We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value for a end of season break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poseidon Hotel - Suites

Save Saved
You added Poseidon Hotel - Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poseidon Hotel - Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vida, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 83 hotels in Mykonos Town
Exeter
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for a end of season break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed for the final 3 nights of the season (28-31 October) and paid about £150 for the 3 nights in a De Luxe room.

Transfers to and from hotel are free (as long as you request it) and are 5 mins in a minibus. A handy extra!

Weather - despite being the end of October we were on the sunbeds all 3 days with great sunshine and temps in the mid 20s.

Check in was swift - having arrived arrived at midday our room was not ready for an hour but we knew check in would not be till 2pm ish so was expecting this.

Was given suite 10, whether or not this was an upgrade from de luxe rate to suite rate I am unsure, however we were very happy as we had a comfy king size bed with huge pillows, a flat screen tv and music system, plenty of power points, a jacuzzi bath (which provided a great deal of fun and was a novelty for us!) and a small balcony with fantastic views across the ocean and windmills. The room had an efficicient air con system and fan too, a free safety desposit box, and a fridge and kettle. The room was cleaned every day to a good standard. All in all for the price a fantastic room!

The hotel itself is made up of a few blocks, it is hard to tell where the standard, superior, delux and suite rooms are located so I cannot comment on what they look like. for the price however I would avise booking deluxe or suite rate. The pool are was clean and sunbeds plenty and the most comfy I have ever experienced with mattress like padding on each seat. Breakfast was varied with hot 'english breakfast' options, bread, pastries, biscuits, fruit, yoghurt, meats, cheese and fresh fruit juice.

Hotel is located 2 mins from the bus station and taxi rank where a small supermarket is located where you can buy bread for lunch. It is a further 5 min walk down the narrow Greek streets to the main town. It is also a 5 min walk to the windmills. There are plenth of restaurants and cafes hidden in the back streets and on the main harbour front, prices are fairly reasonable (you can get a good meal for 2 with half litre of wine for under 30 euros, less than that depending on what you order. Mains start at around 7 euros. I can reccomend by far the best meal we had was the restaurant called simply 'Restaurant Mykonos' found on the harbour front, the final restaurant on the harbour front run of restuaurants going away from the harbour wall. Only one locally owned rather than 'Athens' owned, very authentic and reasonablly priced.

All in al the hotel is fantastic value, I cannot reccomend it highly enough. However we did visit at the end of the season, the pool bar was closed and the hotel was half empty. Breakfast was vaired and fantastic though I can imagine the hotel is very different when full and the island is busier and noisier but for an off season trip I would highly reccomend it and I hope to visit again in the future, Any question please ask.
PS - I booekd directly through the hotels website, same price - just remember to take your card to pay on leaving.

Room Tip: Upper floor for sea and windmill views - choose de luxe or suite rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    115
    21
    12
    9
See reviews for
34
175
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We booked a family suite for a weekend for 72€ per night. This included breakfast.
The suite was AMAZING.. Would have paid double if not more.
The kids (12 & 16) loved it so we booked the Monday also. We decided to stay on Wednesday as well but no suites available.
But the helpful reception ladies managed to find 1 deluxe room at 56€ and an older style room for 35€.
Some other reveiwes state that don't book the older rooms because it will wreck your holidays. Seriously, at 35€ they are fine. Yes they're outdated but they're clean and comfortable enough.

This motel is always near capacity due to value for money in all their rates for old and new. The motel across the road which has very good reviews also had a family room for 105€ with no pool and much smaller rooms
1st choice for a motel in Mykonos is the Poseidon.

Breakfast was well above average and the staff are very nice. Great pool, great views
and great location. We will be back!!!!
Thank you from the Kotzamanis family Melbourne Australia.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel communal areas were clean and modern as well as the pool area, the staff were also very nice. Unfortunately we booked a standard room which was well below my expectations of what standard means.

The room was dirty, the showeroom was outdated and needed pulling out, when a hotel advertises air conditioning they need to switch it on to allow people use it if they want to, I apprecicate it wasn't very hot during the day but at nightime we both struggled to sleep in the heat, they also advertised satalite tv, the only station I could access was BBC 24 hour news. On two occassions I found a large cockroach, one I flushed down the lavatory the other just disappeared into a crack.

