We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellency in all !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilio Maris Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ilio Maris Hotel to your Saves list
Ilio Maris Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Despotika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellency in all !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayied 4 nights in september 2011 at this marvelous hotel. The room was very good with an excellent view to the mills, to the city. The sunsets were extraordinary ! The staff were very friendly, polite and helpfull, breakfast very good. 5 minutes - distance to bus stop for all the island's beaches, and in the same time one of the old city entrance. We would return any time at this brilliant hotel ! ... and don't forget : the hotel "mascota" - the litlle cat Lilly, we played with her an entire unforgettable evening !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    80
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
77
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in September 2011. The hotel is in a great location - minutes walk from the busy centre of Mykonos. The hotel was very clean and bright. Great pool/bar area and excellent breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I just wished that the wifi were free. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The staff worked very hard to deliver a good product, but a few things fell thru the cracks. couldn't get a wifi signal in our room. new bathroom had a water/mold problem/smell. cool floorin the room but whatever fell broke, like my iPhone. nice views except for the ugly parking lot. pool was nice, breakfast was good, but especially the staff had some very good recommendations for things to do: restaurants, beaches, movies, sunsets, which made the trip more interesting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed here for 1 week in August (peak time in Mykonos) and had two different rooms due to my reservation at another hotel being moved back to Ilio Maris due to over-booking.

First few nights I had a single room which was neat and clean with a small balcony and shuttered windows. The bed was a double, refrigerator worked but was empty i.e. no mini-bar and the room overlooked the very busy main street. As Mykonos is a bit of a party island and attracts a younger crowd, this means that during the peak hours of 9pm-1am, lots of young kids on mopeds honking their horns and being very noisy. Outside of this time was fine.

The second room I had was a triple that opened onto the pool deck. It was a bit dark because it was practically under the stairs but I wasn't there during the day and didn't care. The room had three single beds and they staff put two beds together when asked. The bathrooms at the hotel are small but functional.

Breakfast was typical for Mykonos as I understand it but perfect for me. Fresh peaches were on the table every day and they were delicious. Usual fare of juice, coffee, toast, sliced ham and cheese, muesli and sweets.

The hotel has great views across the harbour and out to the west giving you great sunset views. The pool looks inviting and the pool bar is a good place to have a drink after a day at the beach.

The service at the hotel was efficient and responsive, if a bit cold at times - depends who's on the front desk. The guys working at the hotel are very friendly and the airport pick up/ferry drop off was reliable - you pay 5 euro for it though.

If there's one downside it's that you have to pay for internet access which is free at other hotels. You also have to pay for water even though you can't drink the tap water on Mykonos. These little things make a huge difference when your hotel room is already a high rate.

Location wise, this hotel is perfectly positioned to town, being only 50m from the main bus stop.

Room Tip: Get one off the main road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights with my 2 daughters. We were surrounded by other Aussies! The pool and bar area is a great place to relax and recover from the heat, and the room efficiently airconditioned. Just up the road from the square where buses leave for the beaches, it was perfectly placed....easy to get into the town and old port but far enough away from the noise to relax. The 24 hour reception would be great for those that want to party. We stayed in a ground floor room. The higher rooms would be better for sunset views, but we were perfectly happy to sit on the pool deck anyway. Breakfasts were great and the hotel provided an efficient transfer service to and from the new port. Thanks for great memories.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Great hotel the staff were excellent, lovely, friendly and very helpful. The hotel and the rooms were very clean and modern. The breakfast was buffet style with a wide variety of choice. A perfect spot, just up the road from lots of shops, tavernas and the bus stops for the beaches, but not noisy. highly recommended, without a doubt would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The staff are very friendly. We called prior to landing in Mykonos and requested a transfer to the hotel which they were more then happy to organise for us at a small fee.
The driver who picked us up was hilarious.
The staff on check in where very welcoming. At anytime day or night we were greeted by a staff member with a smile every time.
The rooms were amazing.. very Mykonoy! with the most beautiful views. Waking up took my breath away.
The pool area is very big, although you wont find too many people pool side as the beach is usually the hotspot!
Each day we were given fresh towels -which was a first we found in European hotels.

Only downside - removing your passkey to the room would switch off all electrical points in the room. so charging cameras and phones could only be done whilst in the room.

For those traveling to the beach clubs the bus stop is located 50m walk downhill. walking up hill was difficult at time.
For those looking to explore Mykonos at their own free will - do your self a favour and hire a scooter, bike or quad-bike. not only so much fun! but cheap and efficient.
And walking to through the town, getting lost is the best and only way to experience Mykonos!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilio Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilio Maris Hotel

Address: Despotika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilio Maris Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilio Maris is a Mykonos Town hotel at the very center of the Mykonos island, just a few steps from the famous grand Mykonian windmills. It is one of the very first hotels in Mykonos island built, and operated in 1985, and was fully renovated in 2010. Its unique minimal style combines with great success surprisingly amazing comfort with exquisite elegance, as much as exists in perfect harmony with its incomparably stunning surroundings. One of Ilio Maris hotel's strongest and exclusive features is without doubt its ideal location in Mykonos town and magnificent view of the sea and Mykonian Windmills. Mykonos island with its clear blue water beaches and pure white traditional buildings is a rejuvenated mixture of natural land beauties and cosmopolitan life. Popular for its unforgettable nightlife, but also its inviting secret corners for relaxation, the Mykonos island promises memorable moments to all its visitors no matter the reason of their stay.Ilio Maris hotel is always ready to welcome all its new customers, while on the same time has become the meeting point of its regular guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Ilio Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilio Maris Mykonos
Hotel Ilio Maris
Ilio Maris Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilio Maris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.