We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel to your Saves list
Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angelika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Excellent service and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I chose this hotel largely because of the positive reviews and I'm pleased to say that they are well deserved. The pool and bar area as well as the views are as good as the pictures suggest. What was also nice was that they were very private and only used by guests. The service was genuinely warm and attentive. What I liked most was that they do have 5 star touches such as turning down or servicing your room while they know you're in the bar but they are also much friendlier than a 5 star hotel - a rare balance. The food restaurant food was the best I ate in Greece and I disagree with some reviews that it is expensive. Go expecting a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere with beautiful views and you won't be disappointed. The interiors aren't of the standard of a 5 star hotel in some other countries but they are fine - think nice holiday house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    40
    11
    10
    6
See reviews for
17
94
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Beautiful hotel, well kept, clean and excellent service. The staff were the friendliest and most accommodating we found throughout Greece. Particularly Kristine and Labros. The restaurant is fantastic--fresh fish, well prepared dishes all around. Limited with wine list, as they were out of many wines offered on the menu. Pool area gorgeous, comfortable and with semi private feel to the seating, with incredible views over the town of Mykonos and also for sunset. Pool not heated. Room very nice, with jacuzzi in bathroom that had a window with a view of the town (standing up for showering). The room was the "junior honeymoon" according to the sign outside the door. Very romantic and sexy hotel, without being pretentious. Yes, there is a walk downhill (and then up of course) to and from town, but as long as you are not opposed to exercise it's really not a big deal. If you want to be in town center, this is not for you. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have real balconies, not open area like a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a week at the Tharroe and had a wonderful time. The service at the hotel really is five-star and the location is excellent. It's at the top of a hill around 15 minutes' walk from the centre of town with a breathtaking view of Chora and the Aegean. Hadn't seen this in any of the other reviews, but it's also worth saying that the hotel is very gay-friendly (which for Mykonos is important). If we were coming back to Mykonos, we'd probably stay here again.

We had some gripes though:

-Our room wasn't 5*, it was more like a good 3*. The other rooms on our floor looked the same. This may or may not be a problem for you depending on the rate you get, but the hotel sells itself as 'luxury' and I'm afraid it isn't. Adjust expectations accordingly.
-The restaurant and room service are eye-wateringly expensive, even for Mykonos.
-The pool isn't heated and was freezing cold.
-Mykonos can be extremely windy. Because of the hotel's location on the hill, on windy days, the pool area is like being caught in a hurricane. Not really the hotel's fault, but just something to be aware of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We just spent 4 nights at Hotel Tharroe in Mykonos and it was great! The location is perfect--on top of a high hill so you can look down at the sea and the town. A five minute walk to the bus stop to go into town (about another 5 minute ride). You can walk to town but the hills are steep and the road very narrow. There is a steep hill that you must climb to get to the hotel, but it's not too bad. The hotel staff was great! Christy at the front desk was so helpful, as was everyone else. They always had a smile. The rooms are. Clean and nice. We were in room 325. If I return to Mykonos, I will surely stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Tharroe is a wonderful hotel. The staff are amazing especially Adonis ! Wether it be transfers or quad bike hire, the staff were so accommodating. The hotel location is great. It is centered between town and amazing beaches. Our room was so lovely and maintained. The pool area boasts an uninterrupted view of Mykonos. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay there on my return I Mykonos without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I took a 2 week vacation in Greece, visiting a few islands as well as Athens. To be honest, Mykonos will always be my favorite destination in Greece because of this hotel. The island itself is pretty big, with a lot of beaches, interesting towns and tourist attractions. However, this hotel is in the most ideal location. It is walking distance from Mykonos town, but far enough removed on higher ground that the view is breath taking and you feel like you are in a secluded resort. We went early enough in the season, that only about 8 or 9 of the 24 suites were occupied. The staff could not have been any nicer, especially the woman Cat at the front desk, and the 2 male bartenders/servers (who also maintained the pool, delivered our room service, carried our luggage, and basically took care of any other task so we would never be even slightly inconvenienced. All the rooms have a balcony or outside area with an incredible view. They are kept very clean and are a nice size without having to be upgraded for a honeymoon suite. Also, we had so many of our meals out by the pool because the food there was so fresh, delicious and well-priced that we never felt the need to leave. I kept meaning to book a massage in their full-service spa, but unfortunately ran out of time so I cannot speak to the spa's services. However, if it is maintained like the rooms and the rest of the rooms, I'm sure it is at the very least very clean and safe.We rented a RV quad for 25 Euro a day and explored the island on our own, which I highly recommend. The staff at the hotel was extremely informative on places we should see, which beach has what amenities, and restaurants for us to check out.This is the only time I've been to Mykonos, but I am so convinced this is the absolute best hotel on the island. Just please keep in mind, my boyfriend and I are both in our late twenties without any children, so if you are traveling as a family I'm not sure my review is helpful or if you should even consider this hotel as an option. But if you want to feel like royalty, with the essence of a bed and breakfast but the amenities of a luxury hotel for a very reasonable price, definitely choose Tharroe of Mykonos hotel when booking your next vacation.

Room Tip: it really doesn't matter they all have an amazing view... if you can afford it the honeymoon sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Tharroe of Mykonos is a lovely hotel perched on one of the highest points of the island. We could have easily spent ten whole days sitting by their pool; due to the location a brisk, cooling wind takes the edge off the August heat. The staff are all charming and helpful and made our stay a lovely, unique experience. It benefits from being situated a little further from the town, away from the hotels which pump out loud, ghastly music at night, but the walk to and from town is quite manageable (and good exercise as well). The breakfast items are varied, but their cold buffet items are perhaps not up the standard of a five-star hotel. They do make excellent egg dishes on request, though! They also offer a complimentary pick-up / drop-off service to the airport. For the pool and the location alone however, we say 5 out of 5 - it is really worth staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel

Address: Angelika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mykonos Town
#12 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tharroe Of Mykonos Hotel Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.