We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guayarmina Princess Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Guayarmina Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Londres 1 | Playa de Fañabé, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Pershore, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have just come back from a week at this hotel. Spotlessley clean, good bedrooms, friendly staff , good pools, hundreds of sun beds available and lots going on. Such a shame that the food, all buffet style was "very sameish", you knew more or less every night what would be available. The only different item every night was the roast meat carved by a chef. This hotel is big, 500+ rooms and it shows at meal times, the dining room is very busy, more like an airport departure lounge., Such a shame. We won't return I'm afraid.
Tim Carter

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    640
    252
    80
    26
See reviews for
475
859
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days in November following a Canary Island Cruise. On the whole the hotel is lovely. Clean, comfortable, and the outside area's are stunning. The food was quite good, plenty of choice - no complaints here.
The slight downside for us was that our room was on the left hand side facing out to sea in the main block and right next to all these rooms is the plant room of the hotel next door which throws out an enormous amount of noise (the constant noise of huge fans from the cooling system). This meant we couldn't leave our patio door open and sitting on the balcony was hardly peaceful. There needs to be some kind of barrier to block the noise. Also, the semi-covered area between the hotel and the pool area is where all the smokers sit so you have to walk through the blue fug to get to the pool (alternatively you'd have to nip through the bar to get to the pool). If neither of those things would bother you then you'll absolutely love this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the left hand side of the hotel !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Spent a week there in early November.Cant fault the hotel, very clean, good food, pleasant staff,
nice room with sea view (3012). Our only problems we came across were the restaurant can get very busy at peak times (avoid these and theres no queues), drinks are pricey,same drinks in
bars 50 m away half the cost. During HAPPY HOUR I got the feeling some of the bar staff were
on a go slow so dont leave it late for cheaper drinks. Some of the lower floor rooms next to the promenade may have problems with people passing by but never heard of any. Have stayed at
the Adeje Gran ,the Bahia next door, found this hotel better and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Heard that room 4001 had great sea views ,spotless ,quiet ,what more could you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent two weeks 27.10.12 to 10.11.12 for the first time at this hotel. Was slightly concerned about previous reviews but didn't see any cockroaches and generally the cleanliness all round was superb. The reviewer prior to me has given a true review so I won't repeat it - just read the next one and you'll get my opinion written very well.

The only other remarks I would make would be about location. The hotel is right on the beach which is pretty good for Tenerife and within walking distance of shops, restaurants and pubs.

You might be interested to know that although we understood that school holidays had finished by 27 October, apparently there are still children on holiday for that week and so our first week at this hotel was very busy with lots of young families with noisy kids - all very well behaved. Our second week saw a much less busy restaurant although it is still a bit of a bun fight at meal times due to sheer numbers. We would not chose this hotel again as we are used to smaller, less busy hotels.

Obviously, being November our fellow guests included lots of OAP's but the hotel does get a varied mix of nationalities which helps with the 'foreign' feeling which I like on holidays abroad.

If you choose this hotel for a holiday you will probably have a great time, unless you are very fussy or like the quiet life.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We are just back from a week at this hotel. It is a very large hotel and the whole place is kept spotlessly clean. We emailed the hotel in advance as we had a special occasion to celebrate and are pleased to say we were given a superb room on the first floor overlooking the pool and beach.

The hotel is well placed. It is next to Fanabe beach, which has black sand and there are many bars, shops. If you leave the hotel and turn left (South) you reach Playa de las Americas after a 1.5 hours walk; which is a little commercialised. If you turn right out of the hotel and walk right (North) you get to up market El Duque with lovely bars, restaurants & clean beach of imported golden sand; the El Duque Plaza shopping mall has designer shops.

Our hotel room had en-suite was clean, modern with balcony & table/chairs. As we had read reviews on tripadvisor before we left, we were aware that the fridge, safe and drinks with evening meal would all be charged to us, so this was no surprise. The restaurant can get busy at times, however even with a queue of almost 20 people we only waited around 3 minutes max for a table. The staff work tirelessly to prepare tables, seat guests, take drinks orders and replenish the buffet food. There is a good selection at breakfast and in the evening. My only constructive comment would be that more fresh vegetables would be my preference.

Evening entertainment is varied & perhaps not to everyone’s taste; singers, fashion show, dancers & an animal show. Our favourite was James Darling who sang Motown numbers and many guests were up on the dance floor. The entertainment usually ends around 11:30pm.

In the foyer there is live piano music each night which is pleasant. Wi-Fi is available at a fee. There are 6 stand-alone PCs where you can access the internet costing 1 euro for 10 minutes.

We noticed some guests reserved sun-beds with their towels, however there were always plenty of beds and we never had trouble finding one.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

After spending a week at the Guayarmina Princess I beleive anyone who gives a negative review is either just too picky, or has set their expectations too high. The hotel is huge and even in November was almost full. Inevitably this will lead to some queues for breakfast and dinner at peak times, however the restaurant staff work tirelesly to ensure any wait is minimised. The quality of the food is excellent and varied. Sunbeds were generally available throughout the day although if you want a particular spot you do need to be up and about around 8.30 to secure it. Our room was well maintained and thouroughly cleaned daily. Newer, more stylish hotels are available in the area, but at a fairly hefty premium. Even if it is no longer 'cutting edge', this hotel offers good value and a pleasant and freindly environment in which to stay. One word of warning - be careful around the pool as it does get very slippery when it is wet.

Room Tip: I prefer a high room but don't worry too much. Even some lower level rooms have a sea view due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was the second time at this hotel and again it didn't disappoint. Last time we stayed on the 3rd floor and the view was fantastic. This time we were on the first floor, room 1018, and the views were not as good. Also this room is opposite the back of another hotel and the noise of their fans could clearly be heard especially very early morning - 4.30 ish). The staff were wonderful and couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room. Will be going back - hopefully to have a room on a higher floor. We did stay at Adeje Gran in April but the Guayarmina Princess is, in our opinion, a much nicer hotel, in a fantastic position.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guayarmina Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guayarmina Princess Hotel

Address: C/ Londres 1 | Playa de Fañabé, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#18 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#20 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guayarmina Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guayarmina Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayarmina Princess Costa Adeje
Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Princess Hotel Tenerife/Costa Adeje
Hotel Guayarmina Princess Tenerife
Guayarmina Hotel Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guayarmina Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.