We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilio Maris Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ilio Maris Hotel to your Saves list
Ilio Maris Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Despotika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I visited in September and had 60 of our friends and family stay here. The staff were very helpful, the breakfast was good, the pool was amazing . The rooms were a nice size too and very clean.The location is excellent with just a few minutes walk to Mykonos town. I feel as though wifi should be available throughout the hotel not just free in the lobby area, and a pool snack bar would have been nice. We would definitely stay here again though, we had a great time!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    74
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
74
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

rooms were good... facilities were appropriate.. although i had to drag my luggage during morning down the stairs as lift was not available.. i had a morning ferry to Rafina, so we were not able to avail any breakfast too..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here for 4 nights in Mykonos. I splurged on a suite which was 2 rooms with the bathroom in between. We enjoyed our balcony which had perfect sea views. The Greek breakfast was huge in a lovely sunny room. It would have been nice to have simple snacks to purchase by the pool or bar. My husband wasn't feeling well and the staff was so helpful and concerned and got him needed medications. The pool area was the best of all of the hotels on our trip, but the pool itself was too deep and needs steps. Enjoyed visiting with the staff and other guests learning about everyone's culture. Free wi fi was offered in the lobby area only. I did not like the pebble floors in the rooms, had to wear shoes in the room. The hotel was only about a 10 minute walk into town but we called it the road of death as the buses whiz by you so close. The staff said it used to be a pedestrian only street but now has cars. Europeans didn't seem fazed by the traffic so maybe it was just us Americans not comfortable with it. I felt we got very good value for our money compared to prices of other Mykonos hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
東京
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Only a couple of minutes walk to Mykonos town, newly renovated hotel, but some more steps are needed to be a real 4 star hotel. Balconies are too close, you have no privacy if you want to open the window.
Breakfast was good and the staff were informative.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Ilio Maris is a lovely hotel which is centrally located. Unfortunately I was allocated the worst room in the whole hotel. I had no window and no balcony. My room was like a little, dark prison cell. The shower area is not enclosed, so when you shower, everything else in the small bathroom gets wet. There is nowhere to hang your towel. There was an oily stain right in front of my door. The hotel in general is lovely though. (I was just unlucky to get the worst room.) The reception area is large, inviting and comfortable. There is free wifi in reception. They also give you a wifi card valid for one hour to use from your room.

The pool is quiet big and VERY deep. There is only one exit from the pool where it is more shallow. The view is lovely - over the water and the windmills. The breakfast is plentiful, tasty and varied. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the lower level, especially the room like mine which didn't even have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location; staff went out of their way to be helpful and were very knowledgeable about Mykonos; great pool area and rooms were decent for European standards. Travelled with group of friends third to fourth week of August.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

First of all, great location, very close to Mykonos town. The hotel is very clean! Well, that is all for the good part! Now the problems we had: they cancelled our reservation giving us 8 hrs to change the credit card number. We answered the email 23 minutes after that ridiculous period and our room had already been cancelled and reserved for other persons. Problem solved (not the best solution), they give you a 1hr wifi access and tell you to buy wifi cards if internet is necessary! So, no internet at the hotel!! Getting in the room, HOT!!! Very hot!! the air conditioner did not work (thats for room 207 and 209). During night period, there is no one to fix it! during the day period they say they have to find someone to do the work, as they have no maintenance team! After 13.30 pm, they couldn't find a person, because it was late!! (late???). After a tough conversation, they decided to find someone! The problem was solved for 2 nights, and then: no air conditioner again! Other then that, the biggest problem of the hotel are the two pretentious ladies at the front desk! Sooooo pretencious, in fact I may say arrogant.... The manager does her job, in fact, very polite! The breakfast is just ok! the furniture is very simple. No double beds! they put two singles together. Bathrooms need a urgent update! conclusion: very expensive! DON'T go there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilio Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilio Maris Hotel

Address: Despotika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilio Maris Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilio Maris is a Mykonos Town hotel at the very center of the Mykonos island, just a few steps from the famous grand Mykonian windmills. It is one of the very first hotels in Mykonos island built, and operated in 1985, and was fully renovated in 2010. Its unique minimal style combines with great success surprisingly amazing comfort with exquisite elegance, as much as exists in perfect harmony with its incomparably stunning surroundings. One of Ilio Maris hotel's strongest and exclusive features is without doubt its ideal location in Mykonos town and magnificent view of the sea and Mykonian Windmills. Mykonos island with its clear blue water beaches and pure white traditional buildings is a rejuvenated mixture of natural land beauties and cosmopolitan life. Popular for its unforgettable nightlife, but also its inviting secret corners for relaxation, the Mykonos island promises memorable moments to all its visitors no matter the reason of their stay.Ilio Maris hotel is always ready to welcome all its new customers, while on the same time has become the meeting point of its regular guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ilio Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilio Maris Mykonos
Hotel Ilio Maris
Ilio Maris Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilio Maris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.