We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling apartments” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tinerfe Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tinerfe Garden to your Saves list
Tinerfe Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Los Pueblos, 24 | San Eugenio, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Appalling apartments”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7days of hell last week !!!! We have been staying her for the last few years and usually okay basic but clean!!! God knows wats happened to them apart from the fact they were building behind our apartment and the noise and dust was awful, we were horrified by the state of our room dirty and unkept!!! We had cockroaches wandering around and a kettle that the handle got so hot on we couldn't use!!!! On day3my sheets were changed and wen I got into bed was appalled to find they were soaking wet !!!! Don't even bother trying to speak to the receptionist the rudest person I've encountered however the other one on duty was lovely really sad to see this complex coming to this !!! Never again !!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    76
    37
    8
    11
See reviews for
51
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just arrived home after a fantastic stay at Tinerfe Gardens.Stayed in studio 55 by the bar.Well equipped for self catering with a decent oven ,microwave and plenty of utensil,patio in need of retiling but for what we paid i was more than happy with the facilities.Loved the pool area very clean with new comfortable sunbeds and no over crowded.Snacks and drinks were great and very reasonably priced and Gloria who runs it is an absolute diamond.I feel some comments on here a bit harsh you get what you pay for if you want 5 star its not the place for you but if you want a reasonably priced holiday in a central location in a really friendly enviroment then i recommend it.Ive already booked again for next year and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have been going to Tinerfe Gardens now for the last 4 years. We use to love it. The apartments were very basic, but it was cheap. However this year they increased the price by 40% compared to what we paid last year when we stayed there. Their excuse for this huge increase was that they renovated the apartments. A newer microwave and a lick of paint does not justify a 40% price increase. We had a lot of issues and problems during our stay, all of which were unacceptable for the price we had to pay for the apartment.

Due to an electrical fault, anytime we plugged certain kitchen appliances in or turned them on it would blow the fuse. This was extremely irritating, particularly at night because it would cause all the lights to go off.The kitchen was more basic this time than it was on the previous occasions we stayed there. We were quite surprised at this considering that we were paying more this time round. Also, all the dishes, cutlery, etc were dirty, with many of the pans covered in grease. It was awful, I didn't enjoy having to start my holiday by scrubbing the kitchen and everything in it.

We also had no hot water. We asked one receptionist could we get it fixed. She was extremely unpleasant and very unhelpful. However, after three days another receptionist was on the desk and when we complained to her about it she seen that the issue was resolved immediately.

The satellite TV didn't work, it was on twice for approximately 30 minutes while we were there. We don't watch TV often while we are on holidays. However, this was one of the reasons they increased the price and it didn't work. The majority of the lights in the apartment were not working and were never fixed after us asking several time for new light bulbs. Also we had no plug stoppers for the bath or sinks making washing difficult. Again we were ignored when we asked could we have one.

We also felt quite unsafe there. Due to a lack of gate or fencing at the side of our apartment, several nights we were awoken by drunk teenagers coming into our back garden drinking and trying to get over our back wall into the pool. In addition to that, our sliding doors did not close correctly, leaving a gap that you could put your hand through. As a result, every night we had to go through a routine of moving furniture to block this door in case someone tried to break in.

On our last day when we were leaving one of the cleaners came in. We rarely seen them during our stay and when they did come we had to ask for clean towels. This particular cleaner would not leave our apartment. She kept asking for a tip. We told her we leave a tip for all the cleaners to share and that it would be left in the apartment when we leave which was in ~1 hour. As we were leaving, this particular cleaner pushed passed us, nearly knocking my aunt (who is in her 70's) to the floor searching for the tip we left them. It was utterly disgraceful.

During our time there we started looking around for another place to stay for the next time we come back. We were quite surprised at what we found, there are many other places that are nearly the same price (maybe a small bit more expensive) but much more modern, safer and better value for money. When Tinerfe Gardens was cheaper, one could ignore or overlook the faults because you get what you pay for. However, by rising the price by 40% I expected a lot more for my money. I was very disappointed and will never go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

After staying in Tinerfe gardens in June we had no hesitation booking again for August. This place is a hidden gem if you want something cheap,clean and right in the centre of things this is the place to go. On this occasion we had a two bedroom apartment, spotlessly clean with a huge patio. Remember this is 2 star rated, the furniture and decor is dated but it has everything you need. TV, fridge freezer lots of space and a great swimming pool with excellent sun beds. All in all would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just arrived back from a fantastic family holiday 2 adults and 2 teenagers ages 16 & 14 this is our 2nd year staying here, and would definatley recommend. We stayed in apartment 78 this year with a view of the pool, 2 bedrooms with 2 single beds in each, Kitchen area had kettle, toaster and microwave and also a full size cooker (even though I never used the cooker). The apartment was cleaned and fresh towels were provided everyday. The rooms are a little tired but they are clean which is the main thing for me. The pool area is great, there is also a Pool Bar which is run by Gloria which is reasonably priced but we didn't eat there much as we went to the big Mercadona Supermarket and got the basic's and also good value.

We ate out for breakfast @ Scotch Corner (£3.00euro's for a full English breakfast).

If you turn right at the bottom of the entrance you come to Shops and some Bars I can recommend the Indian Resturant Bombay Nights 8.95 euro's for a starter and main meal, they also did the same meal as a take away as long as you order and pay for it before 9pm We collected ours at 11.30pm
Francis Bar for a 3 Course evening meal 7.95 euro's.
We also visited Siam Park which is great value the wave pool is amazing get there early to avoid the queues for the rides.
Loro Parc was great to but its at the top of the island and a long journey there and back.
All in all we had a fantastic holiday and I personally love the area and the apartments and will be returning for a 3rd year. The Tinerfe Gardens is not the Ritz but great accommodation & value for money for 2 weeks holiday when you have to book school holidays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, there was 5 of us and we had more than enough room the only downside there wasn't enough cutlery for us all. But that didn't bother us too much. We spent most nights at The Rumpot where the entertainment was of a high standard, we ate at The Scotch corner most nights as it was reasonable food for a reasonable price, we would stay again. We stayed for 10 days and during that time we never struggled for sun beds and umbrella's, which we have found at every other place we have stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have been to Tinerfe Gardens 3 times now in the last 4 years and have always liked it and said, as my title, you get what you pay for.

The rooms are being done up gradually but there are still some things lacking like decent tableware for self catering and the runners for the doors could do with being fixed as its hard to close them once they are open but all in all a great wee find.

The apartments are just on the main road with the Irish Rover just across the road with karaoke every night until 11 when a different act on comes on each night followed by more karaoke til around 1am. The staff there are very friendly! Along the road are several restaurants so you will never go short.

All in all a great wee place to stay but if you want 5 star you will have to open your wallets and purses and not book a 3*!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tinerfe Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinerfe Garden

Address: Avda. Los Pueblos, 24 | San Eugenio, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tinerfe Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tinerfe Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinerfe Garden Costa Adeje
Tinerfe Garden Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinerfe Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.