We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with amazing views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Mykonos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Mykonos Hotel to your Saves list
Porto Mykonos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mykonos Island, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location with amazing views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It is walking distance to shop, restaurants & bars. We stayed here during the off-peak season of October & the party island is quite and a lot of the clubs (and some resorts) were closed, which we didn't mind because we just wanted to relax & unwind.

Lots of cats roaming the streets (bring some crackers or leftovers of food because you will find them irresistible as each cat persistently rubs their body around your legs, purring & gives you an innocent doe stare).

Our junior suite was spacious & clean, beds were comfortable & firm, free buffet breakfast was decent (but its the same every day so if you're staying for more than 2 nights it gets boring).

Helpful receptionists & prompt service when you ask for an extra toilet paper or to change the light bulb.

The best thing about this hotel is their pool with ocean views. Great to swim in at night!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    139
    60
    31
    24
See reviews for
42
237
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Although you feel wery welcome at Porto Mykonos when you arrive, and they make you feel like you arrived to paradise, as the time goes by they forget about providing good service. We think we should have received better service for the amount of money we paid (not cheap); just to give you some examples: 1) We asked for towels for the beach, and they didn't have any available at 10:00am, 2) We brought some snacks from outside and were told we could not eat them by the lobby, 3) service at the breakfast table is very slow. Plus, all around Greece you find fresh Orange Juice, except in this breakfast bar. Location is prime, so that adds a lot of value to this hotel. It's worth is if you get a good rate discount.

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom with nice view and blue bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent 5 weeks island hopping 8 Greek islands. Experienced many hotels, Porto Mykonos was the most expensive and the least impressive. It was a beautiful hotel, but lacked atmosphere, warmth, cold staff and totally over rated. So disappointing!

Room Tip: Poorly located balcony, not worth paying extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a nice time there. The hotel is near the town -walking distance. The view is perfect. The breakfast is ok. We liked the balkoni with the sofas and we enjoed the decoration. Everyone from the staff was helpful. The hotel has also a parking. The only thing is that the relationship between the price and the service is not in correct balance. With this price we wanted something more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed Porto Mykonos very much. The hotel is very well located at the old port. The hotel is located at the edge of town, so it was very quiet, yet just a 5 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants in old port. The staff was very courteous. The breakfast was included in our room price and offerred a full buffet and excellent selection of food. The views are exceptional, over-looking over the old port of Mykonos. Please know, ferry boats (except to/from Santorini) arrive in the new port, so one must arrange for transportion to Porto Mykonos. Port Mykonos provided our pickup with room rate, however, charges 11 euro for return to new port.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is nice, just 5 minutes walk from Remmezzo old bar and 10-15 minutes walk from Matoyannia center.

I liked the rooms inside but i did not like the bathroom. They could have made a better job provided the price they ask and what the competition offers in same range.

I did not like their accommodation because I booked the hotel the same day I arrived. I knew they had enough rooms to provide (both over the internet various sites and by phone) at same level and type to the one I booked, but they chose to accommodate us to a room less privileged with almost no view at all, at the far side and back of the hotel, not the good one. Also they were very strict to their rules and did not let us in before 14:00 which I believe was ridiculous as there were rooms available for the next days for the same type we booked.

One more thing was the cleaning service as the lady decided to knock at 10:00 am, unlock the door and enter the room and at that point I had to wake up and ask her to come back later.

Also we noticed a lot of gay couples, which was fine by us. After all the island is also gay friendly among other things and you have to love this aspect as well to visit it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in front and not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The reception and breakfast area had stunning view of the mykonos port and the town centre. The hotels location is ideal as it takes only 10 minutes to reach the centre. Hotel wifi is provided free in the lobby/reception/breakfast area which was a plus.
There are 2-3 scooter/bike rental agencies (appx cost 25 euro per day) in 100 meter vicinity of this hotel and i would recommend travellers to hire a scooter or atv for their stay. It surely saved us a lot of money which we would have paid otherwise for the use of taxis (that dont have meter and charge you a one way fixed rate of 20-30 euros depending upon your destination)
Staff attitude was very warm, welcoming and friendly. They were ready to guide, suggest and reserve tables/entrys to discos/taxis/scuba diving times etc at our request.
Rooms were small, bathrooms were extremely small, but i guess thats how all the hotels are on this island. The cleaning service was good and efficient.
We just ate breakfast at the hotel as it was included in our room cost. The breakfast was nothing great with very less items on their menu.
The pool is small and pretty, although we did not use it and preferred going to the different beaches.
While reaching, airport to hotel took us 20 minutes and while leaving It just took us a 5 minute walk till the port to catch our high speed ferry to santorini.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Mykonos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mykonos Hotel

Address: Mykonos Island, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Mykonos Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mykonos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Mykonos Hotel boasts the most ideal location in the town of Mykonos, overlooking the quiet pace of the Port and the dark colors of the sea through the rooms' windows and balconies. The charm of the Cyclades and the lifestyle of Mykonos are combined with the serenity of a privileged location, just a short stroll away from Mykonos town. The hotel's sea view pool offers magnificent views for sunbathers and, after sunset, it is lit with candles and sparkling lights from town that evidence the active nightlife at the short distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Porto Mykonos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Hotel Mykonos
Porto Mykonos Hotel Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Mykonos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.