We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fancy hotel but a great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel to your Saves list
Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Tagou, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece (Formerly Mykonos View Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Tulum, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a fancy hotel but a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We moved here from the fancier Semeli hotel down the street. It's a bit of a hike up a hill from town, but the views were totally worth it. Don't expect a fancy reception area or world class service, not at these prices.

Our friends who were staying at Semeli came up to Mykonos View for sunset drinks every night -- the view of the sunset at the aptly named Mykonos View blew away the view from the Semeli.

The rooms are very basic, pretty outdated, and in need of a renovation, but our room had a little kitchenette which was very handy, and a cute little private veranda. For the price, we didn't mind the run-down rooms, and besides, when we were at the hotel, we were either sleeping, sitting on our little private veranda, or hanging out in the bar enjoying, well, the view. Did I mention the view is awesome? The pool area was quite nice as well. The pool furniture was a little chintzy, but the rooftop location was great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    63
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
96
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This Hotel is amazing...we couldn't expect more. We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel staff (reception, service, manager, etc.) were all very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make you feel welcome.
The Hotel is very well placed, (5min walking to the center) with some awesome views of the sunset. We really enjoy it and if we ever get back to Mykonos we'll stay there again ;).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We arrived at Mykonos View after a terrible 45 minutes ride on the hydrofoil.
The guy picked up at the port as agreed and drove us to the hotel (barely 5 minutes drive but on a steep slope.
We arrived to the reception and even if there were 3 people at disposal no one took care of us. One was on the phone, the others pretended to do something else and we were there waiting for more than 10 minutes.
I started to complain and we finally got some to do our check in. We were informed that the rooms were not ready yet. I read some reviews about this problem, but it was 12.30 noon so I understood it was little too early to go the room. We went to the terrace bar and waited there. But the day was very windy and with my boyfriend with a serious seasickness the wait of almost an hour didn't help.
Then we were given the room and even if i asked for a seaview room i got one with internal view. they say they were fully booked... a part from this, the structure of the hotel is very beautiful. It is developped vertically as the hotel is built on a rocky ridge so full of stairs.... A lot of cactus and greens, rough stones here and there, and beautiful rooms. With neat and clean decor and modern bathrooms. There is also a beautiful panoramic pool with a bar. In the morning the breakfast is served on the terrace bar. there is a buffet very rich and you can dine with a nice sea view.
The location is good but you have to walk 5 minutes on a steep road to arrive to the hotel.
In 5 minutes you arrive in Mykonos town and all the restaurants and cafe. A convenience store is just at the beginning of the street and the port is also very close.
Probably if they work on a better service they could be a AAA hotel but as of now, it's too expensive for what is offers...

Room Tip: Ask for new rooms with sea view. the rooms with inside view are nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel staff (reception, service, manager, etc.) were all very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The pool and bar areas had great views and were very comfortable and relaxing. Many of the guests hung out there throughout the day. The views for sunset were extraordinary and guests gathered on the bar balcony to enjoy them. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Having a kitchenette in the room was a nice amenity. The breakfast was good, especailly the large variety of Greek pastries that they had.

Room Tip: Since its on a hillside be prepared to navigate steps for the rooms at the top which have the best v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novo Hamburgo, RS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Clean tidy, friendly staff
tasty breakfast
rooms with wiew to the Port..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

The hotel was nice. Awesome views from the balcony of our room, the dining area, pool and the bar. Lots of steps to climb though & the hotel was up a hill. Fine for us, though we saw some people with prams struggling!

There's nothing really gay about this hotel, despite the claim by Thomson which was slightly disappointing for us. The bar staff were grumpy and the drinks way too expensive. The waitress at breakfast was really lovely as were the reception staff.

Breakfast was the same every day which got very boring and the food was cold.

We really enjoyed our stay! Mykonos is wonderful! We would probably stay at this hotel again, though we'll be looking at other options first.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

just returned after a week break. couldn't put you off. the hotel was as we expected. a couple of things worth a mention are that very young children were staying on a few nights we were there, not a problem for us but you wouldn't have expected it in a 'freedom hotel (new word for gay in the thomson language'. the other thing that disappointed us was that the bar and pool bar were very expensive, a shame because they had lovely views and were empty most of the time. it would have been nice to sit and chat and make new friends. Perhaps a happy hour would be a good idea to get people mixing and comparing holiday experiences. instead we sat on our balcony, witch also had nice views, and drank there! the staff were very friendly and we found the maid service very good. mykonos is a lovely island with a good selection of beaches; however make sure you take plenty of cash with you as it is very expensive. my partner had some trousers cleaned via the laundry service at the hotel, we made the mistake of not asking the cost until we collected them: 15 euros, nearly as much as they cost new! mind you they did a very good job.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel

Address: 1 Tagou, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece (Formerly Mykonos View Apartments)
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#23 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Town View Apartments
Hotel Mykonos Town
Mykonos View By Semeli Hotel Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos View by Semeli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.