We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint old Spanish tainted luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur to your Saves list
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Roque Nublo 1 | Sector 8 Fanabe, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Scot in London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Quaint old Spanish tainted luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay at La Plantacion and on the whole enjoyed our experience with some important reservations.We had booked a "Superior room " with sea view and and were shown to a room with a sea view and a spectacular view of the balconies of the block on the left
side -- they of course had a good view of our balcony -- we have been to Costa Adeje many times and never experienced this lack of privacy.We were offered another room which was even worse re view -- the balcony had a solid concrete surround you could not see over sitting down.My wife who has been unwell recently was quite stressed by this time and we accepted first room.
Reception were very helpful and courteous during our stay but on this occasion one particular Receptionist was very cool and inflexible -- we said we had booked a Superior Room and room on offer did not seem to meet this definition -- we were told haughtily ---- " All our rooms are superior "
The hotel is situated on a vast rocky buttressed outcrop high above El Duque with a precipitous busy road leading down to he beach --- brochure says 500 metres -- more like 1000 metres plus. They do run a shuttle at 10 and 12AM with return shuttle at 2 and 4PM.
The restaurant was very spacious with optional al fresco dining -- most nights were themed -- Spanish -- International -- Chinese etc. Cocktails were always available at the entrance -- a nice touch.There was always a Chef at night on his station cooking meats and fish etc and one particular lad was v good and entertaining.On the whole I enjoyed the variety of cold starters and the puddings were delicious . Wife is allergic to olive oil and this limited her options -- she found a shortage of vegetable and potatoes at dinner a disappointed -- also complained that many of the plattered dishes were cold. Win list was adequate with a decent Rioja available for around 20 euros.
Poolside and surrounds were outstanding -- no need to reserve loungers at 7 am !!!
Apart from comfy loungers they had posh Balinese beds which we sampled and enjoyed.
Some of the five pools were chilly but the one at the top with the waterfall was perfect.
Poolside Staff were excellent -- had lunch once in poolside restaurant -- decide to share a burger -- we could not finish it !!!
Wife did Aquarobics once but did not enjoy -- Instructor sat on a chair by the side of the pool and there was no music --- bizarre !!
There is a huge dark room a library/lounge usually empty with a few guests at night -- lights are dimmed and the overall effect is depressingly soporific
There are some splendid outdoor areas adjoining restaurant area -- beautiflul vast wicker chairs with spotless white pillow/cushions
We were not too fussed with entertainment -- were serenaded on two occasions in the restaurant by local trio of guitarists with vocals. On one evening they had a startingly gifted young lady pianist playing both jazz and classical music -- and no one was listening
Our bedroom was superior with his and hers basins -- bidet -- bath --shower etc
There was a shortage of drawer space and the hair dryer "weighed a ton " ----- wife

Room Tip: Room specifications are conundrum to me -- avoid rooms not overlooking sea or the restaurant insis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen us and for offering us your comments and opinions. We will take them into account carefully, because they will help us improve every day, and also to adapt our facilities and services to our customers' tastes and needs.

We hope that you can visit us in the near future so that you can enjoy a real Vincci experience.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    221
    78
    29
    18
See reviews for
268
722
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

If I could give 3.5 stars then that would be more appropriate. I wouldn't return to this hotel but I certainly wouldn't say "do not go".
The hotel is quiet which appealed to us. Although the hotel didn't appear to be full when the restaurant was busy the staff coped well. It was sitting around the pool area that we noticed just how peaceful this place is. There were always plenty of loungers and day beds free. We liked the way the pool attendant put the towels on the loungers before the pool area was open. This meant guests could not reserve their favourite beds/loungers.Why can't other hotels do this?
Our seaview room was comfortable but definately needed a bit of sprucing up. In the bathroom floor tiles were cracked and broken, something we noticed in the restaurant as well. However the room was kept spotless by our maid.
On the whole the staff were efficient and polite. It was encouraging to see the managers walking around the hotel and making an effort to speak to guests. Seeing them eat breakfast and lunch in guest areas was a sign that they enjoyed the food. We had a slight problem with one waitress at lunch. Because the other staff were so good and I did not recall her name I feel it only fair to mention she is pregnant! On 3 occasions my husband asked for the bill at lunch and he is still waiting! I asked her for another drink the following day. Again no joy! It was interesting that the managers had just left the restaurant so she took the oppourtunity to chat on her mobile phone for long periods obviously on a personal call by her laughing constantly therefore forgetting our requests. When the managers were there she was charming.
Food I felt was not 5* quality. Having stayed at many 5* hotels I felt this was not on the same level. Sometimes the supposidly hot buffet food was lukewarm. We had a meal in the Gourmet restaurant and this was delicious.
As has been mentioned before the walk from the centre of Costa Adeje is tiring but the hotel does have a shuttle bus something that was not mentioned at check in.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room which will be quieter away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Tenerife, and for sending us your comments and experiences. This undoubtedly helps us to improve the day-to-day service we offer our guests.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere of our hotel and your room with sea views. However, we are sorry that other aspects of your stay did not quite live up to your expectations.

