We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belvedere Villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belvedere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   School of Fine Arts District, Mykonos Town 84 600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 86 hotels in Mykonos Town
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Belvedere Villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This review is a bit overdue, but we would like to share our experience staying at the BELVEDERE VILLA, as it was in a word…magical.

My partner and I stayed for a few days at the Belvedere Villa at the end of August 2012. We were initially billeted at the hotel itself, but moved to the Villa towards the end of our two-week holiday.

The experience at the Villa pretty much made our trip last summer. It was the icing on the cake, so to speak. The location of the Villa is unparalleled on the island, in my opinion. The Villa is located a short walk (500 meters) from the hotel, so it is technically (and conveniently) in town, although you don’t feel like it is as it is so quiet. What the Belvedere Villa affords you is the sense of space and ultimate privacy. It is easy to forget that you are actually just a short walk into the buzzy Mykonian nightlife. That’s what makes the Villa so special. It creates the impression that you are in your own quiet haven, but in reality, you have the convenience of dipping in and out of the action so easily.

Aesthetically, the Villa shares many of the same design features as the new rooms of the Belvedere (luxurious, modern, uncluttered, with all the creature comforts you can think of). If you have stayed at the Belvedere's new rooms and liked them, you will love the rooms in the Belvedere Villa! The folks over at the Belvedere have taken things several notches higher here, but still very much in keeping with the overall aesthetic of the hotel. One thing the Villa has that the hotel does not is the amazing and unobstructed views of the Aegean Sea. The Villa literally sits on the cliff overlooking the water. Waking up to the uninterrupted sea view every morning was simply priceless. My partner and I would pretty much spend the day lounging under the sheltered veranda by the glorious infinity pool. Dipping in and out of the cool water, sunbathing, listening to our music on the Bose system. It was such a relaxing experience. Best of all, you had the place pretty much to yourselves. So there was no need to make small talk with other hotel guests (sometimes you just want to switch off! :))

The Villa is pretty much brand new, so everything looks and feels pristine. Service staff comes in regularly to make sure your bedroom and bathroom (as well as all the livings areas) are kept clean and spotless. At night, there was a security guard in the Villa, so you sleep without having the slightest bit of worry. Breakfast was served every morning in the hotel, so we would have a 4-minute stroll into the hotel and have our breakfast there. Not an issue, at all.

The experience of staying here is completely different from staying at the hotel itself (which we love, too). It really depends on what you are looking for in your holiday. We would absolutely recommend the Belvedere Villa to the discerning Mykonian traveller who appreciates top-notch service and beautiful design aesthetics, but also puts a premium on personal space and tranquility. It’s like being in your own private amazing seaside sanctuary, Belvedere-style.

A big thank you to the gracious General Manager Christofer Vonglis, who left no stone unturned ensuring our stay was simply perfect; and the lovely Eleni and Alexandra for their assistance and smiles that brightened up our summer. R + C

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvonglis, General Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for you great feedback.
We are all looking forward seeing you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    27
    12
    11
    10
See reviews for
12
68
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent location with sweeping views but still close to the village to walk. Contemporary recent refurb is tasteful and unusual. Fantastic friendly service from International staff. Great Pool and bar. Junior suites are fair size, fresh and funky. Great Breakfasts
No complaints except expensive WiFi. Should be free!! Will certainly return.

Room Tip: Try a junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvonglis, General Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and thank you for commenting positively the property. After you suggestion we changed the price of the WI FI to complimentary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed a few days there for a business trip. The environment of the hotel is amazing, the view on the see, the design of the buildings. The service was very good too, as well as the restaurant. As in many hotels, the choice of TV channels is a bit short but it gives the possibility to enjoy the view! The decoration of the room could also be a bit more sophisticated. But for sure, an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvonglis, General Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are looking forward welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a junior suite which was really lovely, as we think many 'standard' rooms can be more basic than people expect...particularly in Greece/Greek Islands. The staff were lovely as was the owner - good breakfast and lovely pool. Great location for the town - 5 mins walk from great restaurants and 10 mins from the seafront. Will come back..we hope next year.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvonglis, General Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appriciate your comments and looking forward to having you with us again.

Regards

Christofer Vonglis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just returned from 6 nights at The Belvedere. It is a lovely hotel - the pool is beautiful and we enjoyed sitting around it especially in the late afternoon watching the sun coming down from the sunbeds at the top of the pool area - heaven!

Breakfast was a good continental with eggs available for an extra couple of euros, it was good but there was not much variety over the different days we stayed. The breakfast staff were very nice though and took good care of us and even helped us with a little goodie bag of snacks for our flight home.

We were originally assigned room 101 which is right behind reception and was very noisy, you could hear chairs and any movement through the wall. We moved after a couple of nIghts to Junior Suite 202 which was very nice.

We dined twice at the Nobu restaurant which was excellent, of particular note are of course the black cod and the divine tempura prawns with the spicy creamy sauce.

The location of the hotel is unsurpassed, quiet enough as you are on a hill overlooking the town, but within 5 minutes you are in the wonderful warren of streets in the town.

Our favourite places in Mykonos were Elias beach where we went for 3 days running, very elegant and relaxed with a good lunch restaurant and jet skis and para gliding available. A wonderful restaurant on the north beach is KiKi's very special and inexpensive. We also enjoyed Avra and went there twice for dinner seek it out it is gorgeous! Especially the feta in sesame crust! We hired a little smart car through the hotel for 70 euros a day, worthwhile doing this as it gives you the freedom to explore the beaches.

We can't wait to return to Mykonos and would not hesitate to recommend the Belvedere!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are worth the investment but I would avoid 101!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just had a week at the Belvedere. Third time in Mykonos, 1st at this hotel. In the past we have chosen to stay out of town. This year we decided to stay in Mykonos town and were not disappointed by our choice of hotel.
We stayed in the traditional rooms and had a room with a beautiful balcony and an amazing sunset view. Great place for cocktails!!
Nobu was great. We had not tried Nobu previously but will be back!! The tasting menu was a great introduction to this chef's cuisine - black cod was amazing.
The pool area is really peaceful during the day so great place to tan with easy access to the bar or town for lunch. Combining this with trips to the beach was a great way to spend the week
We met some lovely people in Mykonos and particularly at the hotel - which I feel says a lot about a place you choose to stay.
We will definitely be back to Mykonos next year. Will we stay at the Belvedere - absolutely!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Difficult to find fault with this hotel. Super location, really helpful, friendly staff who were prepared to go the extra mile for you. Excellent pool area and no problem finding a sunbed any time of the day. Very mixed clientelle which was nice: younger families through to older gays with everything inbetween. During the day the pool area is extremely relaxed with excellent waiter service which then transforms itself at nighttime into the focal point for the Nobu restaurant - very impressive.
Neither the hotel nor the restaurant are anything other than expensive but on balance it is worth it for the quality of the experience, don't miss the cocktails (although they are eye-wateringly expensive). We will return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: School of Fine Arts District, Mykonos Town 84 600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Mykonos Town
#18 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Mykonos
Belvedere Mykonos
Hotel Belvedere Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.