We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small, delicious and cute restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bakalo

Bakalo
Lakka, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
+30 22890 78121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 170 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Newly born Greek Eatery in downtown Mykonos, Bakaló is a casual chic diner with retro decorative touches reminiscent of a Greek bistro of a bygone era but with modern flair. Its menu is a tribute to traditional Greek home cooking and is prepared using only fresh local ingredients; its friendly service and prices make it ideal for alfresco dining and people watching.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“small, delicious and cute restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

An adorable restaurant.

We had 6 starters and different mains to share.
Nice music on the background.
At the end of the meal they treated us with amazing home made liquor. (Which you can buy if you want to).
Delicious, home made like Greek food.
Since it is a very small restaurant, do not forget to make reservations.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    140
    49
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a great time at Bakalo. I had reviews about the restaurant upfront and one evening we passed the restaurant and decided to give it a go. We got a table without any wait or reservation. The restaurant is quite small with some outdoor seating. The menu is traditional, but with a modern twist! Our waiter was very nice and really passionate about the food and service-minded. I had a lovely lamb shank which was so tender and tasty, really nice. My husband had chicken skewers which he liked a lot. Really good food and the prices were not that bad, pretty much average Mykonos-prices. Would go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Tucked away, but close to bus station, this was one of our favourites. Staff were brilliant explaining different choices. Lamb shank was the best I've ever had. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cozy Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nice little restaurant located close to the bus station in Mykonos Town. The waitstaff were very friendly and attentive. The food was all great and well priced. Great spot, you will not be let down at this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Delicious, authentic food with attentive staff, a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Small restaurant with very attentive staff. Got served the nicest greek dishes in rapid pace, ranging from the best lamb shank we've had in many years to a classic moussaka no strings attached. Crispy pommes frites which are hard to come by on the island. If any critique, it's the sirtaki music they play. Owner and chef walk around to make sure all is well. Prices very reasonable. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakalo also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Bakalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.