We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aegean Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aegean Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aegean Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 86 hotels in Mykonos Town
AUSTRIA
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Hotel EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hi! I would highly recommend this nice little hotel to everyone who seeks original genuine greek hospitality. I've been to places. But I have never ever experienced more genuine people in a very touristy place like this. Everyone is trying to do the best to keep the customer satisfied. The Hotel itself is a very nice greek family owned lovely building with an awsome view all over the sea and the city. It's about 10 min walk from the hora/towncenter. If you want to check out all the beaches you're doing well hiring a car. Don't take a bike - very dangerous!!! I would check into the hotel anytime again! I love this place.

Room Tip: No matter which room you take. it's all all right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
11
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights from 29th of July because of all the reviews we read.It is remarkable with all the travel we do around the Globe, this hotel stands out for its motto."arrive as a stranger, leave as a friend"!! Anna and Yiannis the owners are lovely couple.This is a professional outfit like no other.Well done indeed!We will be back soon.Great stay.Could not fault it!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Positive:
The Hotel has a nice view from the roof pool and from the front rooms.
Emplyeers are really helpfull. Every day u get fresh beach towels. They offer breakfast, but I never use that.
There is quite enough parking space for the car, I never had problem to find a slot.
The Hotel its quite near to down town, even there is walking of 10min.

Negative:
There are two categories of rooms: the nice and quite space full rooms with sea view and balcony and the small and dark rooms, with almost no sun light. Those rooms are horrible!
No WiFi at the rooms or at the pool.

I would not choose or recomand this Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed one week at this hotel as I booked last minute and there were no other hotels available in the high season Mykonos. We were given a small double room at first that I asked to be moved from as we were 2 girls. The reception lady then moved us to a twin room which was smelling like mould and smoke! I am super allergic to smoke so I had to take loratadine pills before going to sleep otherwise I would cough all night long. The room walls were painted hospital green, and the energy outlets were coming of the wall. The bathroom was small and the shower curtains stained. The other bad point was the access to the hotel which although not far from downtown, demanded that you shared the road with speeding cars and motorbikes while avoiding to be ran over. The positive point of the hotel is the rooftop pool which is quite nice and the service. Otherwise, if you have the financial means, stay at Porto Mykonos or at Psarou beach where you can hang out at Nammos!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I decided to get out of athens and go to Mykonos for a short stay last week on short notice. We hadn't arranged pick up from the airport so we had some difficulty finding the hotel as the address was not very specific and the hotel has no signage out the front. After asking at 3 different places we finally found a local tour operator who w able to give us some good directions.

The hotel staff were very friendly on arrival and the rooms whilst fairly simple have a lovely rustic island charm. If your looking for 5 star this is not the hotel for you but if your happy with a nice clean room with a great ocean view and friendly service this will suit most island hoppers. The hotel provides towels for the pool and trips to the beach, breakfast is pretty good and they will provide transfers to and from the airport on request. WiFi is available in the lounge / breakfast room area. My only criticism would be the beds, the mattress was pretty darn hard so if you don't like a really firm mattress then I would recommend a couple of extra glasses of local vino or masticha with dinner to help you sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The Aegean is definitely a good bet for anyone looking for a friendly, reasonably-priced hotel that's walking distance from town with a great view.

First impression:
Before even checking in, standing in the lobby after an early-morning charter flight, I had a glass of water pressed into my hand with a smile. This was typical of the family-style friendliness of the place.

Did not encounter any of the unfriendliness mentioned in reviews from a couple of years ago; things seem to have changed for the better. Asked to change rooms, and though I had to wait a day, it was no problem at all.

Rooms:
relatively simple but comfortable. All front-facing rooms have a spectacular view over the bay where the cruise ships anchor, and a few can even see the town. One small downside: the bathrooms range from small to tiny.

Location:
Top of the hill in Tagoo. The bus stop for Elia Beach and a good convenience store are about 5-6 mins walk down the hill from the hotel. Another 5-6 mins further and you are in the heart of the town. The uphill walk home can seem long if you've had a late night.

Pool:
sheltered, panorama view, with plenty of sunshades. Fine for an off day when you don't feel like trekking to one of the beaches, or for an early evening plunge.

Breakfast:
the website says American buffet but it's more of a European one. Rolls, breads, cereals, scrambled eggs and bacon, lot of cold-cuts, juices plus coffee and tea.

Clientele:
The week I was there (late August 2009) it was a mix of couples, straight and gay, mostly package tour bookers. Overall a very relaxed atmosphere. Did not see anyone with kids.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

I must admit, when we booked this hotel, were weren't expecting too much. However, when we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were very helpful - they made sure that every aspect of your stay with them was fantastic. The location was great - not in town, but not too far away. I would recommend this hotel to people coming to Mykonos.

  • Liked — The helpful staff
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aegean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Hotel

Address: Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aegean Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Aegean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aegean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.