We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel to your Saves list
Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angelika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I took a 2 week vacation in Greece, visiting a few islands as well as Athens. To be honest, Mykonos will always be my favorite destination in Greece because of this hotel. The island itself is pretty big, with a lot of beaches, interesting towns and tourist attractions. However, this hotel is in the most ideal location. It is walking distance from Mykonos town, but far enough removed on higher ground that the view is breath taking and you feel like you are in a secluded resort. We went early enough in the season, that only about 8 or 9 of the 24 suites were occupied. The staff could not have been any nicer, especially the woman Cat at the front desk, and the 2 male bartenders/servers (who also maintained the pool, delivered our room service, carried our luggage, and basically took care of any other task so we would never be even slightly inconvenienced. All the rooms have a balcony or outside area with an incredible view. They are kept very clean and are a nice size without having to be upgraded for a honeymoon suite. Also, we had so many of our meals out by the pool because the food there was so fresh, delicious and well-priced that we never felt the need to leave. I kept meaning to book a massage in their full-service spa, but unfortunately ran out of time so I cannot speak to the spa's services. However, if it is maintained like the rooms and the rest of the rooms, I'm sure it is at the very least very clean and safe.We rented a RV quad for 25 Euro a day and explored the island on our own, which I highly recommend. The staff at the hotel was extremely informative on places we should see, which beach has what amenities, and restaurants for us to check out.This is the only time I've been to Mykonos, but I am so convinced this is the absolute best hotel on the island. Just please keep in mind, my boyfriend and I are both in our late twenties without any children, so if you are traveling as a family I'm not sure my review is helpful or if you should even consider this hotel as an option. But if you want to feel like royalty, with the essence of a bed and breakfast but the amenities of a luxury hotel for a very reasonable price, definitely choose Tharroe of Mykonos hotel when booking your next vacation.

Room Tip: it really doesn't matter they all have an amazing view... if you can afford it the honeymoon sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    40
    11
    10
    6
See reviews for
17
94
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Tharroe of Mykonos is a lovely hotel perched on one of the highest points of the island. We could have easily spent ten whole days sitting by their pool; due to the location a brisk, cooling wind takes the edge off the August heat. The staff are all charming and helpful and made our stay a lovely, unique experience. It benefits from being situated a little further from the town, away from the hotels which pump out loud, ghastly music at night, but the walk to and from town is quite manageable (and good exercise as well). The breakfast items are varied, but their cold buffet items are perhaps not up the standard of a five-star hotel. They do make excellent egg dishes on request, though! They also offer a complimentary pick-up / drop-off service to the airport. For the pool and the location alone however, we say 5 out of 5 - it is really worth staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The pools is very nice with amazing view of Mykonos
The rooms are nice and simple
The service is excellent and it gives the hotel a worm and welcoming environment
The loction is near the town 900 m but you will Need a taxi

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Excellent kitchen , friendly staff ,very clean, breathtaking view.We will be back for holidays for sure

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

A friend and I shared a room and stayed as a base for the beaches and the bars. The most friendly and helpful staff you will find anywhere. Location is excellent as you get an amazing view and it's only 10 minutes walk down to the town and 15 minutes back up. There were always taxi's available to avoid the walk back up the hill day and night. Very mixed crowd of ages and demographics and everyone seemed to be enjoying their stay. The entire hotel is spotless. Good breakfasts too. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and everyhting was as perfect as the first. All the staff have a can do attitude and our thanks go to Christina, George, Nikos and Adonis for all their wonderful service and impeccable manners and sorry if we have missed anyone out.
The whole place is spotless with the restaurant serving delicious and plentiful food made with fresh ingredients that have so much flavour. The Greek salad is superb. The views are stunning and the hotel is an oasis of calm. Thank you again to all for a wonderful few days.

Room Tip: Any room with a seaview is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Mykonos in mid-October 2012. Tharroe was the first stop on our european honeymoon- and we could not have asked for a better place to be!! We were happily greeted by the staff and provided with a glass of champagne!!

We had the spa room which was lovely and had a nice view over the town. The hotel and room were very clean.

The town is about a ten minute walk (down-hill) from the hotel. But as per the other reviews, there is no sidewalk- so take care. But it is an easy walk- and no need for taxis.
It is nicer being ontop of the hill rather than in the middle of the town itself anyway (look at the various photos of the pool area overlooking the town!)

The breakfasts were great by greek standards (do not expect a full sized buffet). The local yoghurt and honey were sublime- wish we could have brought it back to australia!! They also made you eggs in whichever way you wanted, which was lovely.

A huge huge thank you to Adonis who assisted us in so many ways and made our stay memorable. He went to a lot of effort to re-schedule our flights after a strike was announced (only 24 hrs before we were due to leave!!) Then, when the strike was cancelled (several hours later), he contacted the airlines to get us on a different flight, so we didn't miss any time on our next stop in Santorini. He also made some excellent recommendations for things to do and places to eat. Always greeted us with a smile. :)

Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel

Address: Angelika, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mykonos Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tharroe Of Mykonos Hotel Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tharroe of Mykonos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.