We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Über-romantic atmosphere with creative cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avra Restaurant - Garden

Avra Restaurant - Garden
Kalogera 27, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
+30 22890 22298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 170 Restaurants in Mykonos Town
Price range: $21 - $57
Cuisines: Greek, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Avra restaurant garden has moved location in 2011 to 27 Kalogera str serving Greek and Fusion cuisine in a beautiful courtyard garden. NiSa Restaurant,( still under our management) replaces the original Avra, at 10 Kalogera str and will offer our clients Greek cuisine with fusion flavors.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Über-romantic atmosphere with creative cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Definitely 'fusion' as the dishes were Greek-style with western influences. We had the Avra Salad for 2 and Roquerfort beef burgers as the mains , and took them family style.

We'd say this place , whilst not inexpensive, was good value for money considering the portion sizes, quality of the food, and overall presentation. However, the service if not warm was efficient -- leaving a bit missing.

The highlight of this place is the setting -- a quite kind of enchanted garden really.

I'm sure you won't regret a visit to Avra.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    166
    65
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice and romantic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A very beautiful garden restaurant. The food was very nice and the staff was running to serve you. A really nice place for a romantic or relaxing dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Garden in the centrer of Mykonos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The past name was Chez Maria and it was already a famous restaurant in Mykonos. The new owner bring some refresh in the organisation and the cooking, and it is a good address yet in this island. The garden gives a fresh atmospher and it is full all the times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very pretty but pretty pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This restaurant has a truly beautiful setting. It is canopied with stunning pink and white flowers and the whole restaurant is bathed in candle light. I would recommend this restaurant if you want to guarantee romance and something special. The food was very tasty and the service good. However on the menu my partner and I both thought that the starters were quite overpriced, I think they had hummous for around 11 euros! All the starter options seemed about 5/6 euros over what you might expect. However if you do what we did, gulp, then only have a main course then you will feel you have had reasonable value for money, as our mains were well cooked and reasonably priced. I would add however that it should be expected to have a pay a little more for such a lovely setting, so make it a special night when you choose to go and I think you will enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great garden dining/ambiance. Wonderful staff and good food. This is classic European fare, not a steak house. Moderately priced for what you got.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avra Restaurant - Garden also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Avra Restaurant - Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avra Restaurant - Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.