that it means that the owner will allow same sex couples to have a double bed, nothing more (which is expected at any hotel these days). If you are planning on booking this hotel through Thomson don't bother, book through the hotels website and get a budget flight, you will save £100's. Thomson did nothing but mislead and after sales team were awful.

Loved the hotel, hated Thomson.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel

Address: 1 Tagou, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece (Formerly Mykonos View Apartments)
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#23 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Town View Apartments
Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos View By Semeli Hotel Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.