We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilio Maris Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ilio Maris Hotel to your Saves list
Ilio Maris Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Despotika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Hvidovre, Denmark
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great experience in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you want to stay at a hotel close to the city and still be able to enjoy calmness by a grand pool, enjoy a room with what you wish for, meet smiling and a very serviceminded, helpful staff - this IS the place. I enjoyed every day of my 10 days staying here for the first time. It wont be my last!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    76
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
75
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I have to start by saying; when it came to leaving the hotel I did not want to go. The staff are so helpful, the breakfast is great and the cocktails by Zac at the pool side bar are some of the best I have ever had (would recommend sitting at the pool bar and watching the sunset over the windmills, absolutely breathtaking.). I would recommend this place to all age groups as it is a short walk into town if you are after a quiet dinner. It is also a short walk to some of the best bars in Mykonos. Its a very safe place with spectacular views, you like me will wished you booked more nights in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed in this small hotel in June. OK, the uphill walk from the town isn't ideal after a night on the tiles but that aside this is a wonderfully friendly hotel with a great location overlooking the bay and Mykonos town which is a 5 minute walk along a busy main road. I mention the road only because it can be very noisy and depending on whether you are a light sleeper and on the position of your room you may have difficulty getting any sleep until the small hours! We were in room 101 (not to be confused with the TV programme of the same name) where the door faced an open corridor overlooking the road. It was simply no match for the screaming mopeds, cars and quad bikes that stream past the hotel day and night. However, this would not deter us from staying at the Ilio Maris again. The hotel is family run and has a small dedicated staff that worked very hard to make our stay a memorable one. Special thanks go to Tony who shuttled us to and from the airport (just five minutes away), Gia and Chris on reception for their restaurant recommendations and interesting late night chats, Joanna who introduced me to Fix (a local beer) and last but not least the pool bar staff that served up some wonderfully exotic cocktails. The hotel is exceptionally clean and well maintained. The air-conditioned rooms are a good size, with all the facilities you might expect from a larger hotel - TV (with BBC World Service), hair dryer, toiletries, fresh laundry daily, a safe and adequate storage space. There was also a fridge and plenty of wall sockets. Ouside there is a deep freshwater pool (unsuitable for non-swimmers), bar, a limited number of sunbeds (to few to accommodate everyone) but a view to die for overlooking the famous Mykonos windmills. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied, although the cooked food could have been kept a little hotter. All in all a great stay and a great little hotel which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

While we didn't stay in this property, we did have a wonderful experience with its staff. We had spent the morning in Mykonos Town and were trying desperately to get back to our hotel and then to Nammos for our lunch reservation. As you will quickly learn if you visit Mykonos, there are only 20 some odd taxis on the entire island. After spending nearly 30 minutes trying to hail a cab we decided to start walking to see if we could get a hotel to call a taxi for us.

The first hotel that we came across was Ilio Maris (which tells you how great the location is for Mykonos Town). The woman at the front desk was so incredibly nice and helpful. She agreed to call us a taxi and then absolutely insisted that we sit in the lobby and relax while we waited. We were so ancy to get back to our reservation, and she tried for at least 20 minutes to call us a taxi (keep in mind we were not hotel guests). We were so grateful for her help and generosity. We were offered water, juice, and seats by the pool to relax while we waited. I just couldn't believe how nice the staff was.

Once the staff realized that getting a taxi was going to be impossible at that time of day, they offered us their private driver and car to take us across the island to our reservation. Plus, she called Nammos to tell them that we were running late so they would hold our reservation. We made it just a few minutes late and had a great time all thanks to the kindness of the Ilio Maris staff. Thank you for helping us out even when we weren't your guests! I'm certain their hotel guests get even more spectacular service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Wow!!Mykonos!!! Amazing as always.....:) And Ilio maris is great place for your visit - 2 minutes from the bus station and close to everything. Amazing stuff at the reception, nice but ordinary breakfast and very nice room. Great for your vacation!

Room Tip: room 210 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The staff were extremely friendly and always willing to help. As it was our honeymoon, the staff also surprised us with a bottle of champagne in our room!

The pool and outside area are amazing and the location is perfect.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here after spending 8 days sailing from Santorini to Mykonos. Great service with really attentive staff who go out of their way to assist you.
Wifi was free down in the lobby with a fairly fast connection, however you had to pay for it up in your room.
Rooms were quite basic, with pebblecrete floors. Bathrooms were fine with plenty of hot water. The room i was in had a great view of the pool and even the ocean.
Short stroll down to the harbour and the twisting alleys, perfectly positioned.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilio Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilio Maris Hotel

Address: Despotika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilio Maris Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilio Maris is a Mykonos Town hotel at the very center of the Mykonos island, just a few steps from the famous grand Mykonian windmills. It is one of the very first hotels in Mykonos island built, and operated in 1985, and was fully renovated in 2010. Its unique minimal style combines with great success surprisingly amazing comfort with exquisite elegance, as much as exists in perfect harmony with its incomparably stunning surroundings. One of Ilio Maris hotel's strongest and exclusive features is without doubt its ideal location in Mykonos town and magnificent view of the sea and Mykonian Windmills. Mykonos island with its clear blue water beaches and pure white traditional buildings is a rejuvenated mixture of natural land beauties and cosmopolitan life. Popular for its unforgettable nightlife, but also its inviting secret corners for relaxation, the Mykonos island promises memorable moments to all its visitors no matter the reason of their stay.Ilio Maris hotel is always ready to welcome all its new customers, while on the same time has become the meeting point of its regular guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Ilio Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilio Maris Mykonos
Hotel Ilio Maris
Ilio Maris Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilio Maris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.