There was a safe in the room but no instructions on how to use it, we had to get the receptionist to give us a training session on how to set it up - more hassle.

When we arrived within five minutes we went back to reception to get moved but was only offered an upgrade after the first 4 days due to availablity due to the hotel being booked up and at a cost of 50 euro a day which we declined and learned a very valuable lesson standard means different things to different people. The fact we spent a lot of money to get to Mykonos and stay at this hotel as well as the extortionate cost of everything on the island I would be reluctant to go back as now feel I could spend my money better elsewhere or spend a bit more an go to Dubai or somewhere where the standards are higher.

The shower curtain had a gap of about 6 inches on it which meant everytime the shower was used the bathroom floor was flooded, the curtain was finally replaced the night before we left. For me it felt like living in a bed and breakfast where homeless people are housed short term while waiting to be housed and certainly not the experience I paid for.

I'd like to say I don't go on holidays to complain or take silly pictures of bathroom facilities but on this occassion if it stops someone else doing as we did I'm happy to report my experience, we both work and holiday about four times year so just your average couple.

Room Tip: Pay extra to avoid you holiday being ruinned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I spend a lot of time researching hotels and I am thrilled that we chose this one!

Brilliant point -
• Lovely staff
• Free wifi
• Location! - We went in low season but if you went in high season this is close enough to walk to the action 5 minutes away without having blaring music interrupting your sleep at 3am.
• Brilliant views!
• Gorgeous pool
• Prices in restaurant are quite competitive if you don’t want to leave
• Clean
• Modern
• Beautiful bathroom
• Easy transfers from the airport

Overall it was a beautiful hotel. It isn’t much of a walk to everything, you are 5-10 minutes away from the harbour which is lovely for waterside restaurants. We loved the walk down to the harbour as there were shops and windy alley ways with little authentic food stalls and tucked away bars! I actually loved exploring these alley ways more than the harbour itself, so don’t be concerned about being slightly away from the action! On a map, the hotel looks further away than what it actually is.

I wouldn’t suggest this accommodation for the disabled as the facilities are limited – I feel as though that may be the case throughout mykonos.

The brilliant thing about this hotel is if you walk away from the harbour for 5 minutes there is a quite little pebbled beach which is gorgeous and has a restaurant right on the beach!

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of 3 weeks Island hopping and were very impressed. Large room with seaview and a very comfortable bed. Good bathroom with bath as well as shower. Reasonably sized fridge but with a very small ineffective icebox, however the bar were happy to provide ice buckets full of ice. One of the best breakfasts we've had in Greece and so nice to have freshly squeezed orange juice. This is a well managed hotel and when we reported the failed light bulbs this was fixed immediately. Will certainly use this hotel again if they can maintain their reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Poseidon Hotel as we got a beautiful view from our balcony. The hotel has a nice pool & is located close to the bus station & Mykonos Town. There is a small beach right at the back. The breakfast was adequate & we enjoyed their freshly made orange juice every morning. Wifi however, does not work at all during certain times of the day. Probably there are many people using it at the same time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We weren't expecting this good! We had an amazing stay. We stayed in a suite and it was beautiful. Very spacious cute room with a view of the sea. The pool was wonderful and the ocean was right there! It's right next to the town but it feels like your far away which is nice because then it's really quiet at night. The breakfast was delicious with fresh orange juice, donuts, eggs, bacon, pancakes ect;.Our stay was amazing until we switched rooms. We switched to a superior room which costed 80 a night when our suite costed 100. It was one of the older rooms, and we thought it was only worth 50. Definitely try to book a superior+ room or a suite. But up to that we had an amazing stay. Definitely recommend this hotel to others. It was great!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poseidon Hotel - Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Hotel - Suites

Address: Vida, Mykonos Town 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mykonos Town
#19 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poseidon Hotel - Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Poseidon Hotel - Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel Mykonos Town
Poseidon Hotel - Suites Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poseidon Hotel - Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.