We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay, Gorgeous Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilio Maris Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ilio Maris Hotel to your Saves list
Ilio Maris Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Despotika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Pamplona, Navarra, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay, Gorgeous Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My boyfriend and i spent a lovely 3 nights/4 days at this hotel. First impressions were great, with very friendly and accommodating staff who were helpful with info about the island. We had a ground floor room and , whilst we would have liked a balcony, our room was enormous and we were only a few steps from the pool. Breakfast is nice, however does get repetitive. The pool area and views are spectacular!! We hired quad bikes for our entire stay and they were perfect for getting around the island and visiting the more remote beaches. I will make a point to definitely stay here again sometime in the future, AMAZING!!!
ps. get a mojito from the pool bar...delicious!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    74
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
74
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I must say I was coming for a wonderful holiday in Ios when I arrived in Mykonos and stayed at Ilio Maris. Booked one night only as the ferry would not take me to Mykonos on time for a 1pm flight the day after.

The hotel is on a very busy road, very noisy. The location is actually quite convenient, as the village centre is at walking distance, but for a relaxing holiday you definitely don't want to stay anywhere near the Chora. The beaches around are terrible anyway.

Our hotel room had worn out sheets and bed covers and furniture falling into pieces and/or rusty. The interiors of the room were awful, but that's personal taste.

We had booked a room with a balcony and sea view: we had a lovely view over the bay and could watch the sun set, but there is a parking lot on one side of the pool, raised from the street level, so people parking their cars could easily look into our rooms - hence NO privacy.

Breakfast was ok. Asked for a double bed, found two single beds instead, which were actually quite comfortable.

Definitely NOT worth the €112 we spent for our double room.

Room Tip: definitely ask for a room with sea view, the only thing that saved our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Loved this hotel. It was close to town and had a wonderfull view. The staff were excellent and when we arrived we were given a short orientation of where everything was located, what time breakfast and check out was. Our room and breakfast was excellent. 4 star property. We couldn't ask for anything better. Oh I forgot the pool area was superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

There are so many nice things to say about this hotel. It has a very modern, fun and chic lobby and an excellent staff. The rooms are adorable and the patio/pool areas is top notch. It's not too quiet and not too loud and everyone there seems to genuinely want you to have a great time. The only negative thing would be that they don't don't offer free-wi-fi, but they were more than willing to share the lobby wi-fi password with our group. It's a short walk from the hotel to Little Venice, but coming back you will hike up a very steep hill, so be sure to stretch before you go. If you're allergic to cats, beware. They have a cat named Luna (she's sweet but she runs the place.)

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room for a better view. Patios are cozier on the top floors, loud on the bott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day trip to Greece and this was my favorite hotel by far. The staff of the Illio Maris is very hands-on and friendly and work hard to ensure that all your questions are answered and any concerns are addressed. The room was great, and even when we had an issue with the bathroom it was immediately addressed. The outdoor area is very hip and we loved the patio connected to our room that overlooked Little Venice. My favorite part by far was Luna, the hotel cat who greeted us every evening when we came home. (BTW if you're allergic this may not be the hotel for you as she has full run of the lobby at night -- very cute watching the staff shoo her outside during breakfast --she's quite social and didn't want to miss anything;)

Room Tip: The hotel does not offer free wi-fi and offers phone cards for purchase. Unfortunately ours did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at the Ilios Maris in May 2013, staff reception and overall service was of a very high standard as was the cleanliness of the rooms,breakfast was excellent value for money.The pool area had beautiful views to the port and windmills. The hotel is located a 10 minute walk from the edge of the town and also the bus station for access to the surrounding beaches. I would definitely return to this hotel.
Marise Western Australia

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Excellent... Excellent
Stunning View, Modern eclectic rooms, great price & service, convenient location (few minutes from the beach & down town).
The best Hotel in Mykonos ever with Amazing Staff
We loved it :)

Samir

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilio Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilio Maris Hotel

Address: Despotika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilio Maris Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilio Maris is a Mykonos Town hotel at the very center of the Mykonos island, just a few steps from the famous grand Mykonian windmills. It is one of the very first hotels in Mykonos island built, and operated in 1985, and was fully renovated in 2010. Its unique minimal style combines with great success surprisingly amazing comfort with exquisite elegance, as much as exists in perfect harmony with its incomparably stunning surroundings. One of Ilio Maris hotel's strongest and exclusive features is without doubt its ideal location in Mykonos town and magnificent view of the sea and Mykonian Windmills. Mykonos island with its clear blue water beaches and pure white traditional buildings is a rejuvenated mixture of natural land beauties and cosmopolitan life. Popular for its unforgettable nightlife, but also its inviting secret corners for relaxation, the Mykonos island promises memorable moments to all its visitors no matter the reason of their stay.Ilio Maris hotel is always ready to welcome all its new customers, while on the same time has become the meeting point of its regular guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ilio Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilio Maris Mykonos
Hotel Ilio Maris
Ilio Maris Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilio Maris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.