All of our rooms and facilities are thoroughly cleaned and checked, and we would like to offer our apologies for any rare error that may have taken place during your stay to cause the inconvenience you describe. Please rest assured that we will take measures to prevent this from happening again.

In relation to our staff service during lunch, we would like to point out that the waitress was taking care of room service orders and assisting other colleagues. We regret that you did not feel the service you received was satisfactory and we shall take note of your comments in order to improve our services.

We hope that you visit us again in the near future to enjoy the true Vincci experience.

Kind regards,
Carmen Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our first stay at the Plantacion and it won't be our last. From the first moment we walked through the doors to leaving in the taxi on Saturday, the hotel did everything to make our stay exceptional. We had been recommended to stay here and we're so glad we were.
The rooms are just perfect, the facilities are excellent but it's the staff that make it. They cannot do enough for you without going over the top. If I was to try and name them I'd be here all day writing the review but a special mention goes to Jorge on reception who always went one step further for you.
My wife had a birthday whilst we were there but as she doesn't like a fuss there were no special requests, however, the hotel picked up that fact when we checked in having showed them our passports and subsequently a bottle of sparkling appeared on the day. A nice touch, especially as I drank most of it!!

Some reviews complain about the steep climb back to the hotel but if you do your homework before going it shouldn't come as a surprise. Anyway, it helps to walk off dinner and only takes no more than 10 minutes and it really isn't that bad!!

Book it, you won't be disappointed!!.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We did not have the good fortune to stay here but our experience is as follows; we had been locked out of our near by apartment unable to get in we had no choice to seek help. We were greeted by Bradley and Sabina at reception. We explained our problem we thought we had no alternative to stay in hotel until we made contact with apartment owners. Having not enough money or credit card available and no passport this would have been a big problem Firstly they offered to ring around other cheaper hotels which they did but still no passport or I.d. would let us stay. They continued to help finding a 24 hour locksmith which successfully got in to retrieve our keys . With their continued service whilst waiting they offered us a glass of champaign as they could see we were stressed which should have been a great nite as it was my birthday and we were going out to celebrate before this had happened. They treated us with great respect they could have just sent us away without their help this could have been a nightmare for us .if we ever get the opportunity to stay there we would not hesitate . A big thank you to the hotel who obviously take pride in employing excellent staff .

Thank you Bradley and Sabina

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 21 nights stay at La Plantacion del Sur.
We had our first long term stay last November for 3 weeks. We had a fantastic stay and we were so much looking forward to come back now in March. We were not disapointed. The hotel had the same high standard at every level.

Both times we had a Junior Suite with full sea view, that gave us panoramic view. The room is beautiful decorated, very spacious, lovely bath room, and with a great balcony. The housekeeping are spotless. It is so clean.

We had half board. Both the breakfast and the dinner buffet gives you all different courses you can dream of. Since we stayed for many nights we specially liked the dinner buffet had different themes each night.
We think half board gives very good value for the money.

What impressed us the most is is the high service level and the warmth and friendliness from all the staff. They solved every request at the best.
We wanted to find a "second home" for long term stays. We have found it, and we have already decided to come back for another 4 weeks in November.

Reidar and Karin from Oslo, Norway

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a four night stay with bed and breakfast. Our check in was very quick and efficient and the hotel reception as with all areas of the hotel was very clean and well presented.
We thought we had booked an upgrade and when we asked at reception we were told we had but in hindsight I do not think this was the case.
Good Points:
We were in room 15 which is really spacious with a fantastic bathroom, the balcony was a good size we had a side sea view and I did like the view over the island. We were overlooking the road which was not an issue for us as at night we didn't hear the traffic.
Rooms are really very clean with a turn down service in the evening, we found the bed very comfortable and slept really well.
Pool side areas are beautiful and we always found space and it is so peaceful, the pool side bar/restaurant is great and we had lunch there one day, although be careful not to ask for a side order of chips as this will set you back 9 euros!
Breakfast has an excellent choice and the food is a good quality. It is served from 7.30 until 11am which we were appreciative of and we never found it busy as is sometimes the case in other hotels.
Staff are really friendly and pleasant.

Points to note:
Be mindful if you are staying in the next few weeks and you are in rooms (odd numbers) 10 - 19 as they are doing road works which is very noisy and goes on until about 7pm. We didn't mention this or ask to move as we were only there for a short period and were not in our room a great deal.
I think our room must have been over the kitchen as at breakfast and some evening times there was a smell of food in the bathroom area and we could hear the staff clearing plates etc. Again, it is not a massive distraction as we didn't spend copious amounts of time in the bathroom but when you are paying a lot of money to stay somewhere it is sometimes difficult not to get fastidious.
As per another review the hotel does not seem to have a bar area for the evenings, we went out every evening but I did not see anywhere to have a drink beforehand or when we arrived back. However, the plus side to this was the hotel was quiet all the time.
The walk up the hill is steep, it was more than manageable for us but it is about a ten minute walk to the front.
There is a lot to recommend about this hotel - it is aesthetically pleasing, a high standard of cleanliness, beautiful pool areas, room size, bathrooms, breakfast and friendly staff but I am not sure if I would return as it was a bit quiet for me and I am not sure that the price reflects what you receive in return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We think the prior reviews on TA are pretty balanced here.

The hotel itself is on quite a compact plot on a rocky outcrop but the grounds are nicely planted. The buffet breakfast and dinner were perfect for us with a young family and the quality and selection was just fine for a week. The staff are lovely (thank you, Moises and Alma). The hill walk to and from the beach is a bit of a grind with buggy, toddler and beach bag and, if going to Costa Adeje again, we'd look better at the comparably priced hotels on the seafront (Bahia del Duque, Mirador and others) rather than pick the highest TA rated hotel in our price range. The WiFi is a bit droppy but, hey, you're on holiday.

We do want to flag some room positioning issues. There are 94 rooms in the main building. About half have front-on or panoramic sea views with the other half have side sea views. Of the latter, 18 rooms overlook the 5 lane highway that runs along the eastern edge of the hotel, only about 15m from the main building, which serves as the main access road into the resort (see pictures). There is not insignificant traffic noise which continues through the night. We didn't appreciate this when we booked. The hotel were unable to offer us a similar room (superior side sea view) away from the road. We were given the option of staying put or paying an additional €100 per night (payable up front) to move to a suite. We've never had the need to request a room move before and were slightly shocked that a 5 star Lux hotel would request an additional €700 for the week (on top of the previously paid rate) to provide guests with reasonable and acceptable level of accommodation.

If La Plantacion del Sur is the hotel for you and you don't want the nasty shock we got we'd suggest that you specifically request a room (or villa) away from the road. Or be prepared to pay a surcharge on arrival.

Room Tip: See main comment and pictures. Road noise in the side sea rooms/ villas on/ facing the east of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur

Address: C/ Roque Nublo 1 | Sector 8 Fanabe, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful hotel is located in the privileged zone in the South of Tenerife, Costa Adeje. Given it offers privileged views. It is of Colonial Canarian style, with tropical gardens and has an exquisite decoration full of harmony and elegance in each corner. Located only 500 meters from the Bahia del Duque Beach, it is in the proximity of the best Golf course on the island and is only 20 minutes from the Airport Reina Sofia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Hotel Costa Adeje
Seleccion La Plantacion Vincci
La Plantacion
Vincci La Plantacion
Vincci Playa De Las Americas
Vincci Plantacion
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.