We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character, comfort and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katerina's Bar & Restaurant

Katerina's Bar & Restaurant
Agion Anargiron 8 | Little Venice, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
+30 2289 023084 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 176 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Character, comfort and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Our hotel kindly reserved us a table on the romantic balcony, but we opted to eat indoors as the wind and sea spray had not subsided at that point... Not the end of the world though. The service was warm and welcome which made up for any lost expectations. We ordered a local Sauvignon blanc from Chora region which was well balanced, well priced and a good accompaniment to the fried calamari and grilled octopus staters. Both starters were fresh, smacking of the sea, well prepared and tasty.... I considered having another plate of the calamari instead of dessert as it was so good.

We were quite surprised at the presentation of our mains, although we ordered pasta, mixed seafood and vongole, it arrived looking like a huge plate of shellfish and a plate plentiful of clams respectively. Very rustic, very tasty with spaghetti cooked to perfection which had also absorbed the great flavours of the seafood sauces. We can only advise that the clams were very small, tasty little things but there were around 100 of them on the plate. If you have the patience to pick each one and leisurely prod, suck, lick and slurp through the meal, it is very gratifying, but would not recommend on a first date... We weren't, so it was family style eating for us.

We shared a chocolate mousse which was tasty but more like a chocolate cream with chocolate sauce.

All in all a very nice experience with a few giggles about the clams. Would definitely go back.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    225
    74
    46
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unforgettable romantic sunset dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

My partner and I were walking through Mykonos Town and happened to walk by Katerina's by chance (which is situated in Little Venice), where we were greeted by Stelios. He was extremely welcoming and friendly and offered us a sunset table on the terrace (there was only one table left), which we excitedly reserved. We couldn't believe our luck!
On return Stelios showed us to our table, which was on a quaint balcony with two tables overlooking the famous windmills, Mykonos Bay, Aegean sea and of course the best views for the much anticipated sunset.
The waitress was also really friendly and had a wonderful rapport with us and the other diners.
While waiting for our food to be prepared, we struck up a conversation with the people on the other table and found out this was their second time at Katerina's because they had loved this restaurant so much.
And we were not disappointed either because the food was just divine! We had hummus and bread for our starter, followed by mussels and risotto, which was complimented with a gorgeous bottle of red. We were even treated to a complimentary dessert, which was delicious!
And of course the sunset was perfect!
This was definitely a highlight for us while we stayed in Mykonos! I highly recommend this restaurant to all!
Thank you for hosting us Stelios and co! This is definitely an experience we will never forget!
x

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best meal of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

My husband and I went to Katerina's based on Trip Advisor reviews and boy are we glad we did! I made a reservation in advance so we could get one of the balcony tables and we were very pleasantly surprised when they escorted us up to a table on the private balcony upstairs. Our view up there was spectacular and we only shared it with one other couple. The food was great too! My husband said the fried calamari was some of the best he'd ever had and the lamb shank was delicious. We were so happy with our experience at Katerina's. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Can it get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

What more is there to say when you can sit on a balcony with the sea beneath you and receive beautiful food and attentive friendly service. No complaints here - just go. We are from Australia and we loved it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Monika is the best waitress!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Great location in Little Venice with nice views out to sea and the sunsets, nice food and great waitresses, actually also the best looking as well.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katerina's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Katerina's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katerina's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.