We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Sexy Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poseidon Hotel - Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Poseidon Hotel - Suites to your Saves list
Poseidon Hotel - Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vida, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Affordable Sexy Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Vibe: A relaxed, sexy, lounge feel. Ages 20 - 50 amongst guests, leaning to the youth. Cats are fed treats by staff and guests, the latter often inviting them inside for a night or two. The seawater pool and bar area is particularly attractive and comfortable, with kingsize sun beds, cushy lounge chairs, love seats, sofas, sun and shade.

Location: On the south edge of town out of the bustle, but close enough to walk to everything in town easily. One block away from the bus and cab stations (only needed if going to a spot outside of town, really). A small cute beach just 5 minute stroll down the road further south.

Room: We booked a large suite at a discount for late season, which featured colorful decor in teal, blue, violet, and pink, an attractive asymmetrical floor plan, two sets of french doors opening onto a long single balcony, a firm kingsize bed that could handle our vigorous newlywed activity without a squeak, a walk-in closet, a jacuzzi hot tub (but only for one), a hydro-massage shower with multiple jets (also for only one), and a view of the sea, the pool area, the windmills, and Delos island all at once. Appliances and furniture are cheap, but attractive, colorful, and unique (like Ikea, but not).

Breakfast: coffee, fresh oj, peach juice, tea, milk, cereal, various breads/pastries, bacon, sausage, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, marinated tomatoes, olives, cucumbers, sauteed mushrooms, cold cuts, various cheese, custard, yogurt, pancakes (all the above was on par with good diner food, though the produce exceeds all at a farmer's market level).

Bar: surprisingly tasty eats from sandwiches to pasta, mostly American fare, reasonable prices (considering it's essentially room service). 4€ for most alcoholic beverages and 7€ for an entree.

Free shuttle to port and airport is nice. All was clean, staff was helpful. Overall, a sexy 3 star hotel that does it's damnedest to come across as a 4 star with fun, colorful touches. Definitely not for you if you don't like cats and partying 20-somethings.

Room Tip: Get a suite, the extra luxury is delicious! Wait for off-season to get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    135
    22
    12
    9
See reviews for
41
206
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This a larger hotel ideally sited close to the bus station at the top of the town. The hotel is a little outdated but provides a great base to explore the island and it really is exceptional value for money. We paid £35.67 a night for a double room including a quality breakfast.
We stayed October 14th to 21st and had great weather. Some of the restaurants has closed for the season but we managed to find good restaurants to eat in every evening.
This hotel has good sized bedrooms. Ours had a large power shower, plenty of cupboard space, a free wall safe, a TV and a large comfortable bed. There was a small fridge but no kettle was provided. Our small balcony gave us a sea view.
Breakfast was included and provided a great range of hot and cold food. The real favorite is the freshly squeezed orange juice. There was a variety of breads and fruit. Some of the hot food was in short supply although we never got down to breakfast very early!
Towels and bedding were changed daily and the rooms were clean enough.
Our son had a single room with a balcony overlooking the sea. There was a faint smell of damp at times which the hotel were combating with air fresheners. This was not a major issue and should not adversely influence your choice of this hotel. His room was massive and could have slept 3 people.
Mykonos is not a cheap island but this hotel really does represent excellent value for money and we would not hesitate to return to the Poseidon Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If I ever stay in Mykonos again I will go back to this Hotel. The room was clean& large,huge double bed and a settee. Balcony had a view of the sea and the windmills. Plenty of hot water. The breakfast was excellent everything you could possible want plus fresh orange juice. Free wifi. Only paid £46 per night for the room and breakfast for 2 of us in October. Have stayed in 4 star hotel in Uk which have not been up to this standard.

Room Tip: We had a balcony with sea view, so could watch the sun set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banting
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stay 2 nights part of our honeymoon trip in Greece. Affordable price with clean and comfortable room. Provide free transportation from/to port and airport. Situated near to the city centre. We eally love the breakfast, tasty & full of choice, best breakfast among all the hotel we stayed. Recommend this hotel if you are travelling to Mykonos!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed for the final 3 nights of the season (28-31 October) and paid about £150 for the 3 nights in a De Luxe room.

Transfers to and from hotel are free (as long as you request it) and are 5 mins in a minibus. A handy extra!

Weather - despite being the end of October we were on the sunbeds all 3 days with great sunshine and temps in the mid 20s.

Check in was swift - having arrived arrived at midday our room was not ready for an hour but we knew check in would not be till 2pm ish so was expecting this.

Was given suite 10, whether or not this was an upgrade from de luxe rate to suite rate I am unsure, however we were very happy as we had a comfy king size bed with huge pillows, a flat screen tv and music system, plenty of power points, a jacuzzi bath (which provided a great deal of fun and was a novelty for us!) and a small balcony with fantastic views across the ocean and windmills. The room had an efficicient air con system and fan too, a free safety desposit box, and a fridge and kettle. The room was cleaned every day to a good standard. All in all for the price a fantastic room!

The hotel itself is made up of a few blocks, it is hard to tell where the standard, superior, delux and suite rooms are located so I cannot comment on what they look like. for the price however I would avise booking deluxe or suite rate. The pool are was clean and sunbeds plenty and the most comfy I have ever experienced with mattress like padding on each seat. Breakfast was varied with hot 'english breakfast' options, bread, pastries, biscuits, fruit, yoghurt, meats, cheese and fresh fruit juice.

Hotel is located 2 mins from the bus station and taxi rank where a small supermarket is located where you can buy bread for lunch. It is a further 5 min walk down the narrow Greek streets to the main town. It is also a 5 min walk to the windmills. There are plenth of restaurants and cafes hidden in the back streets and on the main harbour front, prices are fairly reasonable (you can get a good meal for 2 with half litre of wine for under 30 euros, less than that depending on what you order. Mains start at around 7 euros. I can reccomend by far the best meal we had was the restaurant called simply 'Restaurant Mykonos' found on the harbour front, the final restaurant on the harbour front run of restuaurants going away from the harbour wall. Only one locally owned rather than 'Athens' owned, very authentic and reasonablly priced.

All in al the hotel is fantastic value, I cannot reccomend it highly enough. However we did visit at the end of the season, the pool bar was closed and the hotel was half empty. Breakfast was vaired and fantastic though I can imagine the hotel is very different when full and the island is busier and noisier but for an off season trip I would highly reccomend it and I hope to visit again in the future, Any question please ask.
PS - I booekd directly through the hotels website, same price - just remember to take your card to pay on leaving.

Room Tip: Upper floor for sea and windmill views - choose de luxe or suite rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We booked a family suite for a weekend for 72€ per night. This included breakfast.
The suite was AMAZING.. Would have paid double if not more.
The kids (12 & 16) loved it so we booked the Monday also. We decided to stay on Wednesday as well but no suites available.
But the helpful reception ladies managed to find 1 deluxe room at 56€ and an older style room for 35€.
Some other reveiwes state that don't book the older rooms because it will wreck your holidays. Seriously, at 35€ they are fine. Yes they're outdated but they're clean and comfortable enough.

This motel is always near capacity due to value for money in all their rates for old and new. The motel across the road which has very good reviews also had a family room for 105€ with no pool and much smaller rooms
1st choice for a motel in Mykonos is the Poseidon.

Breakfast was well above average and the staff are very nice. Great pool, great views
and great location. We will be back!!!!
Thank you from the Kotzamanis family Melbourne Australia.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel communal areas were clean and modern as well as the pool area, the staff were also very nice. Unfortunately we booked a standard room which was well below my expectations of what standard means.

The room was dirty, the showeroom was outdated and needed pulling out, when a hotel advertises air conditioning they need to switch it on to allow people use it if they want to, I apprecicate it wasn't very hot during the day but at nightime we both struggled to sleep in the heat, they also advertised satalite tv, the only station I could access was BBC 24 hour news. On two occassions I found a large cockroach, one I flushed down the lavatory the other just disappeared into a crack.

There was a safe in the room but no instructions on how to use it, we had to get the receptionist to give us a training session on how to set it up - more hassle.

When we arrived within five minutes we went back to reception to get moved but was only offered an upgrade after the first 4 days due to availablity due to the hotel being booked up and at a cost of 50 euro a day which we declined and learned a very valuable lesson standard means different things to different people. The fact we spent a lot of money to get to Mykonos and stay at this hotel as well as the extortionate cost of everything on the island I would be reluctant to go back as now feel I could spend my money better elsewhere or spend a bit more an go to Dubai or somewhere where the standards are higher.

The shower curtain had a gap of about 6 inches on it which meant everytime the shower was used the bathroom floor was flooded, the curtain was finally replaced the night before we left. For me it felt like living in a bed and breakfast where homeless people are housed short term while waiting to be housed and certainly not the experience I paid for.

I'd like to say I don't go on holidays to complain or take silly pictures of bathroom facilities but on this occassion if it stops someone else doing as we did I'm happy to report my experience, we both work and holiday about four times year so just your average couple.

Room Tip: Pay extra to avoid you holiday being ruinned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Poseidon Hotel - Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Hotel - Suites

Address: Vida, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mykonos Town
#17 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
#20 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poseidon Hotel - Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Poseidon Hotel - Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel Mykonos Town
Poseidon Hotel - Suites Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poseidon Hotel - Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.