We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilio Maris Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
Ilio Maris Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Despotika | Despotika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 84 hotels in Mykonos Town
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We just loved this hotel , the location was fantastic on the 1st road out of the town looking directly onto the windmills , sensational pool area ,lovely room . The staff could not do enough for us , informative, helpful and so friendly , home away from home

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs on the pool were the best for us because we loved using the pool every morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    54
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
51
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Travelling during the summer months, the location of the hotel is perfect. Anything you need there at your feet. However disappointed with the staff. Not helpful when needing transfers and very in welcoming. Due to this I will never return or recommend it to anyone. Not happy what so ever for what myself and travelling partner paid.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Great location with parking. Very clean with polite service. We had a welcome cocktail drink & our room was lovely (loved the texture of the floor by the way). We had some issues with the shower as the water was not always hot but overall we were satisfied despite of it being a bit pricey.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Perfect location
the staff couldn t be more helpful
always very quite

the breakfast was nice..shame they charge you extra for a cappuccino
you can walk back from the town at night time and it s only ten minutes

the swimmingpoul area was always empty

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I booked one night as I was only stopping off on Mykonos on my way elsewhere .

I was willing to pay 120€ for peace and quiet and a sea view.

I got a sea view and a view of the dirt car park but no peace noisy disco somewhere nearby had to our ac on to hide noise

Haven't been back to Mykonos for over 15 years - knew it would be bad but not this bad - no value for money. Plus the paid wifi in room didn't work

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Have just returned to UK following a 3 night stay. The hotel has a fantastic location with sweeping views across to the windmills and Mykonos bay, a few minutes from the start of the centre. The decor is fresh and innovative, the pool deep and inviting, the staff always very helpful, and the breakfast fulfilling. We would highly recommend the hotel - make sure you secure a sea view. We only had one grumble. We really think wi-fi should be free. We had to pay and throughout the stay we could only connect in the reception area.

Room Tip: rooms on first and second floor with open or low terrace overlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I spent the last week of June 2013 with my two best friends at Ilio Maris and I literally almost did not check out. First of all, the staff were very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. One of my friends was having problems with his flights, and a member of staff sat me down and wrote out instructions of how he could get the ferry from Athens to Mykonos. They were all fluent in English and were always available to answer any questions we had.
The hotel is about 2 minutes walking down the hill from town, giving a very picturesque view of the town, sea and windmills. The pool is very deep, refreshing, and hardly anyone was using it! It felt like we had our own villa at times.
The breakfast buffet was fresh and delicious every day.
The only issue we had was we had to pay for WiFi even in the lobby, but that is a minor thing, the room rates at the hotel are very reasonable so this minor and completely voluntary up charge was no real problem for us.
Overall, I loved my stay here and highly recommend Ilio Maris!!!

Room Tip: Top floor so you have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ilio Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilio Maris Hotel

Also Known As:
Ilio Maris Mykonos
Hotel Ilio Maris
Ilio Maris Hotel Mykonos, Greece
Address: Despotika | Despotika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 84 hotels in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilio Maris Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilio Maris is a Mykonos Town hotel at the very center of the Mykonos island, just a few steps from the famous grand Mykonian windmills. It is one of the very first hotels in Mykonos island built, and operated in 1985, and was fully renovated in 2010. Its unique minimal style combines with great success surprisingly amazing comfort with exquisite elegance, as much as exists in perfect harmony with its incomparably stunning surroundings. One of Ilio Maris hotel's strongest and exclusive features is without doubt its ideal location in Mykonos town and magnificent view of the sea and Mykonian Windmills. Mykonos island with its clear blue water beaches and pure white traditional buildings is a rejuvenated mixture of natural land beauties and cosmopolitan life. Popular for its unforgettable nightlife, but also its inviting secret corners for relaxation, the Mykonos island promises memorable moments to all its visitors no matter the reason of their stay.Ilio Maris hotel is always ready to welcome all its new customers, while on the same time has become the meeting point of its regular guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ilio Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilio Maris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ilio Maris Hotel to your Saves list