We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Helpful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilio Maris Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ilio Maris Hotel to your Saves list
Ilio Maris Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Despotika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So Helpful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

While we didn't stay in this property, we did have a wonderful experience with its staff. We had spent the morning in Mykonos Town and were trying desperately to get back to our hotel and then to Nammos for our lunch reservation. As you will quickly learn if you visit Mykonos, there are only 20 some odd taxis on the entire island. After spending nearly 30 minutes trying to hail a cab we decided to start walking to see if we could get a hotel to call a taxi for us.

The first hotel that we came across was Ilio Maris (which tells you how great the location is for Mykonos Town). The woman at the front desk was so incredibly nice and helpful. She agreed to call us a taxi and then absolutely insisted that we sit in the lobby and relax while we waited. We were so ancy to get back to our reservation, and she tried for at least 20 minutes to call us a taxi (keep in mind we were not hotel guests). We were so grateful for her help and generosity. We were offered water, juice, and seats by the pool to relax while we waited. I just couldn't believe how nice the staff was.

Once the staff realized that getting a taxi was going to be impossible at that time of day, they offered us their private driver and car to take us across the island to our reservation. Plus, she called Nammos to tell them that we were running late so they would hold our reservation. We made it just a few minutes late and had a great time all thanks to the kindness of the Ilio Maris staff. Thank you for helping us out even when we weren't your guests! I'm certain their hotel guests get even more spectacular service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    74
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
74
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Wow!!Mykonos!!! Amazing as always.....:) And Ilio maris is great place for your visit - 2 minutes from the bus station and close to everything. Amazing stuff at the reception, nice but ordinary breakfast and very nice room. Great for your vacation!

Room Tip: room 210 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The staff were extremely friendly and always willing to help. As it was our honeymoon, the staff also surprised us with a bottle of champagne in our room!

The pool and outside area are amazing and the location is perfect.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here after spending 8 days sailing from Santorini to Mykonos. Great service with really attentive staff who go out of their way to assist you.
Wifi was free down in the lobby with a fairly fast connection, however you had to pay for it up in your room.
Rooms were quite basic, with pebblecrete floors. Bathrooms were fine with plenty of hot water. The room i was in had a great view of the pool and even the ocean.
Short stroll down to the harbour and the twisting alleys, perfectly positioned.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have stayed in several hotels and b&b's on Mykonos but we have now chosen the Ilio Maris as the place we will stay in future. We have now stayed there 3 times. The staff are very helpful , the room is small but comfortable, the view is stunning and the pool is excellent. Breakfast is included and is all you need while the location of the hotel couldn't be more convenient. The walk to the town is easy. Don't be put off by the bus station on the way. Plenty of tavernas nearby with good food and excellent value. No need to go to any other hotel as long as the prices stay acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

So many good things to say, all other reviews cover the friendly staff, clean hotel. A good breakfast, great rooms and pool.
Two thoughts for the hotel... 1) the daytime bar man - not sure why he doesn't take orders and serve drinks pool side. I would have bought more if i had been prompted. 2) the dreaded wifi - mentioned in every post! Customers, don't be put off, there is perfect coverage throughout hotel, free in lobby, paid elsewhere 50eur / week. Hotel, please just cover this in room costs, people dont want to see a. Charge for this these days.
The hotel location is great, yes its up a hill but its small on the scale of many Mykonos hills and not offputting and so convenient for bus station /beach buses.
Swimming pool and view is great too!
Just loved it!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Lovely hotel with a great pool (not for children though as no shallow end). Great bar and lounge area around the pool as well. It's a 5 minute walk from centre of town so excellent choice for going out at night. Hotel itself is newly decorated and rooms are a great size. We read a few reviews where guests were not particularly impressed by the breakfast but it is just fine and runs until a late enough hour (11am) which is obviously a bonus if you've been out late the night before. Staff are extremely helpful - overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens onto the pool area - this will have a view of the harbour as well - gorgeo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilio Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilio Maris Hotel

Address: Despotika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilio Maris Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilio Maris is a Mykonos Town hotel at the very center of the Mykonos island, just a few steps from the famous grand Mykonian windmills. It is one of the very first hotels in Mykonos island built, and operated in 1985, and was fully renovated in 2010. Its unique minimal style combines with great success surprisingly amazing comfort with exquisite elegance, as much as exists in perfect harmony with its incomparably stunning surroundings. One of Ilio Maris hotel's strongest and exclusive features is without doubt its ideal location in Mykonos town and magnificent view of the sea and Mykonian Windmills. Mykonos island with its clear blue water beaches and pure white traditional buildings is a rejuvenated mixture of natural land beauties and cosmopolitan life. Popular for its unforgettable nightlife, but also its inviting secret corners for relaxation, the Mykonos island promises memorable moments to all its visitors no matter the reason of their stay.Ilio Maris hotel is always ready to welcome all its new customers, while on the same time has become the meeting point of its regular guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Booking.com so you can book your Ilio Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilio Maris Mykonos
Hotel Ilio Maris
Ilio Maris Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilio Maris